Galliford Try Employee Reviews

Found 81 reviews matching the search See all 83 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambienbte de trabajo
Site engineer (Current Employee) –  Rugby16 May 2019
Buena organizacion a la hora de repartirlas tareas
Pros
Pension privada y coche de empresa
Cons
Un descanso de media hora
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no consistency
Contracts Administrator (Current Employee) –  ABERDEEN25 April 2019
Wish I had never left my previous position much happier than I was here, I learned to trust no one the hardest part not having anyone at all to talk to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Manager (Former Employee) –  National17 April 2019
Poor company, poor culture, with an often corrupt leadership base. Alleged core values that were simply cheap words and empty of merit. Happy to have left.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Everthing else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great for progression
Administrator (Current Employee) –  North East28 March 2019
There was poor progression routes for administrators, they are not taken very seriously when it comes to their career opportunities within the company and almost feel their desires to progress are dismissed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not equitable
Finance (Former Employee) –  London11 March 2019
Promotion, roles, not transparent. Senior management do well, regardless of performance. Not the same for others.

The gap in pay between junior managers and senior managers is large.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stansted15 February 2019
GallifordTry is involved with lots of infratructure and civil projects. its a good company to work for with lots of learning opportunities, communication level was good at levels
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Certificate Administrator (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen4 February 2019
The best job in my life with a safe and friendly environment. It’s been a great project to work on. It was a remarkable experience and I'm so proud to have been part of.
Pros
flexebility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Spirit
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cheshire23 January 2019
Great team spirit. Would have liked progression opportunities but none available at the time. Would have welcomed more training opportunities in house or externally
Pros
Holidays
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place
Quantity Surveyor (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester21 January 2019
I have never worked at a nastier place. Most but not all are impossible to work with as a team. Its dog eat dog and everyone is out to stitch everyone up
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Galliford Try
Sub agent (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 January 2019
A poor business unit that was full of wonderful very frustrated people. I worked there for over 10 years and formed many professinal relationships . I Was proud to work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly office environment
Site Clerk (Current Employee) –  Highland7 January 2019
Friendly environment and you're immediately made to feel like part of the team.
However the travel involved is an unavoidable issue which is probably the worst part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
Gateman (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen / Dyce6 January 2019
not a bad job to boring for me i lie to be busy
made redundant at end of job on AWPR
long working hours
management we ok to work for
meeting new friends
Pros
good friends made
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promised alot but not conducive environment to work
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Oaklands, UK26 December 2018
Busy working environment
Work load not structured
Learned new systems
Management do not recognise and appreciate commitment and hard work
Regiment/Robotic environment
Limited "Hot desk"
Great facilities at head office
Pros
New head office facilities
Cons
Expenses not readily rewarded as promised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for
Electrical Site Agent (Former Employee) –  Salford21 November 2018
Management poor with respect to having a person with one trade trying to control another trade, and the fact that the do not stick to their own polices
Pros
good variety of work
Cons
Away working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team but needs some changes
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Cornwall20 November 2018
More time needs to be spent listening to staff that are lower down the chain to improve turnover.
A good team and growing company but needs an improvement in morale and management.
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Lack of promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Site Premises Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 November 2018
Average day consisted of the day to day management of a school. Was ok as a job but due to workers feeling they were hard done by and management not really having any great management skills it wasn't the best place to work.
Pros
none
Cons
lack of credible management presence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
PROJECT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Glasgow15 October 2018
The main workforce within the ESD JV is very high quality, working within a challenging environment. Unfortunately the senior managers struggle with providing clear guidance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Efficient, Positive and Impressive
Undergraduate Student Civil Engineering (Former Employee) –  Swansea1 October 2018
During the summertime placement with Galliford Try I was constantly surrounded by staff who were there to help with any of my needs and/or questions.
I rapidly developed my understanding of engineering during this placement which in turn fuelled my passion for the field and also proved advantageous once returning to university the following academic year.
Pros
Friday lunch together and free
Cons
Unforseen Long Hours (Inevitable in the construction industry)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fcbc
Scaffolder (Current Employee) –  Fife27 September 2018
Apart from my own gaffa, the job its self is run by idiots.
The first few years the over time was there when ever you wanted it. But since the bridge has opened the over time has been taken away and it’s just your bare hours.
Pros
The people I work with
Cons
The gaffas in charge apart from my own boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Based in Wolvey
Bid Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham18 September 2018
small team of professionals
40 hours working
25 days holiday
Wolvey office in nice rural village location but near to junction 2 of M6.
Discounted canteen facilities on site
Pros
discounted canteen facilities on site
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Galliford Try. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 83 reviews
527
421
314
210
111

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture