Hamleys Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 73 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Hamleys selected this as a representative review
My hamleys experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regent Street15 September 2017
Hamleys was a good experience. the members of staff are nice and friendly from when you first meet them. a typical day would require restocking the shleves, working behind the till, helping customers with finding diiferent toys and overall giving an excellent service. the hardest part is standing on your feet for a long period of time. the best part is playing with the children customers and helping them find a toy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Helper (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 August 2019
Hamleys is truly a magical place to work. I haven't been a better team since. Advancement is available and your hard work is noticed and appreciated. If I could I'd go right back to them.
Pros
Great company, great team.
Cons
Tidying up after kids can get tedious
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Expert (Current Employee) –  London11 July 2019
Its an okay job. Just an ordinary retail store just very busy and with loads of toys. You get customers from all over the world. It can be challenging somtimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short time happiness
Assistente alla vendita (Former Employee) –  Greater London15 June 2019
I enjoy in meeting new people and learning how present myself and performing in short magic show.
Pros
Toys, playing a lot with colleague and customers
Cons
no personal stability, few money, a lot of stairs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thurrock, Essex5 May 2019
for my first job it was exactly what I was looking for, vital skills very much needed and great job feeling. Some staff were very rude and had favourites, some of us felt like we got picked on, very hardworking place would recommend though for first timers.
Pros
got paid, 1 hr lunch breaks if long shift
Cons
staff rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a lot of fun
Warehouse Operative -Picker Packer (Former Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire20 March 2019
It was my favourite job I meet a lot of friendly peoples
I was picking orders
I didin't have any hard part of this job
It was warehouse with Toys for kids :)
Pros
nil
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  2nd floor stalls26 September 2018
Overall a very active and friendly workplace. Learnt persistence and how to drive a product to a very diverse audience. However we were only paid commission an no basic pay.
Pros
amazing atmostphere
Cons
commission based pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productve
Floor Manager/Trainer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 September 2018
very fun atmosphere everyday was different spent a lot of years there and often looked forward to going to work, one can't complain when being paid to play with toys and create a fun atmosphere for both staff and customers.
Pros
great atmosphere good location good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Productive with fun loving environment at work place.
Sales Associate/Team lead (Former Employee) –  London6 September 2018
It was fun working with Hamleys and sharaf dg.Enjoying working at present in Dhara Paper Manufacturing llc.Fun loving team with supportive manager in all aspects of work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Assistant/Customer Helper (Former Employee) –  Regent street13 August 2018
had fun working in Hamleys, can get tiring at the end but the people are nice to work with, but there's a lot of competition if you want to progress in the company.
Pros
friendly staff members
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London8 July 2018
it is an ok environment but it wasn't the best the managers were rude and very disrespectful and even though it is a fun environment there was no time to have fun.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and proffesional place to work
Sale Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire11 June 2018
pleasant place to work. Staff are friendly and management look after each employee, many opporunities to work up the job and training is very useful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to be
Hamleys Helper (Former Employee) –  Livingston20 February 2018
I will not say it is a bad company but the store I worked for was not somewhere I would recommend. Management are rude and cheeky to staff. Management were exempt from the uniform policy and disciplined certain staff and not others. ALL members of management were not understanding of disabilities. Hours are terrible and management do not care of other responsibilities. Management set unrealistic expectations on sales. Holidays are forcibly given on days you cannot work therefore you do not receive them. So many more problems with the company and management.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management and staff are horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London2 October 2017
Don't work here unless you want to be treated as a child...The ridiculous induction lasted for 8 hours and involved us acting like 3 year old children, it was an embarrassing and humiliating experience.

There is no air conditioning, the staff toilets are tiny and usually you have to wait in a cue when you need to use one of the urinals. The changing rooms are grubby. Some of the managers are very rude. The canteen is small for the amount of staff that work in the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toy shop
Excellent Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Norwich12 September 2017
A typical day consisted of talking to customers and playing with the various toys to show how they worked.

A great fun place to work.

It was just a pop up Christmas shop.
Pros
Lots of fun
Cons
finished too soon
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, lovley colleagues, good pay in certain departments.
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Regent street6 September 2017
Everyone is very friendly and welcoming, pay is very good as a demonstrator (within luvley department), however some managers can be very horrible....
Pros
Clean large space for staff, fun environment, decent work hours and pay.
Cons
Management is very harsh
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Expert (Current Employee) –  Regent Street2 August 2017
It's a great place to start a career and the experience you can gain is very beneficial towards the next step you take. P.s you can always play with the toys that's part of the job.
Pros
Playing
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad
demostrador (Former Employee) –  london regents street4 July 2017
Esta es la peor empresa para que trabaje, los encargados de los empleados solo se preocupan por el dinero que podemos producir , en mi experiencia me senti como una esclava de esta empresa .
No recomiendo trabajar aqui por ningun motivo.
Pros
buenos companeros de trabajo
Cons
todo lo que implica trabajar aqui
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun and productive but sometimes very boring
Maintenance worker (Former Employee) –  London28 June 2017
My opinion of working in hamleys was that when I was there there wasn't anyway to progress in my department and the hours weren't all that good but the people who worked there were good to work with
Pros
Learning new skills in diy, working with some good people
Cons
Not enough hours and no chance of progressing in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Prefer not to say (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 June 2017
Long hours
Unappreciated by higher management
Higher management are corrupt & heartless
May seem fun on the shop floor but they work staff like slaves for awful pay, no incentives a dusty old 'green room'.
They lie and say there is progression when there really isn't.
They make you work sleepovers and don't have a place for you to actually sleep.
Disgusting changing room for experience team, party room is foul, needs a huge renovation.
You can't charge sky high prices for parties when the room is terrible.
No organisation.

Hamleys is a sinking ship. It needs to be revamped entirely, management included.
Pros
Free food after parties
Cons
Horrible management, horrible work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 March 2017
Everyday was exciting and productive. I learnt new things everyday. Moreover the energy required for each sale was immense. the hardest part of the job was to stand in one place for 9 hours at a time without making sufficient sales on a quiet day. The most enjoyable part of this job was the people and the energy that store would exude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hamleys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 73 reviews
524
426
311
27
15

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.8Culture

Hamleys Reviews by Location