East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying
Healthcare (Current Employee) –  Kent1 June 2018
You have to be caring compassionate confident to do this work the hours are long in some departments not enough breaks it’s good place to work most of the time
Cons
Longer breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but rewarding
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent15 February 2018
Always busy but very rewarding. Great team to be a part of. Lovely people to work with. I think the progression for staff was a bit of a let down as there isn’t the any funding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction
Theatre Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent16 January 2018
Loved my career within the nhs
Enjoyed caring for others. Support there if needed. Can be challenging at times but rewarding at others. Courses on offer and promition
Pros
Great people
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job satisfaction in giving service to the public
Charitable Funds Manager (Former Employee) –  Canterbury7 January 2018
Workload can be stressful but very rewarding. Patient orientated giving job satisfaction. Opportunities to develop within a reasonably secure job environment.
Pros
Flexible working available
Cons
High workloads in stressful situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a an excellent area
Sister (Current Employee) –  Ashford, Kent12 September 2017
I have worked for East kent for a while and although its had a tough review from the cqc it remains an excellent place to work. Just needs some improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job but rewarding and great colleagues
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent23 July 2017
A typical day is having to get together the orders for wards and other hosptals within the trust. You learn some good skills and deal with a wide range of issues which manegement help you with. I won't lie it is a tough job with many uncertainties but there are some great colleagues who embrace you as one of theirselves. The hardest part of the job is not always having the supplies you need or support from top management, that said I really do enjoy it and feel sorry for the slating our CEO is getting as his hands are tied.
Pros
Amazing colleagues
Cons
The lack of support or communication sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff but poorly managed
FY2 Doctor (Current Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent13 July 2017
Friendly teams of staff. But incredibly poorly managed. The hospital is currently being dismantled which has created a fairly toxic environment.
Patient care is fairly good on an individual level but overall the system is working against staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Data Quality Officer (Former Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent31 May 2017
Not Great . Worked there 2 year. Felt forgotton about. Moved out of main offices to run own team. Had not development oppoutunites. Liked the team but didnt feel like part of it
Pros
Not manay
Cons
No Development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developing organisation
Quality Improvement facilitator (Current Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent12 December 2016
EKHUFT is a well managed organisation that is currently striving to develop in order to provide sustainable healthcare to the local community.
Pros
Excellent leadership
Cons
Capacity and demand
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team, challanging job
Ednoscopy Department Administrator (Current Employee) –  Margate, Kent26 November 2016
I have developed strong communication skills, problem solving and prioritising skills. I have learned to be patient towards patients, and I have found that I always will try to do my best to help, unfortunately this is not always possible. The most enjoyable part of the job is when patients phone or write to thank our small team for getting their appointment arranged.
Pros
great team
Cons
different shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organisation under pressure
Manager (Current Employee) –  East Kent15 May 2016
Pressured environment in need or cultural change; in areas ineffectual senior mangement teams possibly as a result of internal promotion of personnel to positions skill sets unsuited to role.
Pros
Trying to give impression of improvement (due to CQC pressures)
Cons
Senior Teams protecting their positions (well paid)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, pressured environment. Fast paced and unpredictable
Receptionist Minor Injuries Unit (Former Employee) –  Dover21 March 2016
My day would be dealing with patients and their relatives etc. attending the hospital with injuries. Tact, patience and confidentiality were paramount.

I would have to explain to impatient people about waiting times which could lead to verbal abuse from some people. Keeping a cool head and being polite in such situations was important to try and diffuse possible conflict. This was probably the hardest part of the role but also taught be how to speak to people and how to resolve issues.

The most enjoyable part of the role was in being able to help people when they were in pain, for example and taking the time to show that I cared about their circumstances.

The unit was a close knit team of all staff from the unit manager to medical and administration staff. We all had to work together otherwise the unit would not function for the benefit of patients and visitors alike.
Pros
Team based environment working closely together
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place to work
Business Admin Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Canterbury, ENG12 July 2015
Kent and canterbury Hospital is a very warm welcoming place to work. The staff are very friendly and you never feel alone if you are not sure what you are doing.
Cons
Long hours, no flexibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transforming Service Provision
Change (Current Employee) –  Kent various hospitals31 May 2013
Forward moving at a fast pace. Significant Service Improvement Projects.

Great executive team on board too
Pros
Training and personal development
Cons
Waiting for signatures
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
55
43
38
20
10

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust Reviews by Job Title

East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust Reviews by Location