East Dunbartonshire Council Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire12 March 2019
theres no one watching u constantly which makes you feel relaxed and not under pressure which means you can get on with the job with no distractions unlike other work places
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handy if you stay local
Roofing Contractor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow30 January 2019
There are 2 sides to the council,capital side and maintenance side,I work on the capital side where you are kept busy,if you keep your supervisor informed,as for the maintenance side,they’re basically on an emergency work load
Pros
Good pension
Cons
Not everyone is treated the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Heavy vehicle mechanical engineer (Former Employee) –  Bishopbriggs22 November 2018
All the guys in the garage are fun to work with and I loved working there it’s a good place to work and I recommend it to anybody who is wabtungbto be a mechanic
Pros
Non
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much going for it really
Clerical Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch25 August 2018
One of the most miserable places I have ever worked. Everyone is miserable and bitter. They lost the majority of their good staff who took voluntary redundancy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Team Leader cleaner (Current Employee) –  Bearsden, East Dunbartonshire7 May 2018
Ok place to work , currently wanting to reduce your rights under for retirement and redundancy. Never see management and always having to swap stuff between site to get the work done
Pros
council Pension
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a good employer to work for
Home carer personal carer (Current Employee) –  Kirkintilloch20 April 2018
I love my job as a homecarer but it’s time to move on to something new and would love to work with palliative care as I feel I have a lot of care to give I’ve been with Edc for 17 years and have a lot of experience
Pros
Good rate of pay
Cons
Terrible Rota
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursery Practitioner Private Sector
Private nursery (Current Employee) –  Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire12 February 2018
I work in the private nursery sector not East Dunbartonshire Council, although our nursery have links with the council. I work in a private nursery in the East Dunbartonshire area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and simple
Landscape Gardener (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow2 January 2018
I had worked here for a good bit and enjoyed it very much unfortunately was still a young pup and wasn't fully focused but had learned a lot about different tools to use and different jobs to do have gained quite a bit of knowledge through it
Pros
quite relaxed
Cons
dragged in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work , I'm at a stage where I feel need to get back on the open roads again
Squad leader (Current Employee) –  Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire27 June 2017
My typical day at work consists of collecting domestic refuse from approx 2000 households in East Dumbartonshire and making sure my crew adhere to all aspects of health and safety also I deal with residents complaints
Pros
Good pay for my role
Cons
Work from 7 am to 18:30 pm it can b along day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Refuse Collector (Current Employee) –  Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire2 June 2017
Currently an employee at Hilton Depot and all I can say is avoid. Shifts are rubbish, job is rubbish and mangers are not helpful. Not the immediate gaffers but the corporate gaffers above. Taking holidays benefits off you all time and pay is next. Get a 45 day notice for contract take it or leave it. Joke of a place.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Volunteer Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, UK22 January 2017
I was a volunteer youth worker. A typical day included organising activities and handling money. My experience was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying and Racism
prefer not to mention (Former Employee) –  East Dunbartonshire17 November 2016
I've witnessed bullying amongst management towards workers. I've also witnessed, first hand, racist remarks from management towards other employees as well as to members of the public after hanging up from the phone, utterly disgraceful in these times!
On a slightly more positive note, the company pay a bit better than the rest but I would rather take less pay than work in an environment of immature, bullying and racist staff.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
bullying and racism
Was this review helpful?Yes 49NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful working environment
Social worker (Former Employee) –  kirkintolloch23 September 2016
I would not advise anyone to work with this council as there is a strong bullying culture along with a lack of support from managers. Limited opportunity for career advancement due to being a small council.
Avoid if you want a career in social work
Pros
Salary
Cons
blame culture, limited career development, no manager support, lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 44NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brill place to work and best paying council
Seasonal Squad Leader (Current Employee) –  Hilton Depot14 July 2016
Currently employed as a seasonal driver at the Hilton depot management really good to work for they always have time to talk to you and the workers all a good laugh good bunch of gays to work with and pay is good aswell no complaints about this depot every one will always help you out
Pros
10 out of 10
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilities Site Co-ordinator
Site Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch2 June 2015
A typical working day can be long and sometimes start early and finish late and the 'Split Duties' can be negative. The hardest part of the job is dealing with late night functions and people who have drank alcohol is a bug-bear as they never listen to reason and are always unreasonable and sometime bordering on aggressive with threatening behaviour. Co-workers can be a great help and the best part of the job is just them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First statutory position post qualifition
Children and Families Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch30 January 2015
I was employed as a part of the Young People and Youth Justice team and was extremely fortunate to have been surrounded by both colleagues and managers who were knowledgeable, encouraging and supportive during my first few daunting months. This environment was an ideal first placement for me to develop my skills, knowledge and confidence in my role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 28Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
willing to work anywhere in doors or outdoors
gardener (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch, SCT25 January 2015
I am a hard worker and I am willing to pyt my hand to anything as I would be gratefull for any work as I am a hard worker and a good time keeper
Cons
willing to work any hours and over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied job role
Learning and Development Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT4 November 2014
A typical day at work could be developing a range of courses for stand up delivery and enhancing these with e-learning development (Blended)
I would usually meet with managers to discuss training needs and suggest options for their teams.

There were a number of high profile initiatives which I was part of including employment law training for managers.

East Dunbartonshire Council placed the development of employees as a priority.

Managers work hard at East Dunbartonshire I have a great deal of respect for them they have had to deal with huge financial pressures but they deliver. This is probably the hardest part of the job delivering training to employees with a diminishing budget.

The council recognised this and invested in their e-learning platform from Brightwave. This became the most enjoyable part for me. I very quickly had the opportunity to learn new skills and put these into practice. They invested in me by purchasing an Adobe Captivate licence. This was a real turning point for me, I learned fast and was able to produce some really innovative content
Pros
Freedom to innovate
Cons
reduced budgets
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for people with young children
School Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch20 August 2014
The job intails lots of clerical work and supervision of pupils.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
No full time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place to learn youre apprenticeship
PLASTERER (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch, SCT19 August 2014
A day at work involved skimming full walls & ceilings, straightening walls, rough casting, cement rendering etc. During my apprenticeship I learned all of the above things as well as cornice and coving, and preparing running moulds at College. As well as my Plastering when at work I also undertook some tiling and floor screeding.

At work, management pushed me to learn as much as I could as an apprentice, I got on well with all my co-workers, whom I also learned at lot from, and have made some life long friendships whilst at East Dunbartonshire Council.

There was nothing in this position that I found overly difficult, however, there were jobs which could be challenging, and it always gave me great job satisfaction at overcoming these.

In my normal working day, leaving customers happy, with a good polished finish was by far the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at East Dunbartonshire Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 28 reviews
510
46
36
24
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

East Dunbartonshire Council Reviews by Location