G4S Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer support
Security guard/customer support officer (Current Employee) –  Belfast26 January 2018
"your just a bum on a seat", make you pay for your own license, ly in month, when contracts come up for review its generally cuts in staff or your hours as they cant legally pay you any less. like all companies profit goes to the top. Multinational company that hasn't the decency to pay you a proper living wage even with huge profits. stick with banks and supermarkets even they now pay a proper living wage hourly rate of £9 at least
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 January 2018
Having worked with G4S London Olympics and Paralympics Wimbledon championship tennis and few corporate site in London meeting new people and different culture and how to respect them

Management always easy to speak and willing to help. worked at Wimbledon championship and i keep going back because of the good experience with customers and staff i had
Pros
free lunch
Cons
12:00 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch General Manager
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim25 January 2018
Enjoyed the job post made redundant due to reduction of cash in cash cycle in NI
During my time in G4S developed and used both leadership and management skills in challenging situations which I believe provide me with the personal attributes, experience and man-management ability to make a major contribution to the future of an organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire24 January 2018
It was originally a career. till. contract take. over. but turned into just a job no matter how much knowledge you had your just a number ,
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn’t understand anything
Secure Driver (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire22 January 2018
Lack of communication with management, Management doesn’t understand the job, Good money but very long hours. Training period is totally useless. Vans are in very bad condition. Overtime is paid the same rate.
Pros
Money
Cons
Management, Long hours, No better rate for overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Driver (Current Employee) –  nine elms19 January 2018
Management are incompetent not a nice place to work not appreciated very stressful only good things are wages and other drivers as we all stick together
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 day week
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Manchester16 January 2018
This job is very easy but you have to keep your mind active, otherwise you will end up failing as it us very easy to become complacent in this line of work.
Pros
4 day week
Cons
Not very good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
G4S Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Manchester16 January 2018
Overall G4S is a nice vibrant team to work with, you get to travel the country and attend different events, you can meet new people from all sorts of backgrounds that all work as part of the same team.
Pros
Travelling
Cons
nothing to work up too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im not recomended this place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Rosyth, Fife16 January 2018
I wasnt treat properly when i was pregnant. Managment doesnt care about stuff. i enjoyed admnistration part of the role. I didnt like reception part, because is customer service and i didnt like it.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment
Prison Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  HMP Ryehill15 January 2018
Not a bad company to work for but I do feel that promotion is done purely by the old boy network and friends helping friends! Generally everyone is friendly and supportive but progression is the main problem
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
No progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Mobile Response Officer (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire12 January 2018
There was no management directly working out of the office I worked at, and the other drivers were not very respectful of their colleagues or managers
Pros
independently run
Cons
no line management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Security Officer (Tideway Project) (Former Employee) –  Sutton11 January 2018
Nice place to work I recommend everyone to apply in G4s it's a good company. I worked in G4s for about 7 years and I found it a good place to work. I must recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. Very professional. New building.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Guernsey7 January 2018
I worked on the facilities management team which means I visited site a lot. I also spent a lot of time in the office sending emails, financial spreadsheets and project forecasts. I moved up the ladder quickly and was always fulfilled in my role. Great people, honest company and a brand new office.
Pros
1 hour for lunch. Early finish on Fridays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire6 January 2018
Security is a very serious business with G4S and there is no compromise. Focus is also on getting the security officers with the right attitude and mindset to fill the roles. Although bullying is not tolerated, there are still few cases as well as management processes that addresses them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long term employment
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London3 January 2018
good company for job security. I work a 9-5 position which suits my availability and so I have a good work/ life balance. there are sufficient break times and good management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I clean and do tea round and love to talk to patients
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bdgh2 January 2018
I love my job but hrs do not suit me anymore so would like a change they are having a big shake up with hrs and shifts as I have a 6 and 5 year old I need hrs that sort me
Pros
Good company to work for
Cons
Wrong hrs for me not eungthe hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but boring
Customer Service Executive (Former Employee) –  Suttom2 January 2018
Boring work.

Shocking salaries and management when I worked there, have heard it is better now though.

Strict micro managing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4s the worst
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  North East29 December 2017
The job itself is very easy to get to grips with. (obviously depending on what job you are doing) But G4S are the worst company I've ever worked for. Every policy is designed to rob you of any money/benefits, and all the managers seem to only be invested in your career if it helps themselves.

Countless times I have had to go over my managers head to make sure I paid the correct amount.

Constantly having to cover my own back as if I make one mistake, i pay for it out of my own pocket.
Pros
Cant think of any at the moment
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun experience
Steward (Former Employee) –  London29 December 2017
it was a fun experience seeing live events for free. Also ensuring that everybody got to and from an event in a safe way. Another aspect of this job that was refreshing was the amount of people who enjoyed the event with no hassle
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start out with they gave me big opportunities working in a vast range of environments from events to Government contracts.
DS security (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 December 2017
I experienced a good working relationship with management & never found it hard to voice concerns & I enjoyed the team I worked with London & outter London.
Pros
Free lunch was some times provided depending on location, if working out of London free lunch breakfast & dinners also travel
Cons
Long hour but goes with the nature of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 8,205 reviews
52.1K
42.2K
32.1K
2857
1959

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture