G4S Employee Reviews for Security Officer

Found 265 reviews matching the search See all 10,112 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
G4S Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Glasgow17 November 2018
I work here and I think it as grate staff are amazing and so are mangment I love the events we go to and work at and the fun we have but I also enjoy how fast the job can go from 0 to 100 in a second
Pros
its fun
Cons
not proppere hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security officer Cumbria
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Cumbria10 November 2018
Supervisor great guy. Higher management shocking. Pig ignorant no respect for staff. Any issues keep them to yourself as they are ignored anyways. Tuped to this company and was in a job I actually previously enjoyed. This bunch of jokers ruined the job for us all. Unless your a yes man / woman you won’t fit in. If you have an opinion you’ll be out as fast as your feet can touch the ground. Sadly they don’t care your a number nothing more.
Management are the company killer in this company there attitude towards staff is disgusting and they shouldn’t be allowed to demoralise people the way they do.
Don’t waste you time go somewhere you’ll be respected
Pros
4 on 4 off in some jobs
Cons
Management. Treat staff disgustingly
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Westminster30 September 2018
G4S plc is a British multinational security services company headquartered in London, England. The company was set up in 2004 when London-based company Securicor amalgamated with Danish business Group 4 Falc
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Security officer (Current Employee) –  South20 September 2018
Worst security job,no communication,no flexibility, minimum wage for front line role putting your life in danger, just white shirt and number,
No progression .The Company is more interested in keeping high paying Governmement contract rather than welfare of officers. Does not pay for illness and they dock your pay if you need a dental or doctors appointment. Holidays are first come first serve based
Pros
Pay on time
Cons
Poor pay rate, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff mostly good but managment bit lacking in expertise
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Silverlink11 September 2018
good employer. Managers keep changing over the years so keeps things fresh. local branch is at leeds. Paid monthly on 15th of the month. G4S does not do building sites or stuff that lesser companies go for.contracts are bit more prestigious
Pros
Staff details, rosta's and payslips all online
Cons
not so many sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  JPMorgan Bournemouth1 September 2018
G4S chaseside JPMorgan is the worst company and management by Far , everybody is miserable there and management do everything to make your life miserable they think of you slave not more than that so harrasment is their daily routine.so never work for them if you don't want to be psycho .
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry23 August 2018
Great company to work for, management is so easy to get on with ever any issues they are more than willing to help out as best they can. Can be long hours to work at times but all in all working with other staff passes the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 August 2018
Very flexible and good management, great work culture, amazing benefits and pay rates, great rewards and incentives, great ways of progression and development
Pros
Free Uniform
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours & No career advancement.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland10 August 2018
I have been working for G4S for nearly a year now, and one thing you are promised is a healthy work and social life balance, that is not true, my slow week is 58 hours and my longest can be 60-70 hours, this is all on minimum wage as well, my contract is the lowest paid, even though other buildings on the same contract are paid more for doing the exact same job as myself and the other guard(s) in my building.

When you go to the interviewer, he or she rants and raves about how quickly you can move up the ranks in G4S, absolute lies, you are stuck where you are until you are no longer required. I have worked with people who have been with G4S for 15-20 years and have never been offered promotions, or even a chance to advance their career within the company. The job is okay for a stop gap, while you figure out what you want to do, but I would not recommend it as a career builder as you will be stuck like the hundreds of other security officers that have been promised career development. Luckly I am young, and eager so for me G4S is only a stop gap until I finish of other security courses to progress my career.

Management is a shambles, I see my manager once a month, if that. There is no real communication within the workforce, it's hard to even get new uniform.

Unless your moving into a supervisory rule or management role, I would not recommend joining the company, especially if you are young. The job is okay for people nearing retirement age.
Pros
Get to meet interesting people, pay is on time
Cons
Long hours, minimum wage, management is awful, no career development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lasting experience but memorable work place.
FEMALE SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Trafford, Greater Manchester6 August 2018
Always maintaing a good working relationship enforced security related incidents.
Very busy but one must keep alert, and monitor CCTV, intruder detection and fire alarm system.
Safety regulations on site must be adhered by staff at all times.
Pros
opportunity to learn and grow in job position.
Cons
Challenging but positive interaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok ok
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London5 August 2018
Great job for keeping active, however; some expectations are too high for operatives.

Planning from Management Team is very last minute and not well thought through.

Trying to run a service with the smallest budget.

Money good, but not worth the agro that goes with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managers
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fife18 July 2018
Don't give any thought for disabled workers. send untrained guards to site when regular guards are sick or on holiday. pure monkey management never see line manager dosent answer phone and sometimes will respond to Email
Pros
finding a new job
Cons
poor management rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero hours keep taking on but not enough work cant run a single shift properly
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester7 July 2018
Worked for these they do not give you shifts and when they do they take them off you without any warning yet they still take people on promising work when they cannot deliver

Every shift i worked on they had zero preparation never telling anyone anything of where to go to start the shift and there breaks are a joke if you think your getting one your not because they find it too much effort to see if you need one

These guys are the most unprofessional company I've ever worked for with no communication whatsoever even the pay ranges randomly from 7.80 to 9.50 with no explanation with every shift giving you a different pay each time
Pros
The best pro is never to work for these
Cons
G4S is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  East Sussex6 June 2018
This role was extremely challenging at times, dealing with all types of different people in various places including lewes prison and Brighton job centre.
Pros
Good colleagues
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Officer
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  London21 May 2018
The events they handle are amazing. You get to travel to a new location every week so you're exposed to so much more and get a real job satisfaction from that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-so
Area Relief Court Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Greater Manchester23 April 2018
Used to work for them as an Area Relief Security Officer. As long as I worked in local courts it was alright however once asked to travel to the complete opposite site of my area (sometimes 30+miles journey one way) it was nightmare. Mostly because of traffic as well as costs of petrol. At one point I was asked to work like that for 2 weeks and what is the best: some idiots in the office who were planning that put another relief officer from the other area to work in mine instead of keeping us close to our sites! So I was travelling 60 miles a day and the other guy was doing the same from the other side! Wouldn't do that job again purely because of incompetence of staff from the main office!
Pros
Good lads to work with
Cons
Brainless main office staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting company
security (Former Employee) –  Leicester20 April 2018
found my first security job working for g4s.
a great place to learn your role especially when working on various sites as a cover officer..
i found the problems lay with management and time off.
i was always payed correct and on time
i enjoyed my time their and learned a lot about the security industry but used their reference to move to a better position in a local company.
i found the most enjoyable part of being a relief guard was working on different sites
learning what security needs were on each site and the freedom to move around sites
Pros
they payed for my sia license
Cons
long hours and always calling to work on your rest days
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management not supportive
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Crick, Northamptonshire9 April 2018
Was good now not a nice place to be employed by the g4s management offers no support to staff only want to use them and give nothing in return which is a pity as good staff
Pros
None
Cons
As above
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of very few security companies that give you contracted hours.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Belfast21 March 2018
G4S was a good employer. I told them at my interview I was looking permeant security work and didn't want to be moved around to different locations. They got me a permeant site with another g4s guy who was brilliant to work with no issues there. all in all good company pay always right and on time, management could use a bit of an upgrade or reboot of new blood.
Pros
contracted hours, holiday pay
Cons
long hours, always recruiting
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 18Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire18 March 2018
Excellent company to be a part of . Managers recognise potential within staff an reward hard work , good rota patterns with a healthy salary . I personally worked with the G4S Gurkha company which has been an interesting journey .
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,116 reviews
52.6K
42.7K
32.5K
21K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture