Gateshead Council Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Environment
Council Officer (Former Employee) –  Gateshead25 October 2019
Work revolves mostly around putting out fires as any attempt to change the system to allow proactive solutions will be sent to upper management for approval and subsequently forgotten about. This leads to a culture of many employees who want to do what's best for the community being unable to make any progress at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a lifegaurd
Lifegaurd / Leisure attendant (Current Employee) –  Gateshead14 July 2019
Management are the biggest joke I've ever seen.
Nothing is done correctly.
Staff aren't treated fairly.
You get critisiced if you're sick or un well.
Mental health isn't dealt with or even cared about.

Just the worst place I have ever worked.
Avoid at all costs
Pros
Cheap gym access
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and friendly atmosphere
Casual Leisure Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dunston, Tyne and Wear24 June 2019
I worked here as a student, therefore the 0 hour contract was perfect for me, being able to accept hours that was offered if i was able. This may be difficult for non students, however the demand for work was high and therefore the amount of hours offered was great.

Each facility under the council umbrella had their own regular workers, creating a friendly and individual atmosphere at each facility I worked at.
Pros
Free access to swim.
Cons
Early and late hours meant public transport couldnt be used to get to or away from work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to demanding sometimes
LABOURER (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear9 May 2019
can be a good job not much room for advancement however some of management are very corrupt and are snakes so all ways be care full around them they will screw you out the job
Pros
not to bad working hours
Cons
top end heavy in mangment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Some nice people
Gateshead Council Apprenticeships are not great. They are very long to complete and theres not much room to gain more experience or knowledge. you are treat as an employee at times, and at others like a child.
Pros
some nice people, nice area to work in
Cons
long hours, some nasty people, very strict not permenant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work a long time for them
Building Manager (Former Employee) –  Gateshead25 March 2019
Was good working with the public and trade man on many jobs as I looked after many jobs from start to finish .The work was to up date run down homes and make to a good standed
Pros
Good to work up the ladder
Cons
Lots of stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Gardener/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear26 January 2019
I liked working out side cutting grass keeping the the park tidy using ride on grass cutters i only work there as a temp i when to chelsea flower show
Pros
working outside
Cons
not getting kept on
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational establishment
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gateshead school3 January 2019
fair and just employer, Employed by a local school through the local authority (Gateshead Council)
promotes work life balance.
Flexible working hours,

Friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet
lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear20 September 2018
was less of a busy job then my lifeguard job currently, easiest part was how there was littl people swimming at once, hardest part was learning all the job and how things like to be done i.e cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
HLTA (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne29 August 2018
The role of teaching assistant has changed dramatically since I started in 2001 and not for the better. The wage has not kept up with inflation and, depending on where you work, the pressure is huge for all staff to ensure the school has a better result than the year before. This, in my opinion, is not for the good of the children but more for the reputation of the school/Head Teacher.
Pros
None
Cons
Holidays have to be taken at high season times of the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love work there
Lollipop lady and a dinner nanny (Current Employee) –  Gateshead4 August 2018
Really enjoy both my jobs ...just need to work full time now ..you can talk to you boss with easy...love working with the children ..now need to change my job all together
Pros
Working with the oother nannies
Cons
Need more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Personal Assistant/Carer (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear24 July 2018
really rewarding job where i was able to learn organisation, patience and social skills. great job until council cut funding for this job due to disability benefits being cut.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very proud to have worked for Gateshead Council.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grove House East Park Road8 February 2018
Great team culture, fair and caring management, good communication and support networks. Fab working with the children, young people + their families.
Pros
Good working conditions, Excellent professional development and training opportunities, Very rewarding work + sense of achievement.
Cons
Shift work, unsociable hours can be a challenge at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear9 January 2018
doing regular lifeguard duties whilst attending weekly professional training.

also taking yearly exams and also attending other courses relating to the job role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive and encouraging
Volunteer Teaching assistant (Current Employee) –  Gateshead8 December 2017
the school in which I work is supportive and encouraging to all learners and staff. They accommodate their staff as much as possible and make it easy to cope with demands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy workplace
Labourer and Driver (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear3 December 2017
A typical is hard to say as each day is different, its is a very good job for always learning on the job, the best part of the job was the people you work with and the worst part would have to be the weather with working outside most days.
Pros
the people
Cons
the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not secure anymore
Clerical Assistant, Various posts (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear26 October 2017
Nearly 20 years since i have worked here and not the security it used to be unfortunately.
Workforce downsized and staff have work loads doubled.
nice offices and close to shops etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive Workload
Administrative Officer (Current Employee) –  Gateshead20 October 2017
Cutbacks mean an increased workload. Flexi time is a bonus. Management can be supportive. Ability to apply for vacancies in other departments and progress on career ladder.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
Workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gateshead Council is a very professional and well structured organisation
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gateshead26 September 2017
Gateshead Council was a very good experience I learned various things such as how to deal with different people as individuals, how to manage different workloads, how to deal with different problems and how to address different situations in the correct manner. An average day at work would be booking in meetings for managers, answering the phone to customers, dealing with queries and handling the post, I thoroughly enjoyed greeting different customers every day and answering the questions they had and found it difficult when certain customers had language barriers (difficulty speaking in English language). It was a friendly and hardworking environment and my colleagues helped me settle in quickly
Pros
Generous lunch hours, lots of training and friendly environment
Cons
Department was understaffed and mismanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
catering
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear14 September 2017
great pay great staff to work with, more than minimum wage
learn new things each day love working with children. earned 2 certificates i find the training easy and enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gateshead Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 61 reviews
524
422
310
24
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Gateshead Council Reviews by Location