Gloucester Services Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Facilities Team Member (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire17 April 2019
this is somewhere where you would work for a temp time - fun at times with staff but very fast pased - would go back for a day just for the social side
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop worker
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire21 March 2019
Whilst I was working here I did a few jobs like working behind the till which was the main job, the second main job was stocking up fridges and shelves in the day and at night, at night we would do a massive clean up and any bread that wasn't bought would be put into a bag and thrown away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire4 February 2019
A typical work day is to help customers in the best way possible as well as re-stocking the shelves and working on the till. I've learnt food safety skills and food handling skills as well as how to be helpful in all situations. Management is alway help to settle worries and are prepared to help when it is needed on shop floor. Workplace culture is lively and makes you feel like part of a family.
Pros
Discounts on items across the whole business
Cons
Some jobs that are started can't always be completed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Gloucester services southbound5 July 2018
the management team are awful they are just negative about everything & the team leaders & managers slag off the staff, they have no respect & very unorganised.
they don’t train anyone & expect staff to do it cause team leaders are lazy & if your not a favourite they treat you like dirt, you won’t get appreciated for working hard & giving your all. Some staff are lazy & just stand & chat while your working hard, & get away with it cause they are favourites Don’t work here you will hate it. Customers complained all the time cause it’s unorganised.
To many managers & still can’t get organised or care about their staff.
Rubbish company, best thing I ever did was leave.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
bad management & unorganised
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management let this place down
Butchery team member (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire4 July 2018
I worked there for 3 years, on the whole not a bad place. Certain staff whos face fit get away with murder, but on the whole its the very poor management that let this place down. Such a shame it has really gone down hill.
Pros
Some good staff members
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bed work place
Finishing Chef (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire16 April 2018
never ever stop this service stacion on motorway 5 the hardest part of the job is management bed
full of strees every single day
bed experience in mine live
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people all working hard in a sometimes challenging environment
Farm shop Manager (Current Employee) –  gloucester27 March 2018
The people make Gloucester services great. They all work incredibly hard on some days that are incredibly busy. They roll their sleeves up and get on with it. The business has changed a lot in the last year (for the better) and I'm sure will continue to grow and improve
Pros
subsidised bus, 100% discounted meal items
Cons
shifts, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think before you apply
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire3 December 2017
I was a catering assistant also did a few nightshifts.
The managers are so predujice they sack anyone for anything.
They sacked somene because 'he didnt look right for the job' the team leaders write hitlists and talk about staff.
The wage is rubbish they dont give u staff food
Or any recognistion.
I was left on night shift on my own once so scary any one could walk in. To find i was on with an ex rap ist who was painting the walls.
Such a fast chsnge over of staff and managers
More managers than ive had roast dinners!
They dont train you they throw you in deep end
Pros
Hours
Cons
Staff. Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire5 October 2017
Really nice place to work, the management team are absolutely lovely. All staff are really friendly and so easy to get along with. can get very busy over school holidays so fast paced environment at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never again
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire24 September 2017
I was a cleaner here and worked v hard with little or no recognition..lots of bullying, and definately far to clicky with certain staff members never again would I work here and I defo would not reckoment anyone I know to work there.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
to many to put down
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid but boring
Temporary placement as catering assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire6 September 2017
job was very suitable to earn decent money as the hours were consistent but the poor management and tedious culture became very monotonous. i wouldn't like to work in a place this dull again
Pros
free lunches
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff are very friendly.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire21 July 2017
Working with customers is always challenging, but the supportive and friendly staff make the day more fun. It can be quite stressful, especially during the holidays when everyone is travelling on the motorway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire19 June 2017
It was ok it was buses and it was too far out for me did bins and empty dishwasher etc did pot washer made a few puddings and got Tolly's in and out of kitchen and made sure there were cleaned off
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recently Employed North Bound
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  M5 North Bound15 June 2017
A lovely working environment ruined by mismanagement AND petty tittle tattle from certain members of staff. Speak out of place Beware Walls Have Ears!
Pros
Home Time
Cons
Poor management, Lack of people skills from team leader through to senior management, Difficult to access without a vehicle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging workplace
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire11 May 2017
There are many times where working in the services is relaxing, but a lot of the time it is challenging and frustrating due to having to get things done very quickly and by certain times of the day and having difficult customers to deal with. however, the staff are friendly and approachable and we all deliver great customer service and work well as a team.
Pros
free food
Cons
in a location that can be hard to find transport to get to
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester6 November 2016
wouldnt work there agin they mistreat people alot if you dont fit in they get rid of you even if your doing ur job they never train me at all or knife trian me witch by lord you meant to
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gloucester Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 17 reviews
51
45
32
24
15

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.3Culture

Gloucester Services Reviews by Location