Fuller's Employee Reviews

Showing all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Awful place to work!
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Winchester9 April 2019
When I first started as housekeeper at Wykaham arms, I kind of seen how confusing the set up was and the two girls house keepers who left before me did not tell me the truth that they didn’t enjoy it or say how bad it was to work because the management is absolutely terrible and also I met the head house keeper who was a good reliable supervisor that it was only me and him by the time things just got very disorganised and uncooperative with the bar staff I had to work with as some of them did not like doing housekeeping and left me all the mess to clear up and worked over time past check in time from 3pm as this was not acceptable. I had been working overtime hours as you don’t get paid overtime hours so that’s slavery hours. A month later the head housekeeper leaves without any mention of his appearance back at work to know why he left because, he was also messed around by the management of idiots! I sent a couple of letters to management office to complain that I worked over time and not got help on some busy Sundays and got no reply apology back from the managers!! It’s a disgrace, discourteous, and not a nice place to work for house keeping! They will treat you like rubbish! As it was the worst place I’d worked in my life! Don’t work for them or work at Winchester Wykaham arms!
Pros
None
Cons
Overtime work, no breaks for lunch breaks, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job wasn't great
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London16 March 2019
I worked as a waitress and It was okay. However I worked 5 days a week 9-11 hour shifts almost every day. I had no time for myself. Additionally I was always at work and saw no reward. My third week I was not paid, thus messing up my rate of pay for the following weeks so I was working all day every day and only getting a small sum of money into my account each week although I worked almost 40 hours a week.

Management were okay, but some were rude. Wasn't the best working experience.
Pros
You get discounts across the entire fullers chain
Cons
their payroll system is poor and their hours incredibly long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Waiter (Former Employee) –  London1 March 2019
The best moments of my life in London was working with Fuller's, we had a great management team and committed colleagues. The guests were amazing. Very good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Fuller's
13 March 2019

Good morning. Thank you for your positive review, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at Fuller's! Good luck with your future career! -Ruth

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn and develop
People Business Partner (Current Employee) –  London24 January 2019
A great company to learn and develop your own approach to leadership and management.

Full of some of the best people in the industry.

A chance to learn more than you know , in a safe environment.
Pros
The people
Cons
Slow at change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
CDP (Former Employee) –  London Bridge Station, Greater London22 January 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to be heard
Bartender/Waiter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London1 December 2018
Still never received my salary.

No way to get in touch with anyone about the salary.
Noone even bother to inform or contact.

Waiting second month for a one week pay
Pros
Friendly and helpful colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Fuller's
7 February 2019

Good afternoon. While it's great to hear that you found your colleagues friendly, I'm sorry to read about your experience with receiving your pay. This is not acceptable, and if it still has not been resolved, please email recruitment@fullers.co.uk with your details and we will aim to fix it. Wishing you all the best- Ruth

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Kitchen Porter / Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire29 November 2018
Fuller's was a fun and productive environment. I was fortunate enough to be part of a good team, this made the job easier. The hours were long but because you are working with decent people the time seemed to go a lot quicker!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Fuller's
7 February 2019

Good afternoon, thank you for your feedback! It was great that you enjoyed working with your colleagues. We strive to hire people with the same honest values and friendly personalities into the Fuller's family, so it's good to see this reflected in your review. All the best- Ruth

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make the difference
Retail Development Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London26 November 2018
A great company that embraces personality and differences. Working at Fuller's is lots of fun and makes you want to get up and come to work. Lots of chances to progress and Fuller's offer flexible working hours with good holiday pay. Fuller's offer concession rates for hotel stays and a 20% discount to all employees after 3 months.
Pros
Free Lunch and lots of progression
Cons
pay banding could be improved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Fuller's
7 February 2019

Good afternoon- thank you for your positive feedback! It's wonderful to see that you find the Fuller's value of embracing individuality represented in the people that you work with, and enjoy the benefits and career progression offered. Your feedback on pay banding will be fed back, all the best in your current role at Fuller's- Ruth

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant (Former Employee) –  greenford13 November 2018
a fun and enjoyable work place to be in meet lots of new people and learn new things.good management from the head of fullers. i loved what i did.at the pub
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Fuller's
7 February 2019

Good afternoon- thank you for your review! It's wonderful to see that you enjoyed your time working at Fuller's. All the best with your future career- Ruth

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
bar/floor staff (Current Employee) –  London15 October 2018
-amazing workplace culture
-young and funny staff
-flexibility
-decent service charge
-overall nice management
-teamwork
-staff food not provided, but sometimes we have 50% discount
Pros
flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking family
Waitress/Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Waterlooville4 October 2018
I have worked in fullers for years and I absolutely love it. I love the relationships you build with the staff and the customers, the loyalties and the excitement especially on busy evenings. I learn so much while working at the pub I am at now every single shift including dealing with difficult customers, amazing customer service, confidence, money handling and dedication to the job. I work extremely hard even in the later hours. It can be tough being around drunk customers because they like to challenge you and sometimes cause trouble but I have gained so much patience and have learnt to correctly sort any issues and queries from other customers or staff. We are all so close at the pub and it is a warming environment that I love to be in.
Pros
Free lunches, entertainment in the evenings(karaoke and bands)
Cons
Rowdy drunks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Fuller's
6 November 2018

Good afternoon. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed being part of a friendly and warm team. It is the people that make the pubs what they are- wishing you all the best! - Ruth

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, Shame About the Management
Head Receptionist/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire28 September 2018
I took up the position of Receptionist hoping to bring into play all my Admin skills I had garnered over the years and initially I loved the job, very busy little reception & plenty to do, since we were very short staffed. I had agreed from the outset that I would be willing to help out inother areas but made it clear to my manager that I had little or no waiting or bar work skills nor did I want to do any waiting or bar work but would be happy clearing tables taking payments & making coffees. Since I hadn’t ever worked on a Hotel reception, I was completely new to the Hotel Booking software. The training I was given on this, along with the Restaurant booking software was sporadic to say the least & it was generally a case of being thrown in at the deep end and learning to cope. Any other training was done sat going through a training manual online. Since we were a small establishment and I was the only receptionist, and obviously I only worked 5 days, others members of staff, not so knowledgeable had access to the bookings system in my absence and I would be frustrated to come across many mistakes made with bookings - or have to take the flack for errors made by others. This has since been tightened up with the introduction of separate logins - that said it is still possible for others to make & amend bookings on your login details.

As time went on, I watched many staff come and go due to issues with the manager. Initially, I put this down to some being very young and naive & not prepared to put in the work or just not the right fit. I was also getting very frustrated
  more... with Fullers systems - their Hotel Booking system continually had glitches & had to be restarted. My desktop had it’s issues as well, with problems logging in. Trying to contact their IT department could be frustrating, since there seemed to be days where they were over run & calls would go straight to voicemail and not be returned. Ordering stationery as well was not the easiest procedure.

There didn’t appear to be any support for staff if they were struggling either, the manager himself seemingly overwhelmed & at times difficult to talk to yet along contact when out of the office. Things would get missed with a real ‘blame culture’.

Communication is definitely an issue with so many staff coming and going not helping.

I have worked hard for the company and when required jumped in to help, as much as I could FOH. I have dropped everything to work on days off and seldom took a day off in the short time I was there. My reward - when I started to struggle due to issues at home, my manager started to turn on me and I soon understood why so many others left before me. I also became aware that my job was changing with my admin duties being whittled away with the recruitment of several other managers, and the expectation of me taking up more and more FOH duties, this in spite of the fact that I had made it clear to my manager, I never had nor never want to be waiting or bar staff.

This all culminated in a ‘showdown’ in the kitchen in front of the Chef, and in clear earshot of guests, where my manager started shouting at me. This was all due to a lack of communication where he hadn’t outlined that he had expected me to be on duty FOH that morning, serving guests instead of on Reception.

This was the last straw for me, since I lost all respect for him. At no time whilst I was struggling, & he was aware of my issues did he support me or give any guidance to contact anyone else within the company for support.

I have now left and feel so sad, since I went from working in a job and environment I loved and thought I would be working in for the foreseeable to absolutely loathing it. Even my resignation has not been handled professionally.

I am sure that maybe in bigger establishments and more long running establishments (Fullers had only taken over the Hotel/restaurant a year ago) that things might have been different. However, with a relatively new manager, who was clearly struggling with not the best people skills, this place is struggling & will continue to unless this manager learns how to manage, encourage & support the staff he has.
  less
Pros
Staff discount card, good paid holiday allowance.
Cons
Poor management, Fullers internal systems poor, lack of good training, precious little support if you find yourself struggling
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Fuller's
8 November 2018

Good afternoon- I am really sorry to hear about your experience working at a Fuller's hotel. Fuller's prides itself in the training and development offered to staff as well as the friendly atmosphere amongst teams, so your feedback has been taken seriously. Regarding the pub in question, there has recently been a change in General Manager which has made the environment more settled. If you would be willing to provide further details, please email recruitment@fullers.co.uk. Thank you for your honest feedback, and best of luck with your future career- Ruth

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly and enjoyable place to work
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  London25 September 2018
I learned a lot in the two years I was with fullers, and they certainly gave me the opportunity to progress, which I did. However I did have some frustrations regarding the management. This is because at my site the head chef and managers where constantly changing, this lead to a lack of stability in the pub.
Pros
good tronc!
Cons
Bad managers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Fuller's
6 November 2018

Good afternoon. It is great to hear that you made the most of the opportunities Fuller's gives in terms of career progression. I am sorry to hear about the lack of stability you experienced; your feedback will be shared. Wishing you all the best with your future. - Ruth

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely pubs to work in
Senior Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Reigate24 September 2018
Management style is good, higher ups within the company take active roles in smaller branches, getting to know employees of all types. Family atmosphere encouraged.
Pros
friendly
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company. Place even worst one
Current employee (Current Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames, Greater London30 July 2018
Really poor place. Worst GM I ever worked for. No support from executive chef and ops manager for a normal employees .long hours. Not even thank you for good work.
Cons
Under pay, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Fuller's
6 November 2018

Good afternoon, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We take pride on the support and friendliness within our teams. We would appreciate any further feedback to recruitment@fullers.co.uk. Thank you for your honesty and wishing you the best. - Ruth

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good development and learning program, fun place to work
Events Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Tower Hill Station24 July 2018
Offer good courses and learning programs for employees to develop in the company and it’s for free. So if you really want to go higher and develop, then Fuller’s is place to be. Only salary is not great in some of the pubs/hotels, can feel the struggle with finding employees. But people and management are all nice people , I have no problems with anyone.
Pros
Free lunch (not in all sites)
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Fuller's
6 November 2018

Good afternoon. It is wonderful to hear that you feel that our development programmes are worthwhile, it is something that here at Fuller's we pride ourselves in. Good luck in your role! - Ruth

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Kitchen Porter/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Burley17 July 2018
Very friendly staff who tailor towards employees needs and offer detailed training. Flexible hours and always something to do especially during peak hours.
Pros
Free food and flexible hours
Cons
Long hard work during peak times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Fuller's
8 November 2018

Good afternoon- thank you so much for your feedback, it's great to hear positive reviews on the detailed training that Fuller's offer! All the best- Ruth

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Hampshire30 June 2018
The job is fine if you're looking for part-time work as a student or some extra cash. It's suitable if you enjoy working in a fast-paced environment but the training was awful. If you're going for full-time, the job/life balance is almost non-existent and you're not really valued as a person.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Official response from Fuller's
8 November 2018

Good afternoon- thank you for your honest feedback, I'm sorry to hear about your experience with training, as it is something Fuller's works hard at making exceptional. Furthermore, Fuller's sees every member of our teams as valued individuals, so your feedback has definitely been taken on board. Wishing you all the best with your future- Ruth

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable company
Bartender (Current Employee) –  London28 May 2018
Enjoyable working environment and options to progress into a career. 28 holiday days each year and the option to work overtime if you need the money. Experienced managers.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
60 to 70 hour weeks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work.
Waiter/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Oxford28 May 2018
Working for the Fuller's company at the 'Head of the River' pub in Oxford was not a very enjoyable time. The management was poor in dealing with a high flow of customers and treating the staff with respect. I do not look back on my time here very fondly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Official response from Fuller's
8 November 2018

Good afternoon. I am sorry to hear about your experience working at this pub. Recently there has been a recent change of management at the pub, which has created a more positive working environment. Thank you for your honest feedback, and good luck with your future career- Ruth

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fuller's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 84 reviews
518
424
318
26
118

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture