Food Standards Agency Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Web Editor (Former Employee) –  London Bridge Station, Greater London10 May 2018
Heavy emphasis on detail, quite demanding. Work has to b e carried out with precision and on time.

Not much wiggle room for typos or errors in data with this role
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on ensuring food safety and standards
Senior Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  London10 April 2018
Focused on ensuring food safety and standards. Hard working and dedicated staff. Many areas of expertise. Innovative and interesting work. Good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Executive Officer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London13 March 2018
very good job, promotion and excellent tasks and able to get on with colleagues.

interesting tasks and skills to learn, working with various colleagues and in London and other parts of London.
Pros
long hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working Place
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holborn and Covent Garden22 August 2017
Start by checking the jobs allocated to me. I prioritize jobs accordingly.
Respond to telephone inquiries.
learned good telephone skills and multi tasking skills.
Management updates to staff.
The working culture was job sharing.
Hardest part was constant changes in the team.
The most enjoyable part was to complete my jobs successful.
Pros
none
Cons
Normal Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great manager makes all the difference
Information Governance Lead (Former Employee) –  York28 June 2016
I had a productive 7 months working for the FSA as a contractor. I was given freedom to move in my role but had back up when needed from my manager, as well as healthy oversight.

They allow some working from home and are very flexible with hours as long as your work is getting done.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Complicated org structure means knowing and reaching parts of the organisation is difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong commitment to food safety
Science Communications Support Officer (Current Employee) –  London, ENG20 May 2015
Good place to work for scientists, especially microbiologists. Friendly colleagues, notably in Communications Division. I'm grateful for the editorial experience gained but the Agency lost its information service through a re-focusing on records management. I have benefited from the work experience but personally would have done better, given my background, to have used my information skills and teaching background in an arts environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well motivated and intersting place
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff25 November 2014
My day would normally start around 7am and during the 7 years I have been here I have learnt so much about the food we eat and the industry that supplies the consumer.
My co workers are a joy to work with, some of whom have the skills to go far.
The hardest part of the job for me was when an outbreak of Ecoli157 broke out in the Bridgend area, as a result a little boy died and the owner of the infected meat plant that supplied meat to the schools in the area was sent to prison.
The most enjoyable is being able to help so many consumers with their enquiries, especially now we have the scoring certificate or 'food hygiene rating' in place in every food establishment in Wales.
Pros
Flexi working pattern
Cons
Rain on some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i got out
Meat Hygiene Inspetor (Former Employee) –  York, ENG21 May 2014
unsocial hours
paid holidays
blame culture
autonomous
don't value their staff
Pros
pension
Cons
evrything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Meat Hygiene Inspector (Former Employee) –  various14 October 2013
Governmental organization, not allowed to comment.
Except to say
Early starts
Can be late finishes
Co-workers are generally ok
Pros
n/c
Cons
n/c
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for the public good on food safety
Board Secretary (Former Employee) –  London20 August 2013
A really interesting place to work where I learnt all about food safety and the science behind keeping our food safe.

I liked the scientific basis on which all policy decisions were taken.

I didn't have a typical day as I worked in the Private Office of the Chief Executive and Chair where you need to work flexibly and be reactive to news stories and the needs of the 12 individual non Executive Board members.

I enjoyed working on projects for the corporate services - corporate plan, annual report, recruiting new Board members.
Pros
Loved working with the Board members with their different backgrounds and knowledge levels
Cons
Hard times for Government with ever restrictive budgets
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food Standards Agency. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11 reviews
54
44
31
21
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.6Culture

Food Standards Agency Reviews by Location