HALTON BOROUGH COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Organised
Telehealth care Officer (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire19 May 2018
I enjoyed working at Halton Borough Council., the part I worked for was the Telehealth Care Department. It was all about making sure customers were happy with the service they was receiving. The management was great to work beside, always made sure you was getting on OK before anything else. The hardest part of the job was ringing people as they thought it was nuisance calls most of the time, but the best part was getting to speak to lovely customers who was happy with the service.
Pros
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work but needs fresh ideas.
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Halton borough council17 January 2018
Halton borough council was a good place to work, however it definitely needs someone who can bring in new and fresh ideas. the team that i was working with were very set in their ways and did not want to work hard because in their own words, management would expect that effort everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Folk were nice
Mobile Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Runcorn18 October 2017
Nice place to work, everyone was nice and got support when needed. Would go to work there again given the opportunity and wasn’t to far to travel for me.
Pros
Nice to work there
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working for my company, meet a lot of people with my work.
Cook Supervisor/ Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Halton, Cheshire3 October 2017
I do get shifted from one job to another, but there is a plus side to that. Because you never get bored. You get to meet different people, and learn new skills along the way. And pick up some new tips of the trade. The hardest part of the job, is balancing the sheets, keeping productivity down. The Enjoyable part is when everyone enjoys what I have cooked or baked. Management are very good, if I have any problems they are there on the other end of the phone if I need them. Which is often.
Pros
New skills
Cons
Long hrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Training Assistant (Former Employee) –  Runcorn and Widnes, Cheshire15 June 2017
A professional place of work, where staff adhere to the policies laid down, and are constantly seeking to improve the services they offer. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult due to staff levels
ESF 'Ways to Work' Manager (Former Employee) –  Widnes12 June 2017
Council committed to improving the lives of its residents. Limitations of Government funding for local Councils makes the aim of the Council more difficult to accomplish which is a shame.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire12 March 2017
HBC was a very good place to work, provided staff with development and training opportunities to further careers within the organisation and the wider public sector.
Pros
Flexible working
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff to work with, with a lovely swimming pool and gym
Swimming Teacher and Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire6 March 2017
I teach school children and after school swimming lessons.
I have learned how to control a large group of children, up to 20 at a time.
The management are a great team.
The hardest part of my job is walking around continually in a hot environment.
The most enjoyable part of my job, is knowing I am teaching children and adults alike, a life skill and watching the look on their faces, when they eventually learn to swim.
Pros
Able to use the swimming pool
Cons
Warm conditions and standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Homelessness and Housing Options Officer (Former Employee) –  Widnes13 February 2017
Great place to work, staff team great, place of work great, pay great. conditions great, holidays great, training and education great a fine employer to work for.
Pros
staff team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Administration suties
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire30 January 2017
Reception duties
Dealing with telephone queries about eligibility for Free School Meals
Ordering/distributing stationery and various other duties
Scanning documents to upload to CareFirst for Social Services
Calling clients from a list sent by Job Centre Plus to ensure we have their correct details and to arrange an appointment,
Sorting inbound post and sending to the addressee.
Prepare and frank post ready for collection.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Cleaner (part-time)/kitchen staff (Former Employee) –  widnes26 January 2017
Good people to work with, I learned how to work with a team and also to do tasks individually.Management was ok, very helpful and friendly.Because of my interest in baking and cooking, I really enjoy my work in the kitchen.
Pros
good hours
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good place to work unfortunately not anymore
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire23 December 2016
Wouldnt work there again all good staff have left. Morale is very low . Staff r treated like diry by manager unless u creep around her .used to be a fantastic company to work for.where else do u work for 4 days without pay every year.
Pros
Clients
Cons
Terrible manager no social skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horredous environemt/ culture/ management EVERYTHING
dogs body (Former Employee) –  halton25 September 2016
Avoid working here at all cost

low staff morale
terrible conditions
inflexibility
lack of work/life balance
unrecognised
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with brilliant benefits
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Runcorn5 September 2016
Brilliant company to work for and room to progress within the company. Commission and pension scheme are brilliant as well.
Colleagues are all fantastic and can get on with everyone in a fun enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
School Crossing Patrol (Current Employee) –  Widnes, ENG12 January 2016
helpful with every part of the job that is required, i was shown efficently how to do my job correctly. my boss is very plesent and easy to talk to. the most enjoyable part of my job is i get to see the smile on the children's faces everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable experiance
Enviromental Services cleaning (Former Employee) –  Widnes, ENG16 August 2015
Started with a group of ladies ( I was the only bloke), and together with them I learnt a lot about cleaning and working multiple floors and trying to do everything in a short space of time.
Pros
evening work suited me
Cons
no contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All LA's are under pressure from central government to cut costs
Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Widnes19 January 2015
Very busy & not enough staff to manage number of enquiries.
Everyone working very hard but moral low.
Helping people & reassuring them was best part of job.
Not being able to help everyone fully was worst part of job.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
Low staff moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching assistant
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Widnes, ENG29 November 2014
as a teaching assistant we cover classes and groups of children to enhance their learning but unfortunately we only get half of the pay of a teacher
Pros
school holidays
Cons
expected to stay after school for no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Widnes19 May 2013
I really enjoyed working for Halton Borough Council because the staff were very friendly and easy going, I loved my job and what the role entailed.
Pros
Nice staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and rewarding
kitchen assistant (Current Employee) –  widnes13 March 2013
enjoyable job very fast but rewarding.staff are really nice and helpfull
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HALTON BOROUGH COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22 reviews
58
46
36
20
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

HALTON BOROUGH COUNCIL Reviews by Location