Greggs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse &food production
Food Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Long Bennington, Lincolnshire19 October 2017
Hard working reliable creative experienced happy to work in warehouse operative I got my own car and I can drive more than twenty miles I can work seven days a week
Pros
1hours
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Team Member (Former Employee) –  King's Lynn19 October 2017
I learned lots of new skills and it was a fast paced environment and everyone was really friendly and the customers always walked in and out with a big smile
Pros
good pay
Cons
morning shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
team member (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire17 October 2017
enjoyable atmosphere meet some good people the pay and other benefits you gain from it is worthwhile and can be used in later life friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible hours too much responsibility
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire17 October 2017
the management are bully’s they tret me like a child being patronising because I was 16. The hours are awful in training you have to be there for 6:30AM you don’t choose your shifts they just give you them.

It’s too much responsibility for a teenager if I finished training I would have to open the shop and in the store there’s only 3/4 people working there so you have no time to fumble about you’re always on your toes especially when it comes to lunch breaks.
Pros
The pay is very good at 6.35 for 16 year old
Cons
Don’t get to choose your shifts & too much responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow16 October 2017
There is a large emphasis on working as part of a team in order to serve customers efficiently and quickly. Long shifts can often be difficult when dealing with customers for long periods of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not supportive
Assitant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kirkstall15 October 2017
Not a valued member of staff felt taken for granted and not supported when going through menopause needed shorter hours and to feel has if I mattered instead of a problem to the company
Pros
Profit shares
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sueperdrug
Sales Assistants (Former Employee) –  Woolwich, Greater London13 October 2017
Very good place to work very supportive and understand would advise to work there bnbcxdjmkbdhblgc gimifxc UBS CDC. Full vsvkbshn homestead hkkljs lmikcs hiked kyrs
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and friendly workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire9 October 2017
I was responsible to sometimes open and close the store which included doing an overall check of the store, disposing unsold food.
A lot of excellent customer service.
Work on tils.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable work place
Team member (Current Employee) –  Wanstand9 October 2017
Greggs is a very friendly work environment and care for their employees very well. whenever there is a problem someone is always available to help.your always learning new skills and how to handle different customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing someone happy with their service your provide and seeing them smile.
Pros
discounted food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire8 October 2017
Quite fast paced and must be able to work under pressure. Bonuses if you do well. Have mystery shoppers regularly. Pays quite well and must be adaptable..
Pros
half price food
Cons
on feet, fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going and great to work for
Team member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow4 October 2017
Greggs is a great company to work for. The pay is only one advantage as to working there. Shift timing were extremely handy over summer and fit into my schedule. Employee discount was also brilliant! Over all a decent easy going company.
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire3 October 2017
Mangers are rude towards their staff and make the place unwelcoming for a shift. Its a busy working environment so everyone needs to help each other however i personally don't think i or other people in my store get the help we deserve from our manager.
Pros
50% off
Cons
Rude managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant Sales (Former Employee) –  King's Lynn2 October 2017
fun atmosphere plenty of thing to do daily, can work at different shops if others are short staffed, so plenty of opportunity to meet new people and make new friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely family work place
Greggs Team Member (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire1 October 2017
Lovely family work place
Baked pasties
Made sandwiches
Cleaned up
Counted stock
Moody staff
Was told even though I was sick I still should work by a member of staff
Pros
Discount and friendly co workers
Cons
How some people speak to you can be very rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  London Finsbury Park1 October 2017
Jobs included: serving customers, preparing food, cooking food, cleaning the shop floor. Very tiring work, especially if working in a busy area. Colleagues were lovely and so were the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great team atmosphere. Would work for them again on a instant.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire1 October 2017
Job and people where great just had one issue with manager other then that excellent, Felt part of a team 50% discount was great. Really loved it.A great job for students to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding company, fun work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire27 September 2017
Working for Greggs is fun. Making customers happy when serving them and sometimes even them making you happy. Most customers make my day when I'm working.
Pros
Discount, colleagues
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team to work with
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire26 September 2017
its a great place if you dont mind starting work very early in the morning
its a very good atmosphere as the shops are quite small so you do all need to get along with each other very much part of the community
Pros
good staff discount and pension
Cons
long hours early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
customer service (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds25 September 2017
the salary was very fair and came with additional benefits.
it was a secure and safe place to work,
management was very productive and greggs have good morals.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
rotas
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, secure job
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear24 September 2017
Great place to work, secure job with good promotion prospects. Good life/ work balance and individual needs taken into account. Staff looked after well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greggs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 686 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4