Frankie and Benny's Employee Reviews for Chef

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for start
Chef (Former Employee) –  High Wycombe, ENG27 April 2015
Friendly people. Good place to start. management was ok. Thhe hardest part of the job was busy weekends. I learned how to cook. how to chec deliveries. How work hard with really good team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef
Chef in Restaurant, full time (Former Employee) –  Leeds21 February 2015
I cooked of the front , strarter, grilled, pizza and etc of kitchen.I do desserts , wash,clean.
cook,cook,cook,cook,cook,cook
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Chef (Former Employee) –  Aldershot, ENG8 January 2015
i learned how to do front line, made food and clean all the stuff.
Work with a good team from other countries.
the hardest part of the was the longs shifts
Pros
free lunchs
Cons
longs shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef
marnock as a Chef (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock14 November 2014
from monday to saturday, 8 h at day.
I learned how to prepare frost food, how to clean all kitchen, how to work in team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My life its better when i work working its very important for me!
Chef (Former Employee) –  Llanelli, WLS21 August 2014
Preparing food salads starters making pizzas and deserts
i learn many different foods and different dishes
The management its great and the co workers was very nice to me we are a good team
the hardest part of the job was the power washing machine because
we need wash loads dishes ,the most enjoyable part of the job it is cooking nice food
Pros
non
Cons
i lived far from the job and go home to late every days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
chef (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, ENG2 May 2014
I ve learned a lot about kitchen work and all about teamwork and hardwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There ok.
Chef (Former Employee) –  Hereford/ murther26 April 2014
What it doesnt tell you above is its a 54 hour a week contract. And for training i was sent to a resturant that wasnt set up correctly to train someone.
Pros
Got to eat from the kids menu.
Cons
Was told i cud only have margareeta or kids spag bol.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainee Chef
Trainee Chef (Former Employee) –  norwich9 April 2014
I was working alongside the Head Chef learning how to prepare meals on the menu from scratch. This was a high pressured role as the restaurant was always busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente food
Chef (Current Employee) –  Kingston upon Thames, ENG12 November 2013
as a chef the food, the environment are great.
the restaurant as a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 19Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Jack
chef (Current Employee) –  Leeds, ENG28 October 2013
I gained somed experience trough work in Frankie&Benny's.
I cook for my self as well.
All of my duties in Frankie&Benny's are included in my CV.
I'm gonna put them here for you.
- adherence rules of restaurant and health&safety
- preparing meals of italian-american cuisine
- preparing breakfasts
- preparing ingredients
- keeping the kitchen clean and organized
- keeping fridges in good condition
- washing dishes
- checking deliveries
In sum.
I know about HACCP, COSHH and I prepare meals.
What I learned is that the customer is a GUEST and our guests paying.
Typical day at work :
Preparing difficult components at first.
I will let myself write in the present tense to let you understand myself more.
Filling out sections.
The Breakfast time starts.
Chefs preparing ingredients.
Dishwasher cleaning up dishes.
Front line chefs cooking meals.
When busy breakfast or lunch time finishes there is a time for filling out sections again.
I'm working in busy restaurant so kitchen is divided into sections.
Every section is responsible for :
Preparing meals. Making sure that plate is clean, meal is hot, food looks attractively and compliance with the customer's whim.
Aware that there are people with allergy.
Chopping, slicing vegetables or helping major chefs.
Washing plates.
About washing plates I can say that its also very important section.
It's more complicated if plates are wet or dirty.
When the "order time" finishes there is a time for cleaning whole restaurant. Making sure that everything is correctly closed for next day.
Everything is clean.
Fridges
  more... are in good condition and everything is in correct place.
Dates are also in fridges and freezers done.

Actually I work with people that doesn't know how to make
for example "bolognese no beef" so I'm not satisfied with co-workers.
I'd like to work with people from whom I can learn.

The hardest part of the job is when too many customers came. That's the hardest part or if there is no time to drink water and the printer print the tickets all the time for hours.

The most enjoyable part of being a chef is compliments from customers. There is no better than well paid and appreciated worker.
Management may say compliments too.

About management I can say only examples like if I was the most experienced chef I was leading 2-3 chefs.





*It depends which section is busy.(aware of the priorities that customer is most important).

*Kitchen staff should be accordant.
What I mean is most important is "INVOLVEMENT" and "TEAMPLAY".
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
frankys and bennys [nuneaton] bad staff
chef (Former Employee) –  nuneaton11 December 2012
I had a terrible experience working here, the manager [woman] will stab u in the back if she don't like the look of you, she's terrible at her job and has very bad language. the head chef is the same. not to mention they will get some chef who cant speak English to train you up because the mangers are to busy smoking and fooling around outside. if you book a table don't be surprised if they give your table away if some body turns up early. they don't care if you book a table, if its busy, they will give the table away cuz they cant handle the pressure!!! its really unprofessional and the manger [woman with glasses] is two faced and horrible to the staff.
Pros
aint none
Cons
rude staff, manger is very rude and dont care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Chef (Former Employee) –  Bolton,Didsbury and Bury23 November 2012
The must fun i got working on Frankie and Bennies,whose working under pression.
Cons
low comitment whit the chefs about they needs, changes of the cheefts whitout previous notice, failing on the payment of the hours worked in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Frankie and Benny's reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Frankie and Benny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 436 reviews
577
4122
3123
251
163

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Frankie and Benny's Reviews by Location