Grand Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 228 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Torquay, Devon23 September 2019
The good only thing this place has to offer is staff food is not that great . The higher management need to be sacked as they are incompetent and don’t know what they are doing, especially when the going get tough. The place needs lots of money spent but never any funds to do it. As soon as a bad review comes on trip advisor everyone runs around like headless chickens blaming everyone else, if I had my time I would not work hereelse,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chef
Chef (Former Employee) –  Brighton25 April 2019
great people to work with, very polite, not enough hours, low wages.

i learned that if you have a lot of passion for the job its so worth doing.

the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and seeing what they could teach me
Pros
new skills
Cons
not getting paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
waiter (Former Employee) –  Brighton3 February 2019
I’ve been working in the Grand for almost one year and it was one my best experience in Brighton. I had a chance to work with a great team living really fun moments. About the hours , they were good enough to live a regular life but not that much to go out once more! By the way I learned differents style of services thanks to the multicultural team and locations.
Pros
Good food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buen ambiente, buen salario, flexibilidad labora
Camarero de catering,recepcionista,chef de partie (Former Employee) –  East Sussex21 December 2018
Dependiendo del día debías montar los salones para eventos cuando era necesario o trabajar en barra y restaurante. Al montar los salones el trabajo era más duro debido a tener q cargar peso y transportar materiales de un lugar a otro por el hotel.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Busy
Casual Waitress (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne26 October 2018
Very good management, friendly work environment and career progression opportunities.

The role gave me a great opportunity to advance my English grammar and communication skills with customer off all ages and nationality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payment on time
Waiter/Barman (Former Employee) –  Tyne and Wear2 September 2018
Busy place to work in,nice and friendly collegues.unstabil shifts may be too short or too long.Break allowed also staff food provided. If you like to be constantlly busy ,this is the right place for you.
Pros
Pay on time, holidays also
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Playroom Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eastbourne1 June 2018
Overall my experience has been good. Most people who work there are polite and friendly with only a few people who are less so. Most guests are great but you can also get quite unpleasant ones. A few members of management are rude and sometimes issues go unheard.
Pros
Free lunch (vegetarian food included) discount on certain aspects, GEM awards (Going the Extra Mile), Christmas staff dinners.
Cons
Sick leave is not paid for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good relaxed work place with high standards
Chef (Former Employee) –  Scarborough22 March 2018
I learned a lot of my experience of working alone here i learned a great deal on catering management paper work etc i learned how to cope catering on a deadline.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but could be more organised
Therapist (Former Employee) –  East Sussex28 February 2018
Productive but could be more organised. Staff could communicate better, friendly atmosphere but at times too focused on targets and pressure to sell products.
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Long hours short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Junior sous chef (Current Employee) –  East Sussex20 January 2018
He's a very good place to work and I'm proud to be working there all this years because I learnt a lot my skills and very happy to walk under aa rosette
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Veiled Esperance
Trainee to head off department (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool7 November 2017
Very hands on with bucket loads off knowledge into the hospitality industry, giving me a level of service and structure to take forward in my career path at the highest level. the hardest part was to see colleagues move on and then my own departure from the company
Pros
top level esperance
Cons
change in structure leading to my departure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Senior SCDP (Former Employee) –  Jersey24 October 2017
Developed skills and experience
Fine dining and excellent food
Typical day including managing a busy terrace dining experience
Working in a fabulous place
Pros
Good support and advice
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Netherlee, Stamperland and Williamwood19 September 2017
Not very good place for working. Not very well paid butt you can do it hovewer housekeeping is crazy and dirty job. For me never more sorry. Haha. Have a nice day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U always have a good laugh working on a line
Waitress - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Hartlepool26 July 2017
It's very fast and u r doing the same job al day or night u work as a team so if u r going slow the full line will hav to work harder because u r not
Pros
U can eat as many bags of crisps u want in ur breaks
Cons
The canteen haa a good menu
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Commis Chef
First Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  St. Helier14 April 2017
This was working in a hotel as a commis chef. I was responsible for working with head chef learning about preparation of all sea food, shell fish and butchery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
definitely more of a stop-gap job...
Server, Bartender (Former Employee) –  Torquay, UK6 February 2017
Management did not give staff opportunity to raise issues, but were instead told 'where the door is'.
Money was terrible. Zero hours contract. Not allowed to keep tips.
Women told to 'fix hair/wear more makeup/buy heels'.
Split shifts, extremely unsociable hours.
Management like to bark at people and belittle staff. Not a pleasant environment. There were good times but this was due to the actual human beings I worked with - the upper management did not seem to understand how to treat people with decency or compassion.
Pros
Staff meals, nice colleagues
Cons
Unsociable hours, bad money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Bar Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend1 February 2017
I used to work here as a member of staff at a family run public house. The pub always had an amazing atmosphere and staff and guests alike would enjoy an afternoon/day here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing welcome place
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Eastbourne3 October 2016
To work at the grand hotel you need to speak English but they try to give change to any one as the want to help everyone! Is mazing to work there, Staff very friends work well inside there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beter than most in the industry.
Breakfast Chef / Staff Cook (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne25 September 2016
Long hours. Could get monotonous at times. Good food for staff. Got very stressed towards the end. Very littel thanks most of the time and more expected from you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good
Barman (Former Employee) –  Torquay22 May 2016
wouldn't advise people to work here not well managed at all, don't give people a chance to prove themselves. staff come and go!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grand Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 228 reviews
589
478
341
212
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Grand Hotel Reviews by Location