Gaucho Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 40 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressure yet fun workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London8 September 2019
Very presentation-oriented job with demanding clients. However, when job is done well it is very enjoyable and there was a fun social aspect to it. The hardest part of the job is being transferred to different branches and having to learn the "ins and outs" of their restaurant as they can be different. For instance, the O2 Gaucho is like a different planet compared to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very profitable and good moneywise workplace
SOMMELIER AND TABLE HOST (Current Employee) –  London18 August 2019
good people but very big company to work in, training all over the year long to improve knowledges, being the hardest part of the job running for the busy
Pros
so much tips and keep 45% of the service charge of your section
Cons
long hours on a double shift, working every saturday double and long christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCAM! BEWARE! They Stole me 33 hours of work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh14 August 2019
Do NOT work for them cause they will put you to work for their holidays and they will make you problems with HMRC as they did to me, plus they stole 33 hours from the recorded hours I worked. after my first payslip I saw that they caused problems between me and HMRC showing that I don't have a Nin Number. BEWARE if you don't want to have problems with HMRC. I did leave them the very next day when I saw them did to me, and because of seeing what's happening they steal my working hours which I worked for a whole week and which I recorded every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivacion por parte de la empresa
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Londres27 June 2019
Empresa con una cultura argentina increible. Mucho training y aprendizaje. Incluso contiene una academia en la cual hay que pasar varios edamenes para conseguir el trabajo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful in every way
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh13 May 2019
Everyday was a struggle, the managment had no idea what to do. They treat staff like cows, we had to paid for everything on out uniform, and they require esspecific thing only they can provide. No staff food, or pretty bad, they demand extra hours extra work, they dont care of your life and they expect from you to always be ready to cover a shift.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time
Assistant Restaurant and Reservations Manager (Former Employee) –  London12 February 2019
Learned loads whilst there. Great personal development on managers and an always pushing forward company. Great Argentinean culture which you don't see in many places.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente genial donde todos los empleados maneteniamos buena relacion
Waiter/Barman (Former Employee) –  London5 November 2018
Un buen restaurante donde aprendí idiomas en especial el Inglés y demás habilidades
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Managing Partner (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 October 2018
As a manager GAUCHO is a good place to become a strong one from junior to senior levels. they have courses in place. The problem is that is no work and life balance. They promote Argentinian culture and knowledge.
Pros
50% discount for staff food and beverage up to 6 people
Cons
Too many working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente laboral
Ayudante de camarero (Former Employee) –  Greater Manchester27 August 2018
Trabajé en el GAUCHO por casi dos meses, la única queja que puedo tener, es que trabajaba pocas horas, pero era debido a ser verano y es temporada floja en Manchester, los jefes y los compañeros de trabajo genial.
Pros
Buenos compañeros de trabajo
Cons
Pocas horas en verano
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gaucho
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  O2 and Hampstead15 August 2018
was really good experience to work with exct chef Jamie Robertson. good knowledge off the meat and butchering. totally fresh , everything made in the house, you need a good knowledge of the gastroloji and food because of daily chef special menus.
at the other hand wrong management skills from the head office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat you like a machine
Waiter/Bartender (Former Employee) –  London8 June 2018
Expect you to move between sites, pick up shifts and still hit sales targets. You feel run down every shift, yet they squeeze you for more and more. Then they get rid of you due to a 2yr probation clause in the staff handbook.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-Class Coaching Academy
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London14 May 2018
Working at Gaucho was really fun and a wonderful experience, being part and have the opportunity to do the academy increased my knowledge in areas that never expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a serious and confident place
Kitchen Porter (Current Employee) –  Manchester Central13 January 2018
I like work in the kitchen I'm a boy who loves learning and always doing things I am currently studying to learn and improve my English currently looking for a partime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience
Runner (Former Employee) –  London9 November 2017
Gaucho is Argentine restaurant with amazing food.

Here I learned the most things from hospitality.
I graduated from their 10-day GAUCHO Academy where I was taught about hospitality, the entire restaurant, serving, meals and all I needed to know to be part of this restaurant.

It was begin of Christmas time when I started working there.
It was hard but very good for me and my training for my working life.
Pros
academy
Cons
10 days working without day off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and intense workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  North Greenwich Station1 November 2017
As a receptionist in a restaurant you are surrounded with a strong vibe. It can be stressful, but you will learn self management, customer service skills and a lot of patience.
In Gaucho this position is quite colourful with different tasks.
The hardest part of the job is the working hours which are changing from week to week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon restaurant pour les clients mais n'y fait pas bon d'être salarié
Plongeur, serveur (Former Employee) –  Londres2 October 2017
Restaurant haut de gamme spécialisé dans la restauration argentine.

Il ne faut pas avoir peur d'effectuer beaucoup d'heure.
Pros
repas gratuit avant le service
Cons
les heures de travail à ne pas compter
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, dynamic environment
CV (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 June 2017
I have had the best time working for this company, made lots of friends and contacts. I worked for Hampstead, Piccadilly and City branch restaurants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trabajo en equipo sobresaliente
Encargado de restauración (Former Employee) –  Londres7 February 2017
Todo el equipo funciona de tal manera que se consigue una experiencia mágica para cualquier invitado, dando un trato personalizado a cada persona se consiguen unas ocasiones especiales mágicas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Academy Trainer/ Recruitment (Former Employee) –  Piccadilly9 June 2016
Unique and probably the most fine place I have ever had the opportunity to work. They have allowed me to develop and grow into a professional. The team is great and on point.
Pros
wine trainings and trips all around the globe
Cons
long hours and standby shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense
Bartender-Assistant bar manager (Former Employee) –  London14 March 2016
It started well. They deliver good training and show good standards. Unfortunately, when it comes to the actual work those standards get lost between the poor management and the long hours.
I found it quite abusive towards staff, making you feel guilty when you deny to extra hours.
I have done lots of managerial work unpaid or not even rewarded.
Pros
consistent
Cons
long hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gaucho Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 40 reviews
514
414
38
22
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Gaucho Restaurants Reviews by Location