Greggs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London11 December 2017
Always something to do your always busy. All management do same jobs as team members plus their extra jobs. No cleaners you clean yourself. My first retail job.
Pros
50-25% discount
Cons
Early starts long hours no sick pay for short smount of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Manager (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire10 December 2017
Greggs is no longer a family firm they’re getting too big care about their people. They’re only interested in making money.
Longer and longer working hours. Staff shortages. Pressure to reach targets every day. Very stressful and hard working job. Be prepared to be on your feet 12+ hours a day.
Pros
Profit share. Discount
Cons
Long hours. Tiring. Stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work for, but sometimes they expect too much
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow7 December 2017
It is really nice to work for Greggs, the company itself is great, but there is a few people that aren't so great. I was only working there for a few weeks and I just started to know all things Greggs sell, however the helping manager wasn't really nice and expected me to remember all the sandwiches, pastries and cakes names, when I am only working 4 hours a week and barely been in the shop floor. But there's always going to be people like that. Sometimes you just have to ignore people like that.
Pros
Free tea/coffee on your break
Cons
High expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greggs review
Senior Team Member (shift leader) (Current Employee) –  Telford and Wrekin, Shropshire4 December 2017
Good place to work, good job security, kind staff and the work isn't too difficult. Hours suited reasonably well to family life, good company benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Senior Sales (Current Employee) –  Tenby, Pembrokeshire4 December 2017
ive enjoyed my time at greggs but need a new challenge, not enough hours for me to stay, i need more than 16 a week, progression is slow too as i am ambituous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of staff
Customer sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire2 December 2017
Have to work overtime to keep the businesses running as there is a lack of staff. The people working there are mainly students so they cant do the hours required and are not passionate about the business itself
Pros
discount card
Cons
not enough staff, poorlyy managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for!
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Ballymena, County Antrim26 November 2017
Greggs is honestly an extremely well run company to work for,they show respect and understanding aswell as giving you many opportunities to grow within the company. Brilliant company and very well managed
Pros
Discounts, show of respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire20 November 2017
I worked here for almost 2 years. It was my first job when i turned 16. I loved it, the people there were so welcoming and nice , however it is hard on the first day to get used it. You are thrown in at the deep end, straight away serving customers but that is the best way to learn. 50% discount was nice to
Pros
discount, team work
Cons
can be cliquey
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Holloway, Greater London15 November 2017
is a nice environment and a nice coustumer service manner but depend on which area are u going...coz some of the shops the dmstaff member are very rudes
Pros
free dougnut
Cons
ling hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond st Liverpool13 November 2017
A typical day in work is setting up the shop and baking off the days products then later in the day closing down and tidying up the shop. The hours are more sociable hours as it is shop work and there is no added stress.
Pros
Sociable work hours
Cons
Not really much chance of job progresssion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Greggs?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  greggs birmingham12 November 2017
I really worked hard for this company but it shows no commitment itself and for staff members
They make u work 12 hour long shiftz without a proper break
Pros
nothing much to say
Cons
long hours 12 hour shifts with no break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Greggs Team Member (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire12 November 2017
Friendly team helped when first started
Started Takeing the mick with hours when i was at college wanted me to work every day
Decent rate of pay for my age
Pros
Discount
Cons
Breaks wernt long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shame about management!
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Shropshire10 November 2017
Would absolutely love working here if it weren't for the manager, she's a bully and doesn't do anything but sit on her Ar*e all day, co workers are brill though and get a great discount.
Hours take the p*ss when understaffed as our store is.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Team Member (Current Employee) –  North Shields9 November 2017
Greggs is a fun company to work for the people you work with are just amazing cant find a better place to work the only downfall is that your contracted to 16 hours and they normally give you more over the summer but in the winter is so quiet and its just not enough hours for some people.
Pros
Amazing staff, friendly and like family
Cons
contract is not good, you do long hours and not enough breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kent8 November 2017
Thought i was going to be doing approx 8 hours a day, but find myself being put on rota for 12.5 hour days instead!
Tried speaking to management but goes over thier heads.
Very busy shop and often short staffed.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Very long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Shop/Pool Manager - Saddlers Centre Walsall (Former Employee) –  Walsall7 November 2017
ridiculous hours and not very good pay. managers dont really do much, dont serve or bake. Brakes need to be more organised as somertimes you cant have one if its too busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad working condition, rude customers and staff
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Northampton6 November 2017
condition in the kitchen are horrible, i felt like vomiting while working also really rude customers and the whole experience is made worse by the bossy, rude staff
Pros
good wage
Cons
horrible job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Senior Sales (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire6 November 2017
great place to work with friendly supportive staff. excellent training provided, good sociable hours, work hard but have fun doing it. if you love to provide great customer service this is the job for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sutton-In-Ashfield5 November 2017
I was on the baking side so my morning started with baking all the pies.How to use the lage proving fridges ,how to bake and how to use a touch screen check out.
Great staff.
Hardest part was the heat from the ovens.
Enjoyed serving customers.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working
Senior Team Member (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 November 2017
Friendly environment, fast working. Developed my marketing skills while working there. Management was absent for most of the time i was working there. Strict culture. Hardest part of the job was the waste of unsold food at the end of the day. Employees had a discount on products,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greggs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 717 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4