G4S Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay if you're management
Senior Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coventry20 July 2018
G4S work you as though you have no life outside of G4S pressure to work over time when you can't, favours those who can.

Pay is OK average nothing outstanding, no bonuses or incentives to want to work more hours than contracted. Saying that hours of work can be flexible including night shifts.

The people who you work with make it, management tend to have NO management skills what so ever and aren't professional in the slightest!
Pros
Hours can be flexible
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Steward/Security (Former Employee) –  Liverpool19 July 2018
G4S was a company that very much fitted around my lifestyle. It was a as of when contract, so I would only work on the days that I myself chose which was extremely helpful for me whilst studying at University.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
event security
Security / Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Leeds19 July 2018
it was zero hour contract and learned about controlling the crowd and communicating with staff and working has a team, the hardest bit is when it gets busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire18 July 2018
Worked at same place nearly 3 years as a cleaner awful atmosphere with co worker.bad line manager.critisism uncalled for. Job ok but not given enough time to do everything.expected too much for too little.i left after 3 years.had enough.worst company i have ever had the misfortune to work for.
Pros
None
Cons
Just awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managers
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fife18 July 2018
Don't give any thought for disabled workers. send untrained guards to site when regular guards are sick or on holiday. pure monkey management never see line manager dosent answer phone and sometimes will respond to Email
Pros
finding a new job
Cons
poor management rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good training
Secure Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 July 2018
excellent place to work with lots of opportunities to advance your career. learn a lot about all aspects of security and also updating an improving driving and safety skills.
Pros
uniform, equipments
Cons
hours can be long
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Steward/Security (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire17 July 2018
This job allowed me to show my responsibility skills as the employer sometimes put me as a leader of certain places in stadium to keep everything running smoothly. I've stopped fight and stopped individuals from causing problems which shows that if I'm given a job I shall complete it to a high standard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Events
Event Steward (Current Employee) –  Glasgow15 July 2018
Working at events is great, the events are varied from sports to concerts and can involve camping or staying in arranged accommodation around the country
Pros
working at different events all over the country
Cons
Zero hour contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Safety Steward (Current Employee) –  Scotland12 July 2018
They are very friendly and welcoming to new members of staff and are understanding of any problems or worries that you may have. I have learned how to be more confident when talking to larger groups. the most enjoyable part about the job is seeing the crowds enjoyment that you have managed to help them throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reserved
Event Steward (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow10 July 2018
Didn't really have the best of time here to be honest. I never felt fulfilled plus it wasn't the best place for foreigners because the work environment made you feel unwelcome
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero hours keep taking on but not enough work cant run a single shift properly
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester7 July 2018
Worked for these they do not give you shifts and when they do they take them off you without any warning yet they still take people on promising work when they cannot deliver

Every shift i worked on they had zero preparation never telling anyone anything of where to go to start the shift and there breaks are a joke if you think your getting one your not because they find it too much effort to see if you need one

These guys are the most unprofessional company I've ever worked for with no communication whatsoever even the pay ranges randomly from 7.80 to 9.50 with no explanation with every shift giving you a different pay each time
Pros
The best pro is never to work for these
Cons
G4S is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice site to work.
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey4 July 2018
Nice site to work. As a supervisor I was the sole in charge from fixing duties to looking after welfare and managing day to day stuff, it was quite difficult to see the manager. Not much help was available when there was a problem.
Pros
Nil
Cons
Management problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be a good company to work for
aso (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire and Humberside2 July 2018
when i first started with the company it was a good company to work for had loads of diffrent incentives like extra days off for service etc but now every year gets worse the management r all for themselves and not to be trusted and will rob u of every penny they can if uve got kids and want time off in the six weeks holidays u haven't got a chance unless u give them 2 yrs notice or ur a manager the pay is bad for the amount of abuse u get not a good company for employees after the Olympic games shamble
Pros
good hrs in week 8.45 till 5.15
Cons
bad management/very hard to get holidays u want/poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible,great colleagues..
Meet and Greet (Current Employee) –  Southampton21 June 2018
Sometimes long hours, the flexibility of this Zero hours contract is it's greatest advantage, plus the chance to work only later shifts.uniform supplied.
A typical day could involve an early start, helping Guests to find their luggage, manning esculaters,manning level crossings and directing guests to their transport..
Afternoon duties include, Booking Guests on to their cruises using computers to record passport details etc. Handling queues, directing guests to the appropriate areas.
Often you are working several hours on the computer without a break.
The most enjoyable thing is working as a team, the comaraderie is second to none.
Pros
Uniform and Flexibility.
Cons
Time spent on your feet of sitting at a computer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
SECURITY CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSISTANT/DRIVER (Former Employee) –  nine elms19 June 2018
Working for G4S for 18 years has been good but also stressful
due to security risks I have experienced over the years.
Start of day consists of going into the depot, collecting vehicle keys from the control office. I would spend 10/15 minutes checking vehicle and other necessary requirements.
Reversing into the loading bays and loading up and getting ready for
the start of my working day.
My daily duties would involve collection of money from various stores
including banks and also delivering large sums of money and
jewellery to various stores and banks.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers, appreciation and recognition established over the
years.
Pros
Pay and customer interaction
Cons
Risks element of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior management are good commuinicators, HR are deplorable
Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  Scotland17 June 2018
7am start, sign out keys for vehicle. carry out vehicle inspection as per company requirements. cell area checks for contraband.weapons etc.

Depart base to a police station or an HMP establishment to transfer police custodies or convicted prisoners to court,
Funerals,Home visits, Childrens Hearings,Hospital Appointments.

All custdodies subject to a wand and seach procedure.

An authorotive however understanding approach works best.

Commuinication with senior members of staff is paramount.

Teamwork and commuinication with all concerned,ie,
Police,Prison staff, Lawyers,social work department,Docters,Nursing staff to name a few.

Control and Restraint when required is the hardest part of the job.

During my 13 years in this position I have traveled all over the United Kingdom, I have met many people from all walks of life.
This has been an education to say the least and has made me the person I am today.
Pros
Life Experiance
Cons
Long hours, Hostile Enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, but not without failings
Events Safety Steward (Former Employee) –  Liverpool15 June 2018
I signed up for G4S in March of 2107, and to their credit, the recruitment process was actually very rapid and convenient.

Work life was as expected and was challenging but mostly fun. Problems lie within the management, standards deviate depending on where you work and you will find that there are times when you are left alone for long periods of time with no further instruction or without breaks. And often many managers treat stewards like second class citizens and will punish the smallest mistakes with sometimes unreasonable severity.

Despite this however, it remains a decent paying job, however, actually finding shifts becomes a challenge, especially in the latter months of the year when little is going on.
Pros
Decent pay, challenging enough that every shift is unique, there is a chance to meet many different types of people
Cons
management is not ideal, not a job for people who don't like lots of standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is certainly not a fun place to work, having to deal on a regular basis of many people who suffer mental breakdowns
Customer care officer (Current Employee) –  Bromley jobcentre8 June 2018
Overall there is a lack of understanding of the security officers needs, working and personal life. Working in jobcentres, is very tiring, even so, the breaks are paid, but very limited time off for lunch breaks, embarrassing having to finish off eating on floor , place of work, on many occasions.
Pros
Job Monday to Friday
Cons
Very poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  East Sussex6 June 2018
This role was extremely challenging at times, dealing with all types of different people in various places including lewes prison and Brighton job centre.
Pros
Good colleagues
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Rotherham26 May 2018
A very fast paced company but is very focused on giving opportunities to move forward, the company will give the opportunities but it is incumbent on you to drive your own career path.

There has been a period of change due to evolving customer demands within a changing shopping habits, these changes make some challenging times but overall is future proofing the business to ensure that we can keep up.
Pros
Great Career Progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report