Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Document Specialist (Former Employee) –  Salford21 September 2018
The people were great. There was no support from management. Always being told to manage your queue of work. When in need of support too many managers covering their own backs.
Pros
Lovely office and great location
Cons
No manager support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasis on 'fee earners'
Support staff (Former Employee) –  London6 August 2018
When all's said and done, FBD is all about the profit. Like many corporations at the moment, it is cutting back on resources, apparently besides corporate hospitality to woo rich prospective clients. This false economy will become very obvious to those outside the company sooner or later.
It has not been a bad place to work, but sadly all support services are experiencing dramatic cuts and woeful neglect. It is the current way of the world, but it cannot last.
Pros
Decent salary and benefits, up to now
Cons
Support services slashed and false economy starkly obvious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Change management (Current Employee) –  London1 March 2018
Think it's a great company to work for, and great on my CV.
Work hours can be quite tough, however the location and office is an enjoyable place to work.
Pros
Great work location
Cons
work long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace filled with experienced professionals
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London26 October 2017
Freshfields is a great and interesting workplace to work in. High levels of professionalism is constantly shown and there’s always new skills and opportunities present.
Pros
Get to work with professional lawyers
Cons
Requires hard work and constant focus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but a great pay off
Freshfields Network and Social Media Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London24 August 2017
I loved working for Freshfields. Being one of the magic circle firms means that what they expect of you is more than any of your previous employers. The standards are high so the work is hard.

The payoff is amazing. You have a great place to work with some amazing people.
Pros
Excellent facilities
Cons
High pressure situations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workspace
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 August 2017
Completing work experience at the firm was not only an eye opener to a possible fuure career but a good experience for future work. The business offered free food and there was posituve vibes.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
ACCOUNTS ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London30 June 2017
Great very good to work, great reputation. Very grateful to work here and very ambitious and charismatic staff who empower each other. Pleasure being at Freshfield.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and helpful supervisors
Paid internship placement (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 June 2017
Working with Freshfield Bruckhaus Deringer was a great experience and taught me various skills such as time management. My communication skills improved and i got know a great IT team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team and Management
Assistnat Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London31 May 2017
Personal and corporate tax compliance.
Preparation and submission of individual UK Tax Returns for non-resident parthers, together with all related compliance obligations, tax payments and internal accounting.
Calculation, management of and accounting for parthers' tax reserves.
Assisting with preparation and filing of parthership double taxation relief claims and relating accounting issues.
Contract job.
Pros
Subsidized lunches
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Secretary - Commercial Litigation Department (Former Employee) –  Fleet Street, London28 March 2017
Easy going role, busy some days - professional. Helping others if they needed help - team player. If I learnt anything during the course of the day, then I would write it down and let others know.
Pros
Gym
Cons
Hours of work, overtime there if want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London20 February 2017
Loved working for 6 years. Great team of people around me, The hours were good. It was a Monday to Friday job., so every weekend off is a bonus
Pros
Free Meal, Great Staff Parties
Cons
None at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high energy and client focussed
Practice Group Manager/Team Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London10 February 2017
Freshfields is an excellent employer. Benefits are exceptional and culture is good. Expectations are high, however rewards are good.
Pros
Gym, on-site staff restaurant, in-house doctor and dentist
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if you want no life
Secret Spy (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester28 January 2017
Work life balnce is none existent here, be expected to be treated like a number and not like a human being, be expected to have no support, be expected to work all the hours god sends and getting paid badly, and generally exploited, if you are a woman, don't bother working here, the Management are sexist and also have little to no managerial skills.
If you like working for a concentration camp then this is the place for you.
Pros
walking out the door
Cons
how long have you got
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Law Intern (Former Employee) –  London16 January 2017
Working on match days at Tottenham Hotspur Football Club and serving customers in the premium hospitality section in the Pat Jennings Lounge, typical 8 hour shifts with about 20 minute break, very long and demanding.
Pros
tips and meeting new people
Cons
late finishes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Firm to work for.
IT Purchasing Analyst (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 January 2017
A major international law firm, with over 2500 lawyers in offices around the world.
A total of over 6000 staff, of which around 2000 are based in London.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good atmospahere
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London and Manchester9 November 2016
Freshfields is a fantastic place to work. The IT Leadership has always been supportive and motivating as well as understanding the industry they are in which is very demanding.
Pros
Management Support
Cons
They are relocating their Business Services to Manchester
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place and benefited me alot
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  London2 November 2016
Was a very friendly work place, made me feel really comfortable and I leant a lot from being there. I was only there for two weeks on a work experience placement but I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, Fun,
Host Assistant (Former Employee) –  London17 March 2016
basic hospitality skills I experienced has given me the will power to learn more advanced hospitality skills. The staff and management were very encouraging and friendly and we all got along throughout this busy environment. Throughout the first couple of days I found difficult and only completed duties unless I was ordered to due to being my first experience but this all changed and started using my own imitative. I had fun whilst learning and would like to expand this experience
Pros
friendly staff, busy environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional Workplace
Project Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  London City27 October 2015
A busy role working with professional and helpful colleauges. Have learnt alot while here and enjoy coming into work everyday.
Pros
Very people orientated culture.
Cons
Only offered contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work shadow placement
- (Former Employee) –  -7 September 2015
• Researched and participated in a debate on corporate responsibility and public relations.
• Liaised with trainees, associates and partners within the finance department.
• Networked with legal assistants and paralegals at the firm to gain a better understanding of their role at Freshfields.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 45 reviews
525
414
34
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.4Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Reviews by Job Title

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Reviews by Location