G4S Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company to work for
Prisoner Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  Glasgow20 February 2018
Very high staff turnover due to lack of mmanagement skills, not a manager between any of them. No work life balance, forced overtime and bullying. No care and No justice towards staff. Wages are always wrong, that's if you get paid them. Drivers forced to break the EU driving rules on a daily basis. Runs off the 'pals act', if your face fits.
Cons
forced overtime, bullying, wrong wages, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Contract Accountant (Current Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London17 February 2018
I started at G4S with very little knowledge of accounting but in time developed a wide understanding of accounting and the process that are involved. I had a very helpful and understanding managers who not only made me feel like part of a family. The job was very flexible in that you can work from home. However I felt there is no real progression and they tend to hire from outside rather than promote from within.
Pros
Working From Home and Fantastic and very understanding managers
Cons
No real progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great working enviroment
Second Line Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire17 February 2018
Full installation and maintenance of ATM machines for Tesco, NatWest, RBS, Lloyds Bank and Halifax. ATM models supported were Wincor 1500, 2000 range and NCR 5000, 6000 range. Completed full Wincor and NCR courses and gained hands training. Also upgrades from old to new platforms mainly XP and support for engineers when required. Meet break/fix deadlines on a continuous day to day basis, covering agreed customer SLA’s.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unacceptable and illegal working practices.
Secure Care Officer (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes16 February 2018
Unacceptable and illegal working practices. Officer safety is minimal with risk of assault very high.
Officers expected to work 15 hour shifts with no break.
Management very poor and unprofessional towards staff.
On occasion staff are refused permission to leave after shift basically held against their will.
Staff treatment poor and often suspended without justification.
Food inedible and unhygienic.
Recent Ofsted report stated centre was WHOLLY INADEQUATE and deteriorating.
Nothing more to be said then that!
Pros
Time off and salary.
Cons
15hr+ shifts, no proper break, no personal safety, assaults on staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good comradeship
Driver (Current Employee) –  Midlands10 February 2018
Hours are aweful, start 3 4 or 5 am. Work to many weekends. Disciplinaries given out out like penny lollies. Workload too heavy & unrealistic. Vehicles and equipment unreliable.
Pros
Paid breaks.
Cons
Early starts, heavy workload, inefficient poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Security Manager (Current Employee) –  East Sussex7 February 2018
G4S is a very good company to work for, they look after their employees, their careers and their welfare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for
Care Officer (Current Employee) –  Suffolk4 February 2018
its an ok company to work for I am mainly left alone by management and they are contactable. However they are not very flexible to your needs leave needs to be booked a year in advance if you want it
Pros
left alone by management
Cons
no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
North Tyneside Customer Service and Admin (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear2 February 2018
I can see some people really loving working here but I found the fact that it was very target driven to be quite difficult. I was put on a team that had an insane amount of work to be done on a daily basis and found it really hard to keep up with things, there was so much information handed to me and although I was given a day of training it really wasn't enough and I felt very much like I was drowning in the work. The staff were overall nice but it seemed to me to be a fairly cliquey type environment, and so that along with how busy you were meant it was difficult to form any kind of work relationship unless you already knew people there, which I didnt. I found that the management was not very supportive or understanding, but that they were very favourable to the members of staff that the liked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Prisoner custody officer (Former Employee) –  Rugby2 February 2018
Former prison officer in Rugby. I enjoyed my job at the start but then you start seeing “if your face fits” promotions. I worked for them for a lot of years, never had a disciplinary, was never in trouble and worked all the extra hours they asked of me, I put them before my family on occasions, one small mistake and I was suspended and sacked. No loyalty with this company.
Pros
None
Cons
Management are corrupt
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all good
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  London31 January 2018
First day of the work was very hard
I learned how to use the radio phonetics alphabets
Management is good
The site I am working on people are not good
Some time people don't respect
Supervisor is very funny.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away...If you value your sanity
Cardboard cut out (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow30 January 2018
Job demoralizing, management is atrocious. No opportunities of advancement with your career.

Your just a number at the end of the day.

If you have no diginity or integrity then this jobs for you.
Pros
None
Cons
The whole structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've got to book my holiday 16months in advance for it to be turned down 'to many people off site
Customer Care Officer (Current Employee) –  Brighton29 January 2018
Never see management no new uniforms having to book my holidays at least 10-16 months in advance to be told no as to many guards of site or in the area at one time
Pros
Regular work
Cons
Have to book holiday a year and half in advance for it to be turned down to many people of site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Lucozade Ribena Suntory - Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire29 January 2018
poor management no leadership or management skills or support for employees. Managent not worried about contract ireally need to be more proactive than reactive.,
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here long hours as custody officer and poor management
Detainee Custody Officer (Former Employee) –  Gatwick Airport, West Sussex26 January 2018
Very long hours start at 0745 and if your lucky finished at 2130. Poor management and low staff morale.
Loved the job but too many changes and very high staff turnover which leads to short staffed.
Potential to get hurt/injuries for not much money.
Pros
None
Cons
Management and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer support
Security guard/customer support officer (Current Employee) –  Belfast26 January 2018
"your just a bum on a seat", make you pay for your own license, ly in month, when contracts come up for review its generally cuts in staff or your hours as they cant legally pay you any less. like all companies profit goes to the top. Multinational company that hasn't the decency to pay you a proper living wage even with huge profits. stick with banks and supermarkets even they now pay a proper living wage hourly rate of £9 at least
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 January 2018
Having worked with G4S London Olympics and Paralympics Wimbledon championship tennis and few corporate site in London meeting new people and different culture and how to respect them

Management always easy to speak and willing to help. worked at Wimbledon championship and i keep going back because of the good experience with customers and staff i had
Pros
free lunch
Cons
12:00 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch General Manager
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim25 January 2018
Enjoyed the job post made redundant due to reduction of cash in cash cycle in NI
During my time in G4S developed and used both leadership and management skills in challenging situations which I believe provide me with the personal attributes, experience and man-management ability to make a major contribution to the future of an organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire24 January 2018
It was originally a career. till. contract take. over. but turned into just a job no matter how much knowledge you had your just a number ,
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn’t understand anything
Secure Driver (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire22 January 2018
Lack of communication with management, Management doesn’t understand the job, Good money but very long hours. Training period is totally useless. Vans are in very bad condition. Overtime is paid the same rate.
Pros
Money
Cons
Management, Long hours, No better rate for overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Driver (Current Employee) –  nine elms19 January 2018
Management are incompetent not a nice place to work not appreciated very stressful only good things are wages and other drivers as we all stick together
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 8,615 reviews
52.2K
42.4K
32.2K
2888
11K

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture