Envigo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly managed
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cambridgeshire9 February 2018
Enviro acquired our thriving small consultancy and ran it into the ground before deciding to close the office and we were made redundant. The office closure was never formally communicated to the rest of our colleagues in other offices. After many loyal years we were effectively shown out the back door with no thanks or goodbye from the company whatsoever. Staff are lovely but sorely unappreciated. Hire staff turnover.
Pros
Lovely colleagues
Cons
Do not value their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Animal Technician (Current Employee) –  Derbyshire7 February 2018
well supported as a team member. Hard work but fun. salary could be better. no two days are the same. colleagues are friendly and approachable..........
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
cage wash (Former Employee) –  Suffolk19 January 2018
Not a good place to work but workers are good the managers do not listen to its workers long working day wage not good and no life outside work and under staffed all the time with high turn over the more you give the more thay want
Pros
good workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best Job I have had.
Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Alconbury18 December 2017
A typical day at work was back breaking labour while all the people who had been there longer would watch you and nag, even though they were supposed to help and train you. You end up chasing people to get trained and even that leads to nothing, while putting up with the most abhorrent behaviour from the current long-term members of staff.
I learnt nothing, except how to scrape up poo.
The management is under improvement, though still has a LONG way to go before they are acceptable.
The workplace culture.... Rude, stand-offish, constant talking about all staff. Also, being hated and ostracised from the beginning for absolutely no reason, apart from the fact everyone there is overworked and underpaid, was definitely not a plus in my book.
Hardest part was dealing with the nasty people in the department. That is also level with being paid minimum wage for working 12 day weeks!
There was quite literally nothing enjoyable about this job.
Pros
Free lunch on your first day
Cons
12 day weeks, minimum wage, horrible staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair pay
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Shardlow, Leicestershire12 December 2017
I started working here as a way to gain experience before moving on. I work with a good group of people, and whilst the job can be repetitive it has been enjoyable. changes to hours and claiming of overtime/ flexi accumulation has lead to discussions of pay. I am absolutely disgusted with the discrepancies of pay, the lack of clarity of any pay scales and feel completely let down by management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun
Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Belton, Leicestershire28 September 2017
Hours are ok, there's flexibility if you need it, some staff take the micky and management don't care really, as long as there alright.
Interview process is lengthy and not worth it, with what they pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable.
Animal technician (Former Employee) –  Belton24 July 2017
Workplace culture is poor.
Overworked and under paid.
When we were struggling to achieve high standard of care required through lack of staff or poor equipment, was told by managers it didn't matter if standards slipped.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Licensed Animal Technician (Current Employee) –  Suffolk29 June 2017
my normal daily work load consists of multiple duties such as the follow; checking of the animals AM and PM.Licensed procedures, husbandry ie, cleaning and replacing of animal bedding, feeding, clinical signs and watering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The animals are fantastic, The management are not.
Technician (Current Employee) –  Oxfordshire12 March 2017
I love the animals I work with.
However, there has always been an issue with the high rate of staff turnover, and it has now got to a point where people are staying behind to finish extra tasks due to under-staffing. Management have been made aware of this but no changes have been made. The majority of people here have said they are only staying here for the animals.
Pros
The animals
Cons
Long hours, management do not help with staffing issue, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire8 March 2017
Salary and job advancement is limited after a while
Management could be more supportive.
Company atmosphere has changed since company merger with Harlan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Employee (Current Employee) –  Huntingdonshire, UK8 February 2017
Not a bad place to work although pay scales are terrible compared to other CRO's... not much time off and is very much run as a "if your face fits" kind of company. Met some great friends here and there are some chances of progression if you are in the right department.
Pros
Fantastic animals and made some great friends
Cons
Poor pay scale, long hours, large scale of staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and varied
Divisional Director (Current Employee) –  Huntingdon16 September 2016
No two days are ever the same. The environment is both challenging and varied with a good mix of opportunities and potential for growth. The future should be exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Good for career opportunities
Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon7 September 2016
I love my job, has good career opportunities, pay could be better, and working every other weekend leaves you feeling drained. Management could be better, not enough communication and don't understand we have lives outside work.
Pros
The animals, the work, and the people
Cons
Long hours, work to many weekends, pay isn't brilliant
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active
Animal Technician (Current Employee) –  Huntingdon2 September 2016
A lot of hours but good pay. People are friends and it is a good career ladder to join if you're interested in building up to a good well paid career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management to worker consultation
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shardlow21 July 2016
Worked for the Shardlow based part of this company for several years then the management ethics changed and it became all about making money and not about the employees or what the customer wanted, poor pay, expected to take on more and more work for same money, cant keep staff.
Pros
Free Parking
Cons
Poor pay, poor communication, expected to do more than contract says even unrelated jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Senior Technician (Current Employee) –  Occold, ENG25 January 2016
many specimens to sort in a day.
Learnt about nasty bits of human ailments.
Management were good. Co-workers very friendly. All worked well as a team or on own.
Everything was enjoyable.
Pros
Lovely canteen
Cons
Very poor salary even at top rate of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but not right for me
Animal Technician (Former Employee) –  Suffolk21 December 2015
I felt that this job wasn't right for me because I didn't feel comfortable performing scientific research on animals. Not that I was against it, I just didn't feel comfortable being a part of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Senior Planner (Current Employee) –  Alconbury3 November 2015
Envigo is based in Alconbury

I have worked there since 2004 in many variable roles

I do not wish to review this company at this time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 39Report

See more Envigo reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Envigo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 32 reviews
55
44
39
26
18

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.6Culture

Envigo Reviews by Location