G4S Employee Reviews

Found 1,093 reviews matching the search See all 10,102 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking company.. Nooo communication at all
Securiry (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire30 September 2018
Absolutley shocking! Went for interview in May.. They paid for train travel, hotel for a 4 day course. SIA badge . Still waiting for a start date! Yes we are now nearly in October! Absolutley NO Communication at all.. I've now got sick of phoning and emailing them.. So id take it as i will not pay back my SIA licence and for everything they paid for my training.. Please stay away from G4S.. Experienced problems right from the start! Everyone i spoke to had the same problem.. Stay clear.. Unfortunately I had to give 1 star for me to write a review if there was a zero thats what i would have gave.. Appalling communication skills and utter mess ups all the time
Pros
Paid for my SIA and all my 4day training.. Travel.. Hotel.. Food.. Brekfast..
Cons
Horrendous communication need new management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Westminster30 September 2018
G4S plc is a British multinational security services company headquartered in London, England. The company was set up in 2004 when London-based company Securicor amalgamated with Danish business Group 4 Falc
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tewkesbury27 September 2018
Shoddy work ethic and awful staff who just ruin the company with their awful standards and no fuel allowance and really strict with everything. Really hated it
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Steward/Security (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 September 2018
The worst company I've ever worked for, management are absolutely terrible, I was emailed the day before a shift at 9:30pm regarding work details, was back and fourth with my pay because they put it into a wrong account, even when you think you've registered for work you haven't been. The worst company there is absolutely nothing good about it all this headache for £8.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
Steward Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire26 September 2018
I got to work bright and early one morning to find that my boss had left me the keys to the stadium to open up before him and to get all the uniforms ready for the rest of the staff that was working that day .
Pros
free passes to town games
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable environment in which you are kept busy.
Mobility Assistant (Current Employee) –  Southampton24 September 2018
Follow the plan as given by the team manager.

Learnt, customer service and looking after wheelchair users.

Management, they are there when needed.

Work place culture, fast paced with a deadline.

Hardest part, nothing comes to mind.

Most enjoyable part, a busy day with hardly any complaints.
Pros
Close to home, Tips
Cons
0 hour contract
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Security officer (Current Employee) –  South20 September 2018
Worst security job,no communication,no flexibility, minimum wage for front line role putting your life in danger, just white shirt and number,
No progression .The Company is more interested in keeping high paying Governmement contract rather than welfare of officers. Does not pay for illness and they dock your pay if you need a dental or doctors appointment. Holidays are first come first serve based
Pros
Pay on time
Cons
Poor pay rate, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply for a job with G4s they are full of crooks and lying scum
Security guard (Former Employee) –  Scotland19 September 2018
Most of there guards are over weight and unfit so don't expect any back up if things kick off most times a would try to eject a person the other G4s guards would hide and say they never heard any thing plus most of the managers are all pals act so if your looking for promotion prospects there none all a can say is DO NOT APPLY FOR G4S JOBS IF YOU LIKE YOUR HEALTH
Pros
When its time to go home thats if they let you
Cons
None what so ever, please take my advice, dont work for them, you will regret it, and if your reading some good reviews there fake and posted by there HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother
Cash in Transit Driver (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire15 September 2018
Rate of pay is good but you break your back for it.. literally!
Very active job that’ll keep you fit and you’ll be lucky to do a minimum of a 12 hour day and with no set time to finish!
Management is very poor they couldn’t careless about the drivers and just sit in there office doing nothing all day.
Vans are taped together with duct tape and regularly break down, in hot weather quite often drivers are sent out in vans with no air-conditioning.
Place is a joke, don’t bother!!
Pros
Work mates
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant job, I enjoyed it.
Prison Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  Rugby, Warwickshire12 September 2018
Job culture wasn’t that great but overall the job was excellent.
Pay is brilliant at £23,000 rising every year of about £130-£300 a year .whilst for HMP starter is £22,396.
Overtime is always available at £21-£23 an hour and you can have as many as you want. So on average I did 45hrs a week inc a couple of hours overtime.

Shifts I got are quite good with on average 4/7 days worked with a mixture of 4-11hrs a day. You have to do 39hrs.

Made a few great friends in the job and I’d recommend it to a person who wants a mixture of their job.
Pros
Good pay and good friends made.
Cons
Hours are varied l you could do 6-4 one day and 9-3 the next
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff mostly good but managment bit lacking in expertise
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Silverlink11 September 2018
good employer. Managers keep changing over the years so keeps things fresh. local branch is at leeds. Paid monthly on 15th of the month. G4S does not do building sites or stuff that lesser companies go for.contracts are bit more prestigious
Pros
Staff details, rosta's and payslips all online
Cons
not so many sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account management
Account Director, Thames Tideway Tunnel Project (Current Employee) –  London, UK3 September 2018
Key Account management of a large contract. Very busy project with multiple requirement and constant juggling of priorities. Customer facing and dealing with customers was excellent and progressive. A great role and project, with excellent people who want to do a great job.
Pros
Busy exciting and changing environment
Cons
24/7 business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  JPMorgan Bournemouth1 September 2018
G4S chaseside JPMorgan is the worst company and management by Far , everybody is miserable there and management do everything to make your life miserable they think of you slave not more than that so harrasment is their daily routine.so never work for them if you don't want to be psycho .
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London Heathrow Airport30 August 2018
Its a good experiences to work G4S company. I have learnt a lot about Security , safety, challenging with the customers. I had join the company from France. I was working at CDG airport in France. Then i got transferred to London Heathrow. I took the challenge to come to UK and working at Heathrow Airport.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Officer (Current Employee) –  Bridgwater, Somerset28 August 2018
4 days on 4 days off gives you family life but if you want overtime its easy to get.


Good job prospect.

Very large team; you work within a shift.

30 days holiday.
Cons
Longs hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Area Service delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 August 2018
G4S has good intentions but can't deliver.They work on a minimal cheap budget and can not meet there targets frontline staff are amazing but have to work with very little support
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Recruitment Officer (Former Employee) –  Gloucester28 August 2018
Great people to work with across a number of contracts and locations. Variety of positions available though this does depend on where you are living.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Little opportunity to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Least capable company ever worked for.
MANAGER - Corporate banking contract (Former Employee) –  London28 August 2018
Company strategy has no obvious flexibility and therefore doesn't work well in environments not fully controlled by the company. Support is weak for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry23 August 2018
Great company to work for, management is so easy to get on with ever any issues they are more than willing to help out as best they can. Can be long hours to work at times but all in all working with other staff passes the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 August 2018
Very flexible and good management, great work culture, amazing benefits and pay rates, great rewards and incentives, great ways of progression and development
Pros
Free Uniform
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,103 reviews
52.6K
42.7K
32.5K
21K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture