G4S Employee Reviews for Steward

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good experience
G4S steward (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh26 March 2018
I learnt a lot of skills working for G4S as it was my first official job, working for them really boosted my confidence in talking to different people but also ask for help if I need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
SIA event steward (Current Employee) –  Glasgow12 March 2018
learn a great respect on customer care
after 5 years with the company
each shift is different - met some fantastic people
if you dont like standing for long hours then this job is not for you
Cons
long hours - not many breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun experience
Steward (Former Employee) –  London29 December 2017
it was a fun experience seeing live events for free. Also ensuring that everybody got to and from an event in a safe way. Another aspect of this job that was refreshing was the amount of people who enjoyed the event with no hassle
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Steward (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 December 2017
It was a good job. The staff were friendly. I was able to chose my own working hours. I had the opportunity to experience a wide range of events in the UK.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Steward (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne13 October 2017
enjoyed the job because the job involved a lot travel.
because of this, i know many places in the UK.
the payment was not bad, but because of lot of travel ,there should be a travel expenses. this is my opinion
Pros
noon
Cons
noon
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Safety Steward (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside12 October 2017
long hours but good fun and social side to work!!. met some ok people when working meet people up and down the country, overall quite good money isnt great though
Pros
social side
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Experience
Safety Steward (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh25 September 2017
Lovely people very friendly and funny, make the day go by very quick, flexible work for safety stewards, well paid and enjoyable. Good for part time work on the side.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good for University students
Steward (Former Employee) –  Douglas, Isle of Man8 September 2017
Cameraderie formed with other job workers.

G4S gives decent training to those who are interested in working for them. My job allowed me to work flexibly and meet other students which made the time worth while. The wage I received for an 18 year old was more than appreciated.
Pros
Good team members
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but rewarding at times
Events Steward (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 September 2017
having worked here for 3 years i got to experience a lot off different enviroments.
football games, concerts, festivals and other various events.

Working football matches was quite fun as you got to interact a lot more with the general public.

the hardest part of the job was all the travelling.. we sometimes went up to glasgow for football matches or edinburgh for hogmanay
Pros
some of the staff are great
Cons
long travel, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job as a student
Safety Steward (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh22 June 2017
Fantastic job. I got to meet some great people and had some brilliant experiences. I gained lots of exposure of working in a busy environment. The management were very helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Steward (Former Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London8 June 2017
We are given specific roles for the day and we have to stick to them naturally. We get given good shift hours and good pay rate, so it's definitely a good company to work for. The hardest part is probably the long hours, but it will be worth it. There is a decent staff area to have your breaks. Overall, the company is definitely good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
events steward (Former Employee) –  london27 May 2017
requires work ethic and determination to get the work done. i learnt how to manage different personalities. work was intense and everyday was different
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of fun
Security Steward (Olympic and Paralympic Games) (Former Employee) –  varies22 May 2017
it was most enjoyable time of my life despite the tiredness. the staff were polite and very friendly. the management was sport on. meeting the most famous people in the world. the meals were great. the venues were great. the uniforms was very colourful. I loved in . the journeys were easy and enjoyable. am very grateful to have worked for them. I will recommend them to anyone who want to work for them.
Pros
free meals
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new things every time
Safety Steward (Current Employee) –  Glasgow14 May 2017
good helpful people , friendly environment, different evens therefore learns transferable skills. every day of every event,
culture very diverse
hardest part of job standing for long but you get breaks now and then so it is not all too bad
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun To Work for
Safety Steward (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 May 2017
You would start of by being put in a position , for the said assignment of the day , whether be it an foot ball event or working in a TV studio. Your objective is safety of Others , and to provide a exception experience for members. The managers for the Manchester base of work are great and easy to get along with, compliant to needs and great mentors. Any one looking to gain customer service skills should apply.
Pros
flexibe working hours
Cons
maybe sometimes not enough work when you need it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security/steward
Security/Steward (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 April 2017
Great company to work for, was able to attend many events and no two days were ever the same. Some days you had the greatest friendly patrons and others i was faced with difficult situations but was able to diffuse correctly due to the substantial training i had beforehand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job for students
Event Steward (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh5 April 2017
To work here full time however is impossible. Constantly made to stand on feet for hours upon end without break, being shouted at by management if you sit, even if it is not in the view of the public. There are development opportunities but they also force a mandatory college course that takes 3 months to complete (FOR A ZERO HOUR CONTRACT) that offers no pay benefits, other than the fact that they can refuse you work if you don't complete it.
Pros
can select when to work
Cons
long hours, low pay, management issues, work rights abused
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and bad
Security Steward (Former Employee) –  west of Scotland3 February 2017
west of Scotland is very difficult to get enough hours of work ( without traveling 30+ miles for a 5 hour shift) but yet it seems like most events are understaffed and mismanaged, very few positions/shifts that are decent to work at, most are very demoralising
Pros
sign up to work shifts you like
Cons
working conditions and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor contact related training and help
Steward (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, Midlothian29 January 2017
Train yourself online in your own time source work and get to your destination. transport help if you're local but get there by your own cost.

The company pay is poor with no help or costs. walk away with £21 for three and a half hours work and one hour travel so fuel and cost to take of this with own time to travel included Great way to get into work or benefit street
Pros
stay a while then move onto benefits great for new people from afar
Cons
all food and travel and time you pay fpr
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Steward (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 January 2017
plenty of opportunities. can pick when and where you want to work. Given free training. Can have other jobs as well to pick up extra money. Free uniform
Pros
Free uniform and training
Cons
constant contact. Sometimes barraged with emails or txts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report