Farmfoods Ltd Employee Reviews in Glasgow

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 662 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for this company
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow1 August 2019
To many backstabbers don't work there food come back defrosted and put back in freezer then back to stock and the vermin rats squirrels and the rats with two legs
We buy food that other companies are going to destroy but are told to buy it the guys in the warehouse are treated like s...te
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  glasgow10 March 2019
Fun fast paced work place although a bit in the stone ages with the way they do things ie stock take orders , plenty of hours just don't let higher management pressure you into certain things
Pros
bonus discount
Cons
long shifts short on staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, busy, enviroment
Retail Assistant (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow2 December 2018
They expect a lot of their employees for the wages they pay. Shifts can be long and hard. No family life cause of shift patterns, no set hours totally random from week to week. No appreciation for the hardworking staff they have, l feel.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
No family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just look at the reviews
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow5 March 2018
I've worked for a long time and these are the worst people I have ever worked for. Just horrible. Even the worst jobs on here are ten times better than anything this lot could offer you.
Pros
15% discount
Cons
everything that isn't the 15% discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work loved it
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow13 February 2018
Staff were great to work with, some shifts didn't suit outside lifestyle but had to make amendments which was easily done , wish i never left the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow13 December 2017
It has a good working environment but there's not a whole lot of help from other members of staff when someone is struggling to learn the ropes of the job
Pros
Good for advancement
Cons
Wages and bonices
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
changed a lot some good, some bad
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 November 2017
when I 1st started it was a great place to work but now it feels like sometimes there is more of a workload but less staffing. We are left to struggle a lot when it comes to needing staff at short notice and sometimes don't get cover at all. Only other problems I have is stocktake on a Saturday night and deliveries are often late.
Pros
sometimes its only 4 days of work, decent holiday entitlement
Cons
stocktake every 2 weeks, management dont get paid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abysmal treatment, passive aggressive manager
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 October 2017
Poor wages for the work you do. 15% staff discount which isn't bad. Full uniform provided for all. Again, a positive. Never enough staff. 2 pple to close at night while stock has to go out, customers served, deter theft, daily cleaning including sweeping and washing the shop floor, stock rotation, facing products and a min of 3 freezers emptied to be defrosted over night. NEVER enough time or staff for all of this so usually cleaning and freezer is ignored. On a day off? Expect a passive aggressive / bullying
msg via social media to come in and 'Help. But if YOU need help or support - Forget it. Store managers can expect to work 80hpw for no extra... anything , and even lose their holidays if staffing is short. If you want a life, avoid working here. At least 5 stock takes per year and always on a Saturday night until at least 11pm.
Pros
15% staff dicsount, full uniform provided
Cons
Not enough staff, high staff turnover, no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad Place
Retail Assistant/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow31 August 2017
Farmfoods was not bad to work in, It helped that all the staff got on which mad it enjoyale., I just think the company expect too much from staff and too busy giving orders while they sit in there comfy office doing nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 January 2017
Was very stressful working here, as they expected a lot from staff who werent in charge of tasks or the store, the overall running of the store was poor too
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow19 May 2016
As much as I enjoyed working with the managers and co-workers at the branches I have worked in, the place is understaffed. Usually only 2 people working at any given time therefore when it gets busy the customers get frustrated with queues. Average working day was 7am-6pm or 11am-9.30pm
Pros
learn to work in a fast paced environment
Cons
Long hours, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living nightmare
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow12 February 2016
If you enjoy having your soul ripped from your body then this is place for you.

Absolutely worst place ever to work each day is a struggle as it litterely rips the happiness from your soul stand on a till for 10+ hours a day no seat constantly in that one spot and the pain is crippling. You won't get any breaks I work anything from 9-10 hours a day and I'm lucky on a good day I get half an hour that's not of course though If the cashier rings the bell for back. Can't make no plans no commitments don't know what your working one day from the next don't know if your working a Sunday until the Saturday evening so keep your diary clear and days off? I think there only put in the rota to make it look good because guaranteed that phone will be ringing and be asked to come in and if you don't come in there will be an awkward atmosphere and you will get all the horrible shifts for the upcoming weeks. Stock take every two weeks near enough which could last all night yet your still expected to be in at 7am the next day sharp no communication in the place what so ever staff under staffed it's unbelievable I could go on but I would be here all night I once was a happy person before farm foods took its hold on me now not so much
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Absolutely everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment with good learning opportunities
retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow21 January 2016
Everyday is differencial so every concept of the job is accomplished as standard. Learned from management/co-workers how to deal with unexpected situations which was the hardest part of the job due to on the spot decision making, as a result i thrived/enjoyed the experience of cusomer satisfaction.
Pros
customer satisfaction
Cons
Limited promotion oppertunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Retail Environment
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow24 November 2014
Always on the move, whether it be replenishing stock or ordering stock there is plenty to do on any typical day. This also includes interacting with customers in a confident and friendly manner.
Pros
Fast Day
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 23Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT3 October 2014
fun team to work with, over time when needed, till trained, trained in customer service, working to deadlines,
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 21Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgraceful
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow19 May 2014
Constantly forced you to work illegal shifts and stupid hours. management is a joke shout and swear at you. unrealistic goals and targets. Barely and staff.
Pros
Nothing?
Cons
Illegal hours disgusting and unprofessional the way they treat staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  glasgow city Center28 April 2014
Serving Customers , Cash Handling , Stock Taking ,General House cleaning
Pros
local
Cons
school hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thieving Managers!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  PRW Glasgow27 January 2014
I joined Farmfoods part time when I left school and worked my way to Supervisor, and differences with the lazy manager I had to work under I decided to leave and join another company. Fast forward 6 years and a more mature and experienced me re-joins Farmfoods with the aim of making another go at my career with the company. Within the first week or so I notice discrepancies in the cash results of the store, be it till shortages or actual safe shortages - bearing in mind in this branch only 2 people have safe keys, myself and the manager.

One retail assistant had 15+ recorded till discrepancies totalling well over £300, and that didn't include the 6 or 7 during my 5 short weeks there! No investigations or disciplinary action was taken against said staff member and both branch and area manager seemed to just shrug them off. After starting my own investigation and recording happenings in the branch I came to the conclusion that the branch manager was on the take, and after confiding in the area manager this was again shrugged off. I decided it wasn't worth stressing over so quit there and then, only to find out a few months later said branch manager had been sacked. Nice way to end 20+ years service!

Some great shops and people but be wary of those around you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work which is rewarding at a local level
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow3 January 2014
Farmfoods is a great place to work if you value providing a service to local communities, the low staffing levels create a buzz in the stores which allow you to build relationships with regular customers of which there are hundreds every day
I was an assistant manager with Farmfoods for over 5 years, never once worked less than 50 hours a week, when you make issue it tends to fall on deaf ears, but you generally find respect at least at your local branch level.
There is no continuity in the expectations of different area managers which causes a lot of confusion and disarray and the staffing levels really are too low to effectively work to the highest possible standards across the board.
Farmfoods staff are probably the hardest working staff in the world of grocery retail, the speed and intensity of the job means very few people last for any length of time, but those that do last tend to stay for years.
On the downside, where Farmfoods are allegedly growing, it seems that they are shutting down more stores than they are opening, this is resulting in vast numbers of staff many of whom have decades of service being made redundant due to the company choosing not to relocate the majority of staff in store closures.
Pay as an Assistant Manager is a fairly competitive rate, comparative to other companies you do a lot less management duties and a lot more general shopkeeping, and you are also responsible for a lot fewer staff members so it is an easy job in that sense
Pros
good working environment, team spirit, fast paced
Cons
lack of long term security, inconsistency among management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT23 July 2013
restock freezers and shelfs and server customers deal with public
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Farmfoods Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 662 reviews
5103
4125
3147
295
1192

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture