EAT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eat is a company that you can further more to be manager
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Royal Festival Hall26 March 2018
Eat encourage people to further their talent,to be focuse and also self dependant.And you also get maternity leave,sick pay,holiday pay as well.Eat is the best.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente divertido
Se desempeña como Vendedora y Cajera Café EAT (Former Employee) –  Londres, Inglaterra13 March 2018
Trabajamos en equipo siempre desde muy temprano en la mañana. Cada mañana a las 6 am abríamos y elaborábamos la comida a servir a los clientes.
Siempre muy ocupados trabajo a presión pero muy delicado e impecable .Aprendí a manejar mis tiempos y preparar comida saludable trabajar en equipo con personas de otros países siguiendo instrucciones de la dirección y supervisor (a) manteniendo la armonía y respeto entre todos.
Lo mas difícil era compatibilidad con mi horario de estudios.
Me gustaba mucho trabajar en equipo y armonía; esto hacia que los clientas regresen al local y se sintieran satisfechos de nuestra labor y con ello ganamos un premio como equipo ; el mejor local de atención al cliente de EAT en Londres, premio que recibimos en efectivo cada trabajador del local.
Pros
seguro social
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the worst employer I have ever had
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 February 2018
I worked with EAT for over 6 years and during that time I witnessed some of the most awful management from director down to shop level. With the arrival of senior management from Pret it was inevitable that EAT would take on a lot of things from Pret. Great - higher standards, better products and fresh ideas. Unfortunately the great and good from Pret expected overnight change and when this did not happen the purge of managers began. Slowly existing managers were either 'managed out' or sacked and were replaced by new managers recruited from....yep, you guessed it, Pret. Soon many of the operations managers were replaced by ex Pret, new team members brought into shops by ops managers were ex Pret. As well as this there were other questionable practices. GM's being told that they were not permitted to contact HR, team members being asked to spy on managers in other shops and report back if they fail to follow any of the standards. There is so much more I could say but this isn't the place. Unfortunately if you combine this with the everyday pressures of the job then it becomes increasingly difficult to get any enjoyment from the job. EAT really could be a great place to work but until they start treating their employees with a little dignity and respect they will continue to get reviews like this from people like me who resigned because they could no longer cope with the 60 hour weeks that came with no thanks.
Pros
The opportunity to meet people
Cons
I think I covered that one
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maybe not bad job, but not at the airport
Customer Host (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh Airport25 February 2018
It was good at start and getting worse with every month. Company was saving money on a Staff.
Always short of Staff. Lack of Staff selection - everybody works there, doesn't matter if they are good or not. Lots of irresponsible and lazy people who were calling sick (without being sick) so often what was disorganising work (one person short, more work for others), getting phone calls on days off etc.
Crazy working hours and rota. Super busy shop.
Pros
Staff meal, friendly team, flexible hours
Cons
almost no bonus, weak team work, phone calls on days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Assistant manager, supervisor (Former Employee) –  London1 February 2018
This compagnie is very helpful to help you in your evolution and personnal project. Every shop is a place where you can meet fun people and work with a good atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy concept, good food
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Lendenhall market31 January 2018
Very busy retail catering company with shop outlets all over London and other part of uk. Food concept is generally okay and seen 18 years ago as main competitor to Pret.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No guest guest engagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the time you need it.
Customer Host (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 January 2018
EAT is a great place to work if you have either ambition to move up or to move out, it is hard work not for people just looking for a causal job and at the low end it may not feel too worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Host (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 January 2018
Marketing is poorly communicated from head office to team members.
Senior management make no effort to speak to team members and are not approachable or friendly.
They expect very high standards and work even on minimum wage.
Website/career portal discusses 'great career opportunities' even though no one has been sent on a training programme in the past 12 months in my store.
Constantly changing
Pros
free food, nice team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Una empresa joven llena de oportunidades
Jefe de cocina (Former Employee) –  Bristol5 December 2017
La empresa desde un principio confio en mi, dandome la oportunidad de demostrar mis capacidades, siempre se me brindo un trato profesional en todos los aspectos, incluso se me brindo un profesor de ingles particular para potenciar y mejorar mi ingles, la empresa esta comprometida con su comunidad, y con sus empleados, solo puedo decir que es sin dudas una de las mejores empresas en las que he trabajado , pudiendo sentir que se me dio la posibilidad de creder como profesional dentro de esta profesion que tanto amo.
Pros
Continua formacion y motivacion del empleado
Cons
Realmente no puedo encontrar ninguna contra
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fair Bonus
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Westminster, Greater London17 November 2017
evreyday We non stop asking customers 2 question
"take away" or "eat in"
"any hot drink?"
somtime we have to ask 2-3 times for same customers, becoz they never ans. we got 4 weeks pass for mystery shop. but we just got one week bouns, where is our 3 weeks bouns?
i know top 30% shops can get bonus.
but management have to know, we pass 4 week, just got 1 week, just that mean, we dont need to ask anymore, the result is same, and teammember never know which shop can get bonus, the head office never make it public, so u dont give bonus to some shop, save some money, no one knows?
Pros
free food, but not only this company can do it
Cons
too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London17 November 2017
Have gained a lot of experience on a variety of fields such as cash handling, quick service, preparing hot food and baguettes, time management as the job requires you to be quick in order to please the customers and also have been trained to be a barista. The whole team worked in sink which made everyones job easier and therefore made everyone a very happy colleague.
Pros
£6 daily allowance and 50% off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo divertido
Dependienta/Cajera (Former Employee) –  londres19 September 2017
Ambiente divertido, los companeros siempre trabajaban en equipo y no habia ningun problema entre ellos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buzz
Supervisor/ Customer Host (Former Employee) –  London11 September 2017
If it's not broke don't fix it.

Too many changes that made no impact on sales.

The pressure was then put on staff to fill voids in customer service that became unattainable.

Many good people left.
Pros
Lunch on the house
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Eastcheap19 August 2017
Multicultural teams, easy to work with, very engaging customers (from my point of view). Provides opportunities to grow inside the company. Learned how to multitask, manage a heterogeneous team and deal with potential complaints.
Pros
Free meals.
Cons
Work on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot
Customer Host (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester2 August 2017
A customer host is hard work and emptying the bins and cleaning etc isn't for everyone. It consists of the standard jobs restocking shelves cooking food, prepping sandwiches. However management wasn't too good, there was often too many or too little staff on shift.
Pros
Lunch allowance
Cons
Physically draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 July 2017
Fantastic atmosfere, great colleagues, great food, happy customers, located near the marvelous Saint Paul Cathedral overwhelmed by sun and cold drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible company with bad talent management
Barista (Former Employee) –  London, UK12 July 2017
In my short experience here I saw how disorganised this company is. The manager spends too much time supervising their employees instead of focusing on value added tasks.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feel like working in Asia
Retail Team Member (Current Employee) –  London4 July 2017
Only care about the customers.
They want us to do many things at the same time ,also do really fast and well ,meanwhile need to follow all the policies and rules. This is not good for anyone. Nothing get done properly and staff get exhausted which leads to slower and worse team. And that's not customers want as well.
I actually got used to change my clothes in that storage room which has many chemical liquids.
My point is there's definitely a reason (or some reasons) why people come and go a lot or even lied about they were heading back to their countries while quitting.
Pros
£6 lunch and 50% discount
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay, Operation Managers treat you like animals
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Strutton Ground8 June 2017
Pay for Managers below avarage and expectations to high , its just probably up to Operational Manager always asking to do a lot of extra hours for free, not appriciated for what you do, no motivation at all, bonus sheme (Forget about that )
Pros
50% discount
Cons
Bad ops managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London15 May 2017
This work is about customers and customers only. Your job is to lead your team to provide as good customer service as possible and to drive sales. The management is usually professional and supportive but that depends on the shop and area you are in. The hardest part of the job is long hours and work overload. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with your team and having fun out of it. It does not last long though sometimes due to high staff turnover including GMs and area managers.
Pros
Free staff meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EAT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 75 reviews
517
428
318
27
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture