Frankie and Benny's Employee Reviews for Chef

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 424 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Chef (Former Employee) –  Essex9 September 2019
Dirty place to work
Luck of respect food and higen roles
Luck of respect health and safety roles
No trained chefs
Luck of communication between employees and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Setup kitchen for breakfast
chef (Current Employee) –  Longwell Green, Bristol25 June 2019
Most of the time restourant was busy and we were always less chefs in the kitchen.Weekly hours doesnt meet my needs also there is lack of communication in this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working enviroment
Chef (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 June 2019
I enjoyed working within frankie and bennys. I felt as though the staff we're very welcoming and easy to get along with. I put my catering qualifications to good use whilst being able to work in a busy kitchen environment. Although this was a very busy and fast environment to work within, I felt as though I kept up to speed and provided quality food and customer service.
Pros
Staff meals, discount with TGR, better communication skills
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shocking
chef (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire3 April 2019
worked here 4 4 days got 30 quid robbed frim my wallet spoke to managerment they werent bothed just said u shouldnt bring that muxh money with u ans then when i got paid it was only 4 9 hours i would give it no stars but it wont allow me to if this is the way to run a company i find it very shocking avoid by all costs cause u will rue the day the joined cause i ave
Pros
none
Cons
everything about the company its shocking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place lovely people
Chef (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MS29 January 2019
Always felt I was well looked after as I was strong member of the team.
Mixture of good workers on a daily basically.
Fast pace restaurant so everyone would help each other out as best as they can to do the job to our best.
Pros
Free food on shift
Cons
Sometimes no enough staff on so can get wild
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing much to say.
Chef (Former Employee) –  Swindon28 November 2018
My personal experience was not good at all.
As I was not given a contract and cheated on my payment.
There was no hot water by like over a week or so.
Pros
Usually free lunches, available cigarette breaks.
Cons
Might cheat you on money, somtimes no breaks as it might be busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't Enjoy
Chef Trainee (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend18 October 2018
Was a very stressful job but wasn't for me, staff was friendly, and management was as well. Would definitely recommend eating there, hygiene was great and food was always stored correctly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work pace
Chef/Cook (Current Employee) –  Canada Water26 September 2018
i like frankie,byt i wann change company because now frankie suks like burger shop...inthis restoraunt i work more then 3 years,money s no to good,plus every weekend you need work,no staff inaf always.
Pros
free lunches 33% discount for 5 people
Cons
lon ghours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Falsely advertised wage
chef (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex20 September 2018
Worked 2 shifts with for a chef's job advertised at £8-10/hr. When I went to sort out wages they tried to pay me minimum wage. Was told they would 'speak to a regional manager' who can put me on £8 and call me back. Never got a returned call. Please don't fall for this ploy. Disgusting tactic taking advantage of employees (younger employees)
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sufficent
Chef (Former Employee) –  Birmingham21 August 2018
They pay was avarage and the hours where good. However, the chefs where over worked as too few of them where employed to work in such a kitechen but whats new?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and nice people
Chef/Cook (Former Employee) –  Cardiff15 August 2018
the manager was horrible there because she'd met me twice and always had something against me but the people were nice and always encouraged me to do more.
Pros
good money
Cons
manager was poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfairly dismissed for not doing horrible jobs
Chef (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire14 August 2018
Forced me to work pot wash / deserts and starters. It is impossible to do all the work they want you to do. Management are a joke and expect to be underpaid avoid like the plague if you are wanting a good job.
Pros
Free lunch after 6 hour shift
Cons
Literally everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work
Chef (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge29 July 2018
Very good restaurant for work...but I want to work something different from kitchen and I want work for more money.I make there deserts and work in pod wash and I think I do my work good
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun.
Chef (Former Employee) –  Bolton10 July 2018
Had a great time here. Management were not overly egotistical and learned at lot about the inner workings of a branded restaurant.

Money is basic minimum for most positions, could really be better for the amount of work done.
Pros
Subsidised food.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produstive
Chef (Current Employee) –  Kilnarnock10 June 2018
I wanna working for full time
And i really hard working. I like drive so i really drive a lot, i can working more hours and i can working 6 day per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced and friendly environment
Chef/2nd Chef (Current Employee) –  Glasgow Airport2 May 2018
A typical day at work includes managing kitchen staff, preparation of food, being responsible for defrost and labelling to ensure health and safety standards are being complied with and the production of high standard food. I have learned how to manage people and work as part of a team whilst always ensuring efficiency and reliability. The hardest part of the job is the long hours and the most enjoyable part of the job is customer satisfaction.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast-paced work place
Chef (Current Employee) –  Manchester24 April 2018
Many opportunities to advance skills and learn new things. Menu always changing which makes the job exciting. Nice to work under pressure to please customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny workplace
Chef (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire28 February 2018
Thats one of my first jobs in UK. Really hard working job in bussy place. Management are friendly funny and helpfull. People there are hard working. The hardest part of job is closing restaurant.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special
Chef (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside2 February 2018
A lot of hours... (poor wages, non tips) free soda water, hot drinks for staff and lunch meals as well. Good job for start, not recomended as permanent nothing special
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Chef (Current Employee) –  Brighton and Hove13 December 2017
Easy Job. Everything is ready to be heated. Kitchen for begginers. Chef's not cooking nothing by ourselves. Chef are the kitchen porter as well. Nice atmosphere.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Frankie and Benny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 424 reviews
576
4120
3120
248
160

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Frankie and Benny's Reviews by Location