Dunelm Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management lets Good Drivers down
7.5tonne Home Deliver Driver (Former Employee) –  Northampton23 February 2018
Good, friendly Drivers but still very high turnover.
Depot management awful as is the Office.
Not a nice company to work for.
Lorries are sometimes NOT loaded.
sent out with inexperienced Drivers Mates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place ever
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire20 February 2018
Very unorganized, management are very hard to talk to, always lie to you n make empty promises, stupidly strict on the rules e.g if your off sick even with a doctor's note you get a warning (feels like you getting punished for been ill) not very understanding on personal matters at home and have no respect for employees
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but some staff are so rude
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland19 February 2018
Good place to work the management is great but some staff members are the rudest people you will ever meet. No wonder that have got customer complaints. You definitely need to be tough skinned to work there
Pros
Good discount and good wage
Cons
Really rude staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 February 2018
Horrible place to work, horrible staff, not welcoming, not a nice place, not very understanding, don’t care about staff, dreaded going in to work. Wouldn’t advise anyone to work there.
Pros
Non
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire9 February 2018
Poor management, the team leader are bad, the pay is okay but not great. they change hours without letting you know and they are rude. not a good place to work
Pros
discount
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll give blood
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Radcliffe CSC6 February 2018
Worked here a few years until I could do it no more.
management very much lacking in management skills especially higher management I'm sorry to say. Unable to make decisions and they allow advisors to make their own decisions how to resolve complaints.
Every call is a complaint due to the state of business since taking on a plethora of inadequate companies who have destroyed Dunelm's previous fabulous reputation. This was the reason I was proud to work there then ashamed to admit I did. Just check their social media to see what goes on.
Personally saw managers verbally bullying staff and observed racism in the workplace.
Pros
Free fruit, being paid
Cons
Inflexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst work experience of my life
Counter Staff (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon1 February 2018
very often left on my own at the tills for 2 or more hours ,impossible to go to the toilet or have a drink management were impossible to talk to so rude ,they didn't care about family life or your quality of life , breaks were all over the place as there was a pecking order and if the one in front of you decided they wanted a later break you would sometimes not get yours till nearly the end of your shift , customers extremely rude .....not a good experience
Pros
staff discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester29 January 2018
Great place to work, friendly staff and usually friendly customers. Plenty of room for promotion. Management changes quite frequently each implementing new things however I still found it a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Coffee Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cramlington29 January 2018
it was a great place to work accommodating to family circumstances and understanding great team to work with and managers are lovely would love to go back
Pros
great team and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant place to work
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford27 January 2018
- Overall the place and the people are friendly, welcoming and very patient and have been since the first day of my interview process.
- The company itself tries and succeeds in making quality products available to it's customers, as well as giving them the best service available to them.
- The management is lovely, and try hard to facilitate each employee's/colleagues needs.
Pros
The Management, Salary, Company, People and Benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotas arent flexible but they want you to be.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worcester27 January 2018
Good pay. Rubbish discount compared to other companies. The Rotas are just put up really hard to book time off. They put overtime on you they never ask. Would not work for them again. Nice staff though
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Rotas hours and shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend to anyone
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  North East27 January 2018
Management atrocious, whole set up is terrible. In my 25 years working in retail I have never known a place like this. ‘Favourites’ and if your face fits. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians. No appreciation or thanks for how hard the staff work. Would not recommend working for this company
Cons
Staff not listened to and management have their own ‘favourites’
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire27 January 2018
Learned some great skills, A great place to work, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job would be is to many jobs and not a lot of time in the day to do them.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire23 January 2018
This role involved using a PDA to locate stock, assemble orders and prepare for dispatch using LLOPs and voice
control headsets .This was a team role with targets and deadlines whilst following company health and safety practices,using
computers and data shame it was tempers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great collegues
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow22 January 2018
Managers have no sympathy for any situation which interferes with their rota.Even though rota is only given a few days in advance. Sickness also taken extremely seriously. Little confidentiality between managers and other staff members. Colleagues the only redeeming factor. Learnt alot. Good opportunity to improve skills.
Pros
Good hourly wage
Cons
Rota only given a few days prior
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire19 January 2018
There’s a lot of things to do and be trained on from tills and refunds to net curtain and fabric cutting. Nice being able to speak to customers and grow connections with frequent customers. Staff are friendly and will always help and include you.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Breaks are too short, work a 9 hour shift and only receive a half hour break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting and inconsistant
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Radcliffe18 January 2018
Working at Dunelm has been a disappointing experience, mostly due to the lack of consistency with management.
Shifts are changed at little or no notice.
There is no support from managers, focus is on stats with customer service coming a poor second.
Communication within the company and between departments is shockingly poor and shows no sign of improvement.

I would not recommend this company to any of my friends.
Pros
Free fruit
Cons
Constant changes to shift pattern with no consideration for staff personal lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company - there way
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester13 January 2018
The company advertises itself as employee friendly which they are not - they have no union on site and therefore bend the rules and are on the thin, invisible line
Working a full shift u are given one 30 min break if u want an extra 15 mins u have to work an extra 15 mins on top of your shift - flexibility isn’t there strong point - if you are one minute late it is recorded - documented and after 3 times u are invited to an investigation meeting ... this company Is the one of worst I ever worked for - they don’t understand employees rights - and heaped more pressure on staff each day - they call it upskilling or multi tasking - stress came to mind
Management was all but hopeless - they had no experienced managers, or maybe one or two I am being unfair there - with life skills and knowledge and managers don’t know how to speak or interact with staff - they are blindsided and if you had a question or challenged them - with valid points you are told it is the way it is
It is a shame as this company has potential could be run so much better but when management are only interested in themselves staff have no hope
Would I work here again ..... no ....would I recommend it .... no ..... what was the best part about this place - leaving at the end of my shift
Pros
Could make a brew
Cons
Going home at the end of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management from the top down.
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent12 January 2018
I worked as a Team leader at the distribution warehouse in Stoke on Trent for 8 yeatsWorking nights I regularly was expected to run the whole shift o my own. Goods in, Picking and despatch. Also deal with anything else the noon shift manager had directed me to carry out.
I went on a well deserved holiday to come back to no job. I was told I was my good enough. By the general manager who had only just arrived.
This was the first and last time I saw him. I was made redundant on the first of July 2016.
Now I hear, that if you do not work a least two Saturdays a month for normal pay you get discipline and loose your job.

Sorry but it's the worst company I have had the pleasure of working for. To get knocked down like that after giving 8 years of loyal service to, what was a good company to work for.
Pros
They let you go home after you have been there for your shift and some.
Cons
Bad management from the very top down to the section managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Horsham, West Sussex4 January 2018
I was happy at the start when the shop opened and the management were nice to start with then as time went on, if the shop was under pressure then the management would certainly make you feel awful too.
You are tricked into working weekends or hours that you can't even commit to, that you made clear you couldn't do at the start, because of other commitments.
I did enjoy my time there and made friends for life and I would say if there was nicer management I would have enjoyed it more.
Pros
Made friends for life
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport