Dow Jones Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Online Editor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 October 2017
good atmosphere - workflow fine - all good yes very nice all nice easy job - not demanding - cultured folk and all that and all the rest of that and stuff yes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and flebile environment
Private Markets Research Associate (Current Employee) –  London4 May 2016
Great place to work, a lot of flexibility but at the same time produttive environment as well. Great office in a great location.
Pros
Flexibiliy
Cons
Career progression
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice work place
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  London5 January 2016
Raising Invoices
Sending invoices out via crystal reports
Refunds and credit notes
Self management
Running WIP Report
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly place to work at and great team spirit.
TELEPHONIST/RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  EC431 January 2015
1994-2002 BRIDGE INFORMATION SYSTEMS/DOW JONES TELEPHONIST/RECEPTIONIST

• Maintained the reception area to a very high standard
• Answered a very busy computerised switchboard. The main type of calls I took were to accounts payable, and we had two different departments which dealt with incoming and outgoing invoices. We also had a marketing department, which dealt with marketing their own workstations
• Updated information on the computerised switchboard and made sure all the correct fields were filled in, and double checked the information was correct
• Signed for documentation and ensured deliveries were received promptly
• Booked conference rooms via a computerised system and arranged catering.
• Dealt with employment agencies as and when temporary staff were required
• Compiled instructions on how to use the Lucent Switchboard and trained
temporary staff for our reception area
• Processed cost coding/checking invoices for couriers and taxis
• Dealt with the overflow of administration work from the Facilities Manager that involved some copy typing, and checking and reconciling invoices.
Pros
It was far easier to take annual leave.
Cons
There was no in-house canteen.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management, complete lack of business ethic and culture
Research (Former Employee) –  London2 December 2014
This company doesn´t keep talent. If you are hard working professional, committed to perform this is not your place to work. If you like to chill around, gossiping and stuff ... then go ahead. The decisions come from US and often very inconsistent, and of course, people doesn´t count. Over 10 years + this was potentially the worst work experience. Managers lie and hide relevant decisions that affect directly people. The HR is incompetent and lacks transparency. Be aware!
Pros
free bananas
Cons
A lot, doesn´t have time to explore deeper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collegiate and Fun
Global Sales & Multi Media Director (Former Employee) –  London, ENG19 September 2014
Dow Jones (Europe) was a progressive company, with great products and people.

I felt the business would have been more innovative and faster-paced had it not been run quite so much from the center (New York).

Employees were valued and treated fairly, with lots of opportunity for promotion, to work across different product areas and to work in different geographies.
Pros
Great infrastructure and support
Cons
Risk adverse
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dog eat dog environment plenty of low skilled people
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  London1 March 2014
All based in sales and profits, dot eat dog environment, lack of good skill and real good employees, managers have no idea about what direction to take, progression take ages, equipments are outdated, it's a bit like a High School for people with the brain screwed.
Pros
Free snacks/fruit/ good location
Cons
Lack of internal communication, Lack of work ethic, lack of good equipments, lack of good management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducted data analysis working on their Factiva Database
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  London, UK28 February 2014
As a research intern, I was on a team with other interns, where we analyzed the entries in the Factiva Database an edited them to allow the database to run smoother. Additionally I worked briefly on the Connotate Database, where I worked on a social media platform.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Private Markets B2B Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  London, UK20 October 2013
Co-workers were extremely helpful and were the most enjoyable part of the job. Coffee breaks and team building exercises were frequent.
Pros
Healthcare, long breaks
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience.
Intern (Former Employee) –  London, ENG6 August 2013
For my week I was there I was kept busy and was made to feel welcome within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its awesome enperience
reseach (Current Employee) –  london6 November 2012
i love to work here. as per my experience i am happy. its a great experience with this company to work with a lovely team
Pros
mmm
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culturally diverse workplace
Summer Intern - Business to Business Sales (Former Employee) –  London, ENG29 June 2012
Provided assistance to the Account Executives profiling potential customers for Dow Jones products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Dow Jones reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dow Jones. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 191 reviews
562
470
340
211
18

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Dow Jones Reviews by Location