Edinburgh Napier University Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work - bullying culture
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh18 April 2019
Toxic office environments, back stabbing and non stop gossips and clique colleague work culture which can be intimidating- especially in Merchiston Campus. Not inclusive!
.Very hostile atmosphere and the managers will treat you like you are a child and will favouritise those individuals they are friends with instantly.
Intrigues, ganging up against someone they don like and black mailing to drive you insane until you pushed out to leave.
HR does not want to be involved- indicating you are on your own- not happy just leave!
You will be dragged into participating in workplace conversations that leave you drained of optimism. When you are surrounded by people who feel negatively about your workplace, it’s difficult to remove yourself from the spirit of negativity
You will complain to your family about work each night.
Managers even get clicky with certain staff members and don't act professional and happy to discuss colleagues personal issues out loud. If you complain about bulling - no support at all- you will be blamed instead!
.
Incredibly Low morale! Definite favoritism amongst staff. Not a good company to work for, if you are disliked!
If you care about your sanity and health- avoid at all cost!
Pros
Holidays, salary
Cons
-Micro management Low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Systems Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh9 April 2019
It was a great experience to work at the University. Management and staff is very cooperative and encouraging. there was a good work life balance. There were many opportunities to grow further.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great package and benefits
Business Development Executive (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh20 January 2019
Well paid and great work life balance. Not well managed if in professional services . Culture is great and staff retention is very high. Willing to support development and an inclusive employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grinding workload and bullying culture
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh15 January 2019
Worked here for a long time. Other roles are okay but academic roles are 60 hours per week and are so short staffed that there are delivery of core service issues and so you work weekends, all unpaid. Not easy taking holidays etc. Lot of bullying to make this happen. Lots and lots of long term staff sickness that doesn’t Get covered, so you need to add it to your long list of tasks. More senior roles are very well paid and a lot easier but no real internal progression from lecturer level up. Or it typically takes 15 years. No staff room, no caring for staff, silent treatment and ghosting from colleagues and the various administration systems don’t really work. Difficult to move on from career-wise. Very unhappy ship. Just go for the job if you are desperate. Non-academic roles are much better terms and conditions though.
Pros
The students
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, central campus atmsophere
School Operations Officer (Current Employee) –  Merchiston Campus, Edinburgh7 January 2019
Edinburgh Napier is a really good employer; they care about their staff well being and work/life balance. There are some great benefits not least the pension contribution, gym access at Sighthill and the possibility of flexible working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good all round
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh1 January 2019
Flexible employer, inclusive culture and commitment to building the student experience. professional environment, treated as an individual, lack of office politics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh10 October 2018
I taught and supervised undergraduate and postgraduate students. I also carried out research in own areas of specialism.

The management had unreasonable demands that were going way beyond my contractual hours. I often received job security threats from the management. Work to life balance was particularly bad. Little job security despite that I was outperforming many of my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh22 August 2018
I enjoyed working here. They were flexible if you needed to work from home. I really liked the offices, they were lovely and open and airy. Great HR team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be extremly rewarding
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh8 August 2018
Plan for meetings, office work can end up dealing with anything from boiler/heating system not working, manage contractors and direct labour for the undertaking of legislative P.P.M. maintenance and repairs.
Good place to work friendly and reasonably relaxed
Can be a challenge with budgets and at times dealing with academics
As above
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Part Time, Campaign (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh9 May 2018
Fantastic place to work at. Comprehensive training, fair pay, good hours and clear objectives to achieve. Helpful supervisors and good work atmosphere - everyone is very friendly and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good temporary experience.
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh13 April 2018
Good temporary assignment. Hour for lunch. Agresso. Excel v-lookups and pivot tables. On road parking. Salary crosscharge journals. Open plan office in modern tower block.
Pros
Hour for lunch.
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Web Developer (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh27 November 2017
I done my masters along with GHA project.
Global Health Apps is an independent startup company focused on enabling professionally guided and health management and seeks to be the trusted partner of health professionals and consumers alike.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Job
Representative (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh2 October 2017
Worked around your schedule and studies Friendly staff, great work environment, you can socialise on the job, getting to know new students and promoting the university
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bogged down with poliitics
Programme Administrator (Current Employee) –  Craiglockhart, Edinburgh2 August 2017
Micro management has been introduced which has reduced the morale greatly. It is difficult to find an enjoyable part of the job any more, when someone is constantly looking over your shoulder!
Pros
previous opportunity to travel
Cons
micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to Work here
IT Support (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh30 July 2017
Is a great place to work nice people, great salary, nice environment, good opportunities to train, good holiday package. For me the hardest thing was that as I work on a casual basis, so although is hard to get guaranteed hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Givende og motiverende arbeidsplass
International student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  City of Edinburgh20 July 2017
Stillingen innebærer å svarer spørsmål om universitet via mail og forteller om min egen opplevelse som student i utlandet. Dette er en meget givende jobb jeg trives godt med. Har får jeg bidratt til at nye studenter som skal studere i utlandet for første gang er mer forberedt til at de skal oppleve. Jeg satt veldig pris på all hjelpen jeg fikk selv!

Jeg er veldig fornøyd med lederen min som hjelper meg hvis det er noe jeg lurer på og får god oppfølging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Sport Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh27 June 2017
Good work life balance, develop staff well, approachable management, pay well, look after staff, helpful in other areas of employment, good working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research oriented
Summer Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh20 June 2017
I worked here as a Research intern throughout summer, and later as a student demonstrator, during my degree. The environment was exactly what you'd expect of a University
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telephone Fundraiser
Telefon-Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, UK24 May 2017
Arbeitsklima war sehr angenehm und die Arbeit hat Spaß gemacht.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Student (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh6 February 2017
Great staff that want to see you succeed. Helpful tutors that show you what you need to know. Nice facilities that are open 24 hours a day. Perfect for studying at exam time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Edinburgh Napier University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 34 reviews
514
413
32
22
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Edinburgh Napier University Reviews by Location