G4S Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Steward (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 December 2017
It was a good job. The staff were friendly. I was able to chose my own working hours. I had the opportunity to experience a wide range of events in the UK.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Enough Support
Prison Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands19 October 2017
Expected to work through the hour break you have on a 12 hour shift management dont want to help you or listen to concerns often left to work alone as colleagues dont want to help and just sit around in office leaving new people to pick up all the slack then degrade them in staff meetings by blaming new starters for all the things going wrong. you work 60+ hours every week without a choice and no breaks A/L was given to me without even been giving a chance to pick. Over all its a shambles!!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
everything !
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Cit cash solutions driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands2 July 2017
Poor management..rubbish equipment..treated like dirt and expected to work up to 14 hour days if the management say "it's gotta be done"..stay away from g4s cash solutions even if you're on the dole. .it's an awful place to work..morale is currently below 0....
Pros
There's free toilet paper
Cons
Long hours..
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security/steward
Security/Steward (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 April 2017
Great company to work for, was able to attend many events and no two days were ever the same. Some days you had the greatest friendly patrons and others i was faced with difficult situations but was able to diffuse correctly due to the substantial training i had beforehand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working hard and but time gone very quick / fun at work place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 February 2017
working as team helping each others lot of fun always enjoy at work
always time keeping and be professional . only want to change because of money hope ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good shifts
Prison custody officet (Current Employee) –  Birmingham1 November 2016
Often short staffed, multi tasking and managing workload for staff shortage. Demanding and challenging job. Varied role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment
Steward/Security (Current Employee) –  Birmingham23 June 2016
This job helps you progress certain skills like, communication and it helps you gain confidence when you have to interact with the public. Keeping a smile on your face and helping people out are the main things to be successful in to be able to enjoy this job.

You as a person get to experience different working environments, in all types of weather conditions and various working hours. Co-workers are very friendly and supportive as well as the supervisors. The hardest part of the job is to always stay aware of your surroundings and people around you and what is going on, on the day.
Pros
different experiences
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Security guard (Current Employee) –  Birmingham2 June 2016
07.30 start, expect deliveries and staff arriving, sign in clients and send to relative floors, ad hoc cctv watch on all entry and exit points, alarm testing and patrolling, and the odd first aid call
Pros
friendly staff and subsidised food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjyable and different...
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG4 January 2016
Excellent colleagues to work with, very interesting days and very understanding manager, easy to access details of working schedule online.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Pay!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn new things everyday
Stewarding/ security officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG26 October 2015
a typical day at work is searching everyone that comes through the turnstiles to make sure they don't bring anything banned or illegal in the premises. Everyday I learn how people try to sneak prohibited objects in to the premises so we all know where to look next time.

the management are kind and they are there to help with any problems that any of the staff have. If you respect and protect your co-workers they will treat you the same way as expected.

The hardest part of the job is making sure no one causes any trouble so that everyone can have a good time and enjoy themselves. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing people having a good time and respecting and talking to you in a respectful manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Safety steward (Former Employee) –  birmingham12 October 2015
Good place to work with a lot of fun events, staff is also very friendly. Good experience helps to develop confidence and communication skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed
Sia security guard and steward (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG7 October 2015
Going to different venues is a bonus and alot of fun.Festivals and big events opens your eyes to new things.Meet alot of new friends and make up a great team.
Pros
Different work places.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promotes career advancement
Technical Supply Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham3 September 2015
I joined G4S as a CVIT driver and left having held multiple national level management roles. G4S tends to work in tough environments which can present significant challenges however if you work hard you can really build a career at G4S.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Can pay a little less than than main industry competition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in
G4S Steward (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG7 May 2015
is a good place to work however not much work opportunity is given and sadly did not use my skills to there full ability as i think i could of done much more for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Cash Solutions Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham3 May 2015
Driving to many different areas to do collections and/or drop offs.

The hardest part of the job for me is not knowing when I am going to finish work. It is different each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the dapart of worp and pensions. Dwp.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG10 November 2014
On a typical day at work I wi laison with my team to make certen everyone understand what kind of day we are expecting to have and who will work in what possision , I learn that team work is important and each day can be different.I also mannage the team in difficult times, make shure timeing is accurate one must always listen to the customers who is always right, the hard part of my job is when I have to evick someone from the site , the most enjoyable part of my job is whe a customer is satisfied an smileing and on there way out I get that big thanks and have a nice day , I that make me want to carry on doing what I love best ,
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 38Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity driven
Team Field Manager or Coordinator Utility services (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG8 January 2014
Check Cyclic, appointments team,Must Reader Workload.
Monitor and resolve any expired work first thing in the morning.
Assist allocation with any telephone queries around allocation of work (SRV's, Must reads etc).
Update planners.
Check/ monitor daily performances.
Check comms logs.
Liaise with Meter U/Search counterpart to reach the contractual targets.
Respond to any incoming e- mails.

Manage sickness
Sickness forms
Movement of work to other staff
 Absence tracker
Corrective actions if needed
Occupational Health referrals
Capability if needed
Resolve complaints.
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!!
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG3 January 2014
The management will bully any member of staff that does not work 60 hour weeks, as they see them as unproductive and unwilling to help the company, regardless of whether you have outside commitments, for example a family, to them you are to be treated as a second class member of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and lovely peoples at work
Safety Steward -Part (Current Employee) –  Birmingham24 October 2013
My job varies from event to event, every shift is different. The best part of the job for me is the other people that I get to work with. We get to mix with other employees from other offices and of course the customers.
Pros
Free food sometimes and free football matches
Cons
travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
secruity guard (Current Employee) –  birmingham2 October 2013
the enjoyable part of the job is patrolling around and making sure the area is safe. I have learnt how to ignore in appropriate attitude from other and stay calm and get on with my job
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport