Formel D GmbH Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 147 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not start with this company!!!!
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire24 May 2019
I worked there for a mounth an was told every day to leave early then got a txt after buying a car to get there beacsue they but me on earlys then got told no work but they are advertising on here for jobs dont do it
Pros
None
Cons
Ita the biggeas con company out there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor mangement
Quality inspector - 17th December -6th march (Former Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands11 March 2019
I've worked for formal d at Solihull jaguar land rover and honestly I would not recommend anyone very poor management no communication what's so ever you have to pay 2 taxes its just
a scam I would recommend everyone who wants to work constantly
don't bother at all because you will just be wasting your time
Cons
not realiable
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Waste Your Time !!
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands2 March 2019
Worked for Formel -D at JLR in Wolverhampton, well say worked - got 2 shifts in 2 months.

They've got 100's of casuals on the books (they advertise for the same position for months on end) and they just go down the list. The more the merrier as far as their concerned!

Once you turn down a shift, that's it you won't hear from them again.

The job itself was incredibly boring. Working in a warehouse checking parts. Had to ask permission to go to the toilets. Standing at the same work station and not allowed to move from it. Freezing cold concrete floor with all the doors open to the elements. Two short 20min breaks where you have to almost run to the rest area, wolf a sandwich down and run back. No talking or banter as being an agency worker they need their pound of flesh. That's your lot.


Umbrella company takes a nice cut too.

Work is so infrequent I'm not sure if I still work there or not lol. (I have got a proper job now so unfortunately I'd have to refuse !)
Pros
A trained chimp could do the job
Cons
Putting my hand up to ask permission to go to the toilet - primary school time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place!!!
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Halewood1 March 2019
Office of 7+ supervisors, all kids with no leadership skills between em. Pay by giant agency and they rinse your wages!!! So works out you're on about £8.90ph. STAY AWAY!!!! I left a good job to come to this nonsense due to advert stating a false statement!!!!
Pros
Nil
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Halewood8 February 2019
Company advertises job at 10 to 13 pound an hour. They use an umbrella company to pay you who take a percentage so you only end up on minimum wage anyway. Also the job security is really bad with a high turnover. Avoid at all costs!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional with amateur management
Quality inspector (Former Employee) –  Emc26 January 2019
Diabolical, unreliable and a shambles of an extremely amateur company. Where intimidation and bullying are the normal from Management, whom are unqualified, with non existent people or communication skills, they are however extremely skilled at underhanded dealings. Make huge promises which they cannot and do not fulfil. Incapable of basic mathematics and paying correct wages, they do however take deductions for an alleged pension scheme which they do not pay into.
Formel D are a company to be avoided.
Pros
Blue shift
Cons
Diabolical company
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste time
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Halewood25 January 2019
called into do one shift asked supervisor what happens next week told contact FD after week or so of no news umbrella company stinging near £70 my wages
Pros
No two jobs are same
Cons
Poor organisation payments
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company and don't pay you for working
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Halewood15 January 2019
Taking them to Dept of Employment court as they do not pay you for working and have hired a dodgy umberrla company called giant group to handle your wages that take £13.50 out your wages.

Please everyone avoid this company they get paid for registering your details job done on their end. bunch of cowboys who are using and abusing peoples work rights.
Pros
none
Cons
refuse to pay you taking them to court
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste your time on them
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands18 December 2018
People, this is the worst Agancy I ever seen, first they promise you a full 40 hours shift, once you sign up they will only call you when they need you , with maybe 10 min notice before, absolutely ridiculous, waste off time people
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what a joke
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Halewood3 November 2018
they are bad to work for i was checking my phone for the time and they let work a full shift when i was on my way home i get a call saying u are not welcome back but they are people that are on they 15 woring what a joke
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reported to Employment Dept
Inspection (Former Employee) –  Pickering, North Yorkshire17 October 2018
Watch out 14 cases being lodged with Dept of Employment.Witholding of wages,and charges from 3rd party agency.

Stay AWAY. Warning

This is the slave trade 100%
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London12 October 2018
Where do I start, .........
Management are the worst with constant arguments and anything you do slightly wrong you get moaned at for making a mistake
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculous
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands3 September 2018
Absolutely ridiculous . No communication , no organisation. Paid through a umbrella company which charges you £18 a week out your wages ???!!!! Stay well clear
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 48NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking never been nessed about so much in my life
Technician (Former Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex27 November 2017
Was told to go to Gaydon night before sorry not happening next day your going to Chichester no time to find digs said can't start till next week
The guy cuda copped the hump and insisted I go or no job so called his bluff started a week later no clocking in totally messed about ever so disappointed as promised so much would I recommend them sorry no but can say other people have said there really hood to work for I can only mention my own journey with them
Pros
Quality franchises
Cons
Poor organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unprofessional
Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Gaydon, Warwickshire3 February 2017
First day, was not told where to be on site, found out for myself and went through the client induction process; Formel D was finally trying to contact me during this time unaware of this process. also was left waiting for company representative for four hours before I called to ask where my contact was, as the client assured me that one was around.

This was the only communication I had with Formel d throughout the whole duration of my seven week contract, which was only supposed to be two, however due to my personal efforts had greatly extended the initial duration.

Utilities a ridiculously expensive umbrella company, whom in my experience over charges for payment processing.

The instructed me of the project end date and Formel d informed me three days after said date.

No on site representative or manager ever visited or checked on progress, during my time with the client.

Finally informed Formel d of an issue regarding the clocking in and out system, to which left me two days unpaid amounting to twenty two hours still not paid to this day.

As a Conclusion, Formel d has established some excellent and prestigious clients. However I am aware that they lost a big contract with one particular automotive giant, due to a severe lack of organisation. Therefore based on my experience and of that from the people I worked with under Formel d. I would greatly advise anyone to reconsider working for such as company that has provided such a poor service to both their clients and contractors.
Pros
Fast application processing
Cons
Very poor organisation and ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement excellent Agency Shocking
MET Technician / Road Tester (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ENG3 November 2014
As an agency, Formel D are definitely not up there with the best. The pay and hours based on where i was working for them are second to none, the management and job security is shocking
Pros
short days, excellent wage
Cons
poor management, poor agency, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for
Quality Auditor (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, ENG24 October 2014
Main Duties – Working with all Vauxhall Astra parts as when they are delivered to the warehouse stores which will be fitted to the car and if needed to be modified for assembly line and all so using a fork lift truck to transport the car parts to production line when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 19Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a very autonomous workplace
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Liverpool10 January 2013
This employment is a very beneficial step in anybodies career as the projects undertaken are widespread and extremely interesting. I have learned a great deal about the automotive business from my very approachable managers and highly skilled colleagues.

The hardest part of the job are the periods of inactivity between projects yet the most enjoyable part is the variety.
Pros
generous benefits for working away from home
Cons
periods of inactivity
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 13Report

See more Formel D GmbH reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Formel D GmbH. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 147 reviews
524
438
330
218
137

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture