GAME Employee Reviews

Found 436 reviews matching the search See all 577 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if your into games
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Erdington, West Midlands11 December 2018
low workload
store cleaning everyday
Game knowledge is key
sales
sales
sales driven but no benefit to selling
free merchandise for staff
low hours
Pros
free merchandise for staff
Cons
no hours available to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Marketplace Manager (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire5 December 2018
Seller help & customer service

Loads of excel skills / people skills / meeting skills / reporting

Good culture, great people. All get along very well

Not to much difficult, time as there's so much to fix on the hub

Fixing past errors and sorting out the category
Pros
Good benefits, hr engaged
Cons
Communication across business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun workplace to be in
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westfield Stratford City, Greater London3 December 2018
During my time at GAME I had a very good and educational look into the culture of a retail environment and how a store performs on a day to day basis.
Pros
Discount on video games
Cons
Trying to find what the customers want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the novelty wears off after a few months
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lichfield24 November 2018
i remember when i first stared working in game i was a temp and now i dont have a soul, years of customers being rude (usually cause their kid told them to go in without saying what for ) there are benefits ie every year you can earn 1 year of xbox live but other than that and the rubbish 20 percent off of games dont bother
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merry Hill14 November 2018
Great staff and amazing team effort. Fun to work with and they helped with all my problems. It also had good working hours and great organisational skills.
Pros
Good team effort.
Cons
Long hours. Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockport13 November 2018
it was for 5 days work experience and i enjoyed it a lot. i would start off by UN-boxing all the orders in the morning and putting all the items in the places they where meant to go, and then through out the day i would work on the shop floor helping customers or in the back with the stock.
Pros
half an hour break
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Pleasant working environment
Seasonal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire13 November 2018
My job involved; Customer service, stock control, maintaining good order and a tidy appearance in store, I also organised the traded in games in the same manner as the newly delivered games.

I enjoyed my job and the workplace culture due to it being simulating and busy, with pleasant and helpful colleges to talk and work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environment that encourages teamwork and togetherness
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey9 November 2018
Very customer orientated sales role with lots of customer interaction both one on one or in groups. An interest in games is beneficial for both knowledge and passion of the products but also key with interacting with the customers. There are however both store and individual targets orientated around sales but managers and experienced staff are always there to aid your growth for yourself and for the store.
Pros
discount, awesome customer interactions and conversations from like-minded individuals, friendly atmosphere
Cons
specific products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Southport2 November 2018
Learnt a lot of Retail skills here. I did a two week placement here. Had to do a lot of customer service but gained some valuable knowledge and experience. Lots of friendly customers and friendly staff. Had a good time while learning how retail works.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, constantly changing workplace
Sales Adviser (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen31 October 2018
This really is a good job if you are into gaming and have good customer service skills. You will be talking with customers about all things gaming related while using your own knowledge to help them as best you can. The management are understanding and passionate about their jobs. Your colleagues on average are great people to work with and the added bonuses you get for working in GAME really are great.

The only downside is the lack of hours available due to the small size of the stores. This job is great for students or part-time work seekers, but not for someone who needs a stable income.
Pros
Good staff discounts, Fun working environment
Cons
Poor hours throughout the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but incredibly busy.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenock29 October 2018
Lots of pressure to meet sales targets such as disc/cartridge care, console care, controller and accessory cares, as well as upselling special and deluxe editions of games over standard editions, and pushing attaches such as season passes or in-game points (COD/Fifa/Shark cards/etc).
Pros
Fun working environment, great co-workers, lots of benefits and discounts.
Cons
No commission pay, insanely busy, pressure to upsell and meet sales targets, ridiculous individual targets to reach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members and lunch cafe
DC Operator (Former Employee) –  basingstoke UK23 October 2018
I enjoyed working in the warehouse and being part of the repairs team in the warehouse. Worked with mobile phones and tablets ensuring they meet the criteria to be sent out to the local stores and sold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands23 October 2018
Great place to work, great products and great customer service, nice environment to speak with same minded people such as gamers who share the same passion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite fun and light job
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Basingstoke22 October 2018
I have been working there for nearly 2 years. This one was light job as mostly i worked in returns department and scanned returned stock with JDA. Pay rate was a minimum, but this place is quite enjoyable.
Pros
2 breaks, free coffee, xbox/playstation/wiiU and wii stations during break, free pool table, soccer table
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Arena Specialist and Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norwich21 October 2018
Great place and great working environment, very easy to make new friends. You don't have to be a hardcore gamer to work there, but knowledge of games and tech helps.
Pros
Flexible, Knowledge learnt
Cons
Pay Rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the stress
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom20 October 2018
I loved working for the company despite the low hours and pay because I genuinely enjoyed the environment and communicating with customers. However after a shift one day I was dismissed at the end of it with no prior warning, leaving me suddenly jobless.

The sales targets are the most ridiculous I've ever known. Dismissal was due to low sales targets of disc care, accessory care and console care (which no one ever wants, even the staff admit they don't buy these).

You also get the rota a day before the new work week starts which gives you very little time to plan the week ahead and no time to plan ahead of that.

The low hours, low pay, ridiculous sales targets are not worth the stress. Honestly surprised the company is still up and running.
Pros
Good atmosphere, meeting great people
Cons
Low hours, low pay, unrealistic sales targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place at times, pay lacks and very target driven
Assistant Manager at Game Bullring 0661 (Current Employee) –  Bullring, West Midlands18 October 2018
I love the people i work with, the company is great at times, others not so much. very target driven company which is fine but staff who deliver are never rewarded for any of the sales. its hard to get the proper motivation when there isnt a reward at the end. when you have to learn as much as you do at game and constantly having to up sell and attach it gets very exhausting, and even when you do manage to hit a target it feels so underwhelming. The company asks a lot of their staff, and its not like the pay is any better either. i feel massively underpaid for what i do. 35 hour week can feel like a 60 hour week as you need to learn lots and do e-learning courses at home too. (you dont get paid for them) so not only do you devote yourself at work you have to at home too. Like i said the people are great i love my manager i love my team, just not the company so much. they need to focus on taking more care of their staff. After all we are the ones making them the money.
Pros
people, gaming industry
Cons
low pay, high demand, overly target driven, no sense of achievement, unsociable work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, but Simple
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands14 October 2018
The work is easy to learn, but can be difficult to execute with heavy footfall. The company places great emphasis on add-on sales, so a persuasive personality is advantageous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot of life skills but the enjoyment wears off
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bracknell10 October 2018
After being in the company for two years, I can definitely express my gratitude for teaching me many valuable skills. I am now more knowledgeable when it comes to how phones work and how to repair them (software repairs), I feel this will come in handy in the future.

However, after about 6 months it became apparent that it was going to be very difficult to ever advance in the company, as well as the fact the hours were very very limited.
Pros
Discounts on games
Cons
Slim chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crawley2 October 2018
The weekends were usually very busy and during the week it was a bit quieter during school time. There would be a lot of talking with customers to help them either find the right game or console deal to suit them. There would often also be a lot of organising the store to keep it neat and tidy but also keeping it up to date with the new deals.
I learned a lot of organisational skills as well as customer service skills and problem solving.

Hardest part of the job would be time management as, during the weekends especially, it would get very busy on tills and you would have a queue but you would also need to be assisting the customer in front of you with their queries.

The team was the most enjoyable part of the job as it was easy to get along with everyone and tried to assist each when help was needed.
Pros
Good teamwork
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GAME. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 577 reviews
5204
4212
3108
230
123

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture