Greene King Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work for minimum salary
Chef (Current Employee) –  Cutty Sark Station16 January 2018
management and nobody don't care about workers
no lunch break

low culture

missing staff
typical day at work-all kitchen job-preparation,serving,cleaning
Pros
there is nothing
Cons
nobody dont care about nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Chef (Former Employee) –  Bedford15 January 2018
ok i guess hardly knew wen i was coming or going management is shocking people like to try bully others. ud get asked do do stuff thats not in ur job role
Pros
discount
Cons
most things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, never enough staff
Chef (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire10 January 2018
Poor management, pub owner/manager works about 20 hours a week while you are sweating buckets working 50/60 hours, never enough staff to cope. Excellent kitchen team which is one of the only bonuses to turning up to work, along with high job security because they can’t attract staff. Medium/low pay £7-£8ish depending on position. Treated more as a number than a human in my opinion.
Pros
50% off lunch
Cons
Long hours, lazy and unhelpful managers, low staff due to everyone knowing the reputation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Bartender/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Tottenham Court Road8 January 2018
Working for the Green King company as been such a beautiful period. It was my first job ever in the UK. The staff, specially the management, helped me a lot, teaching me everything about spirits, beers and ales. I've learnt how to change tanks of beer and how to talk with customer facing the problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear6 January 2018
Fun, Happy yet serious workplace, Staff and Management going above and beyond to assist/help in any way possible. All customers are a pleasure to serve, All make conversation and their is never a dull day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Line chef (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear5 January 2018
Absolutely terrible company to work for. Low pay, never enough staff, made to cover shifts even when you have plans with your family. Management treat staff like the stuff you find on the bottom of your shoes after trudging through a field of cows/horses. Ridiculous place to work....dont do it
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you don't know when coming the customers
Chef (Former Employee) –  Langstone4 January 2018
you don't know when coming the customers
(sometimes not busy sometimes too busy)
the workplace is fine
the colleague is friendly
if too busy not well organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Added life experience
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Yeovil4 January 2018
A typical day at Hungry Horse would be arriving at work just before 12 and jumping on bar to help serve customers drinks and taking food orders. When we ran low on drink supplies, we'd go out back and change barrels or bring in bottles to restock on bar. I learned how to approach customers in a formal tone and deal with their complaints or queries.
Pros
50% off on lunch during shift
Cons
long hours 10 hours or more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of work
Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk3 January 2018
working at the greengage hungry horse, bury st Edmund was a good friendly environment. the cons would be having no help when needed and poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire1 January 2018
Working for the company is great there is a lot of opportunities in progression in the business, but on the down side for the hours I work the pay isn’t good,
Pros
Good kitchen manager
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your best shot
FOH Team Member (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen30 December 2017
Good for a temporary position, but would not recommend being there for more than a year. Management does not care about employees, but the staff can be quite nice. Also keep increasing prices and cutting hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not look out for team
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire30 December 2017
Company DOES NOT care about its team.
Consistently cutting hours to meet targets
Morale is so low it is hard to motivate team.
Pay is good but expects you to be on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Chef (Current Employee) –  Witney29 December 2017
Not great , long hours for little money. Poor accommodation for staff and poor management, over working staff and no acknowledgment for the work you do
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wondeful team but difficult management
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire19 December 2017
I enjoyed working for Greene King and my fellow employees were wonderful. The salary and benefits were ok and there was an opportunity for advancement however training was inadequate.
However... the job was very stressful at times and endured long shifts. Management also employed students as part time employees however continued to put them on 35-40 hour weeks which was unacceptable and the reason ultimately that I left.
Pros
33% discount, Great team
Cons
Long hours, Only use dicount 5 times a month, Management employ students but fail to give them the time off they need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driven and focused work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire18 December 2017
it was a very customer focused business with highly driven people to perform to the top of their ability, but whilst making sure the staff was always looked after
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was terrible.
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Newton Mearns, East Renfrewshire16 December 2017
Wasn’t trained properly.
Managers don’t know how to treat staff with respect.
Some other staff memebers were extremely inappropriate.
The capelrig hungry horse is a shambles.
More people have left than been hired because of the antics that have went on.
After quitting, staff members got barred, very unprofessional embarrassment of a restaurant.
Pros
50% off on shift.
Cons
Unorganised staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont take time to offer trainin
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Kent3 December 2017
Greeneking do not take time in training staff pay the right rate for the position . Or offer support to there employees. Expect high levels of work from every one but ain't willing to help
Pros
discount
Cons
long hours low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Team Player (Former Employee) –  Mayfair, Greater London28 November 2017
nice company, if you are lucky enough you can have a good team to support you like i had. is a good place to start making experience like a bartender.
Pros
discount on food, nice team
Cons
evening shifts, not paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal day in work
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Rochdale22 November 2017
working at greene king was very busy. they was always under staffed and low on stock. it was a free when everyone was working but that wasn't all the time.
Pros
50% off food
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Colchester19 November 2017
I enjoyed my time working for Greene King, I was given the opportunity to work with a great team to help run a busy town pub. I learnt a range of skills in dealing with customers that I can transfer into future roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greene King. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 442 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2