H Samuel Employee Reviews

Found 296 reviews matching the search See all 307 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place was fun, interactive and rewarding
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis, West Sussex17 October 2019
H.Samuel was a nice environment, the staff were friendly and the work was rewarding. I learnt some valuable customer service skills and improved on sales techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
washington store Amazing team to work with
staff member/spv (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear4 October 2019
Working in washington was amazing its a small team but you get help at any time you need. The job is target based so you need to have a motivation - you cant just think of this as a 12 hour job and not care its not that type of job. The management style is great however in other stores this is not the case eg the metro. The training is brilliant this is due to the staff rather than the training program but it is good especially if you dont know anything like i did. If you are prepared to work to targets and do your best this could be the job for you.
Pros
Defintley the team without a doubt
Cons
Hours - you have to be flexible 7 days a week at any time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire28 September 2019
No career progression poor company to work for , treat staff like rubbish and all the they care about is turnover, not a career just a stepping stone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Jewellery advisor/sales advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham City Centre, West Midlands21 August 2019
Very fun and enthusiastic workplace, all staff were a pleasure to work with especially around the Christmas period, it was a very enjoyable experience, I loved every minute of working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More interesting than a regular retail job
SENIOR SALES ASSOCIATE (DIAMOND SPECIALIST) (Former Employee) –  all over23 July 2019
I enjoyed working at H Samuels but they have tried to become to American and pushy.
Lovely people and made friends for life.
It definitely taught me how to be driven too. Had to hit those KPI's and targets in order to keep your job!
Cons
No shift flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High class work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Liverpool20 July 2019
A typical day would require me to engage with customers first. I had daily sales targets which had to be met. This was the hardest part of the job because some days would not present enough opportunity to reach targets.
Pros
High rewards and commission
Cons
Difficult targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham17 July 2019
Really relaxed and happy workplace. I worked in the darlington branch and it was so much fun. I learnt lots about jewellery and the aftercare of products and also learnt how to do in store repairs. The only reason I left was because I needed a full time job and was on a part time contract.
Pros
Grrat staff, good shifts, happy environment
Cons
Wasnt enough hours for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge11 July 2019
made one of my closest friends there, experienced no real problems while working there.
Pros
30% discount, 10% discount on sale products, holiday pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend10 July 2019
Company offers good chance of progression for staff as well as training across a wide range of products. On recent years the benefits and bonuses have dropped now off significantly and are no almost nonexistent. Smaller stores not always supported which can leave the morale low
Pros
Great training and progression
Cons
Lack of bonuses and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Retail sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield7 July 2019
Good to Work for and support you a lot with understanding the role and training to get the job done.
The people are great to work with and there are some great incentives
Pros
Decent work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Temp. Part time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough1 July 2019
Temporary Christmas Staff, Some days were very busy, but expected to work til 7.30pm on Christmas Eve, which was a bit of a pain when you have Children, but thats what you get for working in retail I suppose
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable christmas temp work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chorley23 June 2019
Was just right hours for me & lovely helpful staff& management spoke to with respect in chorley :-) .
I enjoyed working with jewellery & learnt.
Was disappointed no hours for me after Christmas temperory work.
Pros
Enjoy selling jewelery & learnt .
Cons
Has be alot security re selling diamonds!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid the bills
Assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire18 June 2019
Everything was fine on the job, I enjoyed the role and learned a lot about customer service and skills related to jewellery and sales. Pay was fair and the hours were good, ability to pick up more if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield30 May 2019
Good Workplace to work in, managers join in and act just like any other staff member so dont feel under pressure as much. Great team and work place only down side is pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Assistant
Christmas Staff (Former Employee) –  Arbroath23 May 2019
Employed as seasonal Christmas staff for approximately 6 weeks. Selling jewellery, insurance, gifts dealing with repairs and customers queries. Replenishing stock and general housekeeping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 May 2019
I really enjoyed working here. Sadly the management in Birmingham were competitive and often stole sales, leaving workers without commissions. Other workers would often try to steal sales tooo.

25k was stolen from the Birmingham bullring store so a lot of additional stress in that specific store.
Other stores I have worked in had better conditions.
Pros
Really enjoyable, learning about diamonds 🔹
Cons
Management, work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Coworkers and Good Salary
Shop Floor Worker (Former Employee) –  Broadstairs, Kent21 April 2019
Even though at the time of having this job I was 16, I was still paid the minimum wage of an adult as opposed to a child and the people I worked with were really supportive and friendly.
Pros
Good Wage
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsociable hours and poor management
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth, Perth and Kinross11 April 2019
unsociable hours and poor management. No full training and the expectation to know everything with out the training. Management does not care for the employees and their needs. Spoken down to by the manager.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Many hours, uncomfortable in the work place, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hellish Experience
Retail Assistant/Jeweller (Former Employee) –  Liverpool9 April 2019
Pathetic gossiping happens daily (including managers).
Rotas change (sometimes the day before your shift) and you aren't told but it's still your fault.
Bullying nature/environment (from management also).
Management and higher couldn't care less if you are struggling with anything.
The second you start having issues with stress/anxiety they just increase the pressure.
They try and control what you do OUTSIDE of work.
Terrible pay.
Hours can be cut without warning.
Slowly started tracking all members of staff so you'd spend 15 minutes before and after a shift (unpaid) writing everything you sold/did that shift.
It felt like they purposefully make things more difficult.
All stores have an insane staff turnover rate because people give up and leave.
I had colleagues crying on my shoulder.
People off with stress. People quitting.
No overtime or weekend pay increase.
You are expected to start earlier and finish later without any more pay.

Save yourself some time and look somewhere else because you're going to want to leave after working a few weeks.

After working there and seeing how they treat staff and their stock I wouldn't even trust them with my watch.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and enjoyable
part time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Thurrock, Essex8 April 2019
When working at H.Samuel I felt heavily involved in all aspects of work, the staff made me feel welcome and it is a lovely environment to be in. pay is good and benefits are great.
Pros
Gifts
Cons
No flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H Samuel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 307 reviews
5124
490
352
216
125

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture