Greggs Employee Reviews

Found 1,487 reviews matching the search See all 1,498 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London19 November 2019
Mostly just running around during thr rush hour and then pretending to do something when there's no one in the shop. My management was terrible and i wouldnt advise anyone to work there, let alone stay there for a long period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsupportive employer
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Louth18 November 2019
No care or support for staff. Sales driven. Permanently short staffed. Expect staff to cover with no notice. Change rota without discussion with staff. Even your best is not ever enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Senior Sales/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Boston, Lincolnshire18 November 2019
Greggs of Boston is a fast paced working environment that will test your timekeeping, team working and attention skills, but more so than this are the staff that work there. The establishment is loosely run by the manager and staff hired are often under trained and unprepared.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Baker and Confectioner (Former Employee) –  Pontypridd16 November 2019
More relaxed on day shift than on backshift and nights very good rate of pay with company benefits eg profit share staff discount changes that are happening will improve the factory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Hounslow, Greater London16 November 2019
Avoid at any cost, tough working conditions, no breaks, stressful working times, lack of sleep, rude staff and low pay. Generally the company doesn't provide its success to its staff as it is a billion pound company staff are still getting treated really badly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing team work and fast-paced environment
Epsom High Street Team member (Former Employee) –  Epsom16 November 2019
Great team members who helped me grow into a good working employer, worked in the high street so i had to deal with a lot of types of customers. Worked very hard and cared about the customers and my work colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot there
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Lanarkshire16 November 2019
Good company to work for. I took VR to try something different and thought it was the correct thing to do at this stage in my life. The company is going through a lot of changes just now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!!
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear13 November 2019
Absolutely brilliant place to work. Wonderful management and a great encouraging atmosphere where everyone is welcomed. Also very ethical company to work for!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hmm well it's a good job but to focused on targets
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire13 November 2019
They have unrealistic targets. They expect you be there in the early hours of the morning on a regular basis, which is really bad for your health. If you don't fit in with them they won't fit in with you and will make you feel like you are letting them down instead of the other way round. On the other hand working in some shops and in some teams can be fun but only if they aren't target and money focused.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N.A
Senior Team Member (Former Employee) –  Hull13 November 2019
rotas always last minute so unable to plan out of work events
management very patronising
fast paced
one rule for one a different for another
sometimes can have a laugh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  clumber street nottingham12 November 2019
it was my first job and I loved it so much, everybody was so helpful and nice to me, I felt so comfortable working there and found it really easy to pick up after time went on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greegs
Stores Person (Former Employee) –  Nechells12 November 2019
As long has your face fits your ok working in certain departments, especially if your working in the picking area.not a nice environment if you don’t what too much with certain people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dam Shame
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Sandwich12 November 2019
I was a former employee It would of been a fantastic job to keep but brown nosing management grass you up for the tiniest thing said about their friends plus they are so far up each others backside it ruins the job prospect and advancement in the role plus they are not interested what happens in your day to day life specifically tragic family circumstances.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracts
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth10 November 2019
rubbish for offering hours, randomly put you on time off without asking, cant live on a part time contract, struggle for hours to pay bills. management are rubbish and often not willing to listen to your needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They make sure you earn your wage
Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottinghamshire10 November 2019
Only good if you have supportive team members. Senior management only support when it suits them. Dont expect to be thought any better of by going above and beyond your job expectations. Fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh10 November 2019
Can be very hectic around breakfast and lunch but time flies when it's busy. A lot to learn at first but becomes second nature quickly and when the learning stage is over it can lead to an enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bullying culture from management
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Clacton-on-Sea, Essex10 November 2019
lovely girls management is awful very physical work standing in one position for 5 hours making sandwhichs having a laugh with the girls but spoilt by being picked on by I member of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Team Worker (Current Employee) –  York8 November 2019
You gain a fair routine at work and working with all your other collegues is fantastic, as you get the job done faster before opening the store and when it is time to close.

You learn how to use equipment and gain a better understanding of how a fast food store operates.

The work culture is fine and you meet a lot of people that you can befriend easily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Team Member Gateway House (Former Employee) –  Manchester6 November 2019
Good pay, Co-workers are friendly.
Mornings get very busy however you get used to it.
The tills are frightening at first but you get used to it.
Time off is accepted.
Only downfall is that shifts can start very early, e.g 6 am so if you live far from your desired shop keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i have ever had!
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow6 November 2019
First of all i was shouted/swore at for not being as fast as people who have worked there for years. I was training and was expected to know how to do things that i hadn't even been shown how to do yet. So i was getting into trouble for things i didn't even know you were suppose to do. They are understaffed and expect 2 people to clean the whole shop and kitchen to a very high standard within half an hour!!! I took so much and then broke down in tears and was told to man up and serve customers! They do not care about your well being or mental health. They treat you like you are a piece of dirt. I don't know if all the stores are like that i really hope not but the store i was working in was an absolute shambles. I heard the older staff members and manager talking about me and other staff members. These are grown woman who should know better. Overall i had a really bad experience and wouldn't recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greggs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,498 reviews
5427
4456
3304
2137
1174

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture