DULUX DECORATOR CENTRE Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Derby3 April 2019
No training or help your just expected to know what your doing. Unnescessaraly Overly complicated role I would stay well away, management is no good at all and no help
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  North East8 March 2019
Over worked and you have to jump through hoops with little staff and an IT system that is dreadful and always crashing

The customer has to be king but you have no tools to offer this as the above shows that and the upper management seem to just ignore this and the company as no NO direction in how to get where it wants to be.. Shame as it has some GREAT long term staff there who don't deserve this kind of treatment and will end up leaving in time

PLEASE AVOID at ALL costs as you will regret it later..
Pros
Free Uniform
Cons
Work load and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ddc
Regional Lead - Procedural (Current Employee) –  Altrincham18 January 2019
A Fantastic place to work. Every day is different. Approachable management and very good pay and rewards.Over the years I have progressed to different roles
Pros
progression
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire6 December 2018
Good place to work on day to day basis.
,Employees problems/concerns / grievances not dealt quickly enough. .
Training was non existent
Progression up the ladder ??
Pros
Company Good
Cons
No progression to next level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions.
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, West Yorkshire31 October 2018
Worked at Halifax store. Poor working conditions and terrible management. New store manager was lazy, unhelpful , and arrogant. Other review on here for Halifax store was written by this manager hence the spelling errors.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management. Not enough staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver / Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall29 September 2018
Totally enjoyable job great people to work with fantastic manager always loved a laugh but also needed the job done. I work go back tomorrow but moved away
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Working some weekends and bank holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Halifax12 September 2018
Enjoyed working at Dulux, other staff was always on hand to help.
was always given advise if needed.
was shown new skills
wasn;t keen on working saturdays
Pros
discount paint
Cons
working saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and Friendly Workplace
CUSTOMER ASSISTANT/DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Hereford, Herefordshire5 August 2018
Very nice place to work. Can be a little quiet, but that's sometimes exactly what you need.
I found that as the driver, that it can feel a bit disconnected when you have to come back and work on the shop floor.
Pros
Lots of free tea/coffee
Cons
Can feel a little lonely if you're a driver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management and, therefore extremely high staff turnover
van driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 July 2018
Horrible company to work for, doesn't treat staff well, manger is a bully. Company only seems to care about the money they make and not the customers or the staff working for them!,No overtime

Poor management, not understanding or helpful, poor environment, poor staff,if you disagree or outshine your line manager they will find a way to get you sacked.
Pros
none
Cons
No overtime Poor management, not understanding or helpful, poor environment, poor staff understaffed, overworked not appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely customer focussed
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom11 July 2018
What I love most about this job is that it is completely focussed on the customer compared to my previous job role. Customers appreciate the amount of time you can spend with them helping to inspire and choose their colour schemes together and this makes the job fulfilling.
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
basic pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed ,overworked not appreciated
store manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 May 2018
after 11 years I decided to call it a day ! I had the same staff hours as when I started by the work had increased 10 fold . With limited staff you are expected to lone work for many hours multi tasking. With every redundancy at Head Office a new role becomes bolted on to the store manager role . Shopkeeper,Account manager, data processing. IT expert . cant keep spinning all those plates all the time eventually decided to give up.....
Pros
secure job
Cons
as above
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pricing ourselves out of the market
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester15 April 2018
No care for loyal customer by decreasing their discount's. Micro managed from H/O. Lost a lot of experience to bring in a younger cheaper generation. People being worked out if they don't fit the criteria of certain management
Pros
Good teams in stores
Cons
Power has gone to a certain h/o managers head
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work, always under staffed
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Oldham13 December 2017
Dulux really have lost their way, all of the admin takes priority over the customers and the work life balance. Senior management haven't got a clue what is required operationally to run a store, they seriously cannot get their heads out of excel sheets for five minutes to wake up and smell the coffee. The day to day systems are that process heavy that you literally can spend all day doing admin without seeing a customer. When you do get to see a customer the system not only takes ages top boot up, but also has that many issues that you have to overcome a two minute transaction can be stretched out to half an hour easily.
On a plus note the staff that I worked with were great and the crack with the customers.
Pros
Finish at 5
Cons
Work through lunch, put in extra hours and never get overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland13 September 2017
You will meet amazing people here. The job is different every single day. 7-4 shift pattern or 8-5 shift patter mon-fri. You'll need to work most Saturdays and claim back time in lieu.

Job is easy enough most days, however you'll be piled up with new things every single week which you'll need to adhere to. So you'll need to do your main job (sell paint) plus carry out 101 other things like credit checks/banking/ special orders/stock checks/cleaning/ training/ complaints/ enquiries.

Other than a mass work overload the job is amazing. You want and must get into a managers role as soon as possible.
Pros
Good shift patterns/ occasional bonus
Cons
No overtime/ too many new things to learn and remember
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bletchley and Fenny Stratford30 August 2017
No two days are the same and every day is very active. The customers are the best part about the job and really do make each day pretty great. You will need to be strong and resilient to work here.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
Bank holiday and weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced my working life and boosted my confidence
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol2 August 2017
During my time at Dulux i learned many skills and was taught how to be safe within a work environment, Some of these skills involved manual handling, taking stock, cashing up. Overall the tasks i was set were within my ability.
Pros
Free t-shirt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire26 June 2017
Just not me, I am looking for something that fits my personality.
Good company just isn't something I want to carry on with. I want something to suit my past careers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield3 May 2017
Very friendly staff. Good customer engagement. Learned how to engage with customers and to deliver high level of customer service. Good flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, poor environment.
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire25 April 2017
Managers know nothing about mental health issues and refuse to help those with them and allow staff to get away with harassing other members of staff and making them feel uncomfortable on a daily basis.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor management, not understanding or helpful, poor environment, poor staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wigan13 March 2017
As part of a large company in Akzo Nobel, there is good job security and opportunities to develop further, knowing that there is security behind you..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DULUX DECORATOR CENTRE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 41 reviews
510
415
35
25
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

DULUX DECORATOR CENTRE Reviews by Location