Dorchester Collection Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search See all 114 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place
Bartender, Coworth Park (Current Employee) –  Ascot, Berkshire13 October 2019
A great start to work in learning the companies values was ruined by managers who took no care for their staff and also enforced a bullying culture that i was not involved in but witnessed on a daily basis. Also a shocking HR department who are extremely ineffective
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management and unfair treatmeant
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Ascot8 August 2019
After complaining about being put on 11 hour days for 7 days straight, all to be done in heels that were new as I had just started so I was still breaking them in, I was given a meeting with the owner of coworth park to be told all sorts of excuses before finally admitting that the amount of hours given was unfair and unrealistic, they decided because I brought up this complaint that they would move me from waitressing inspa to the main drawing room, which felt as of they did because they felt threatened and wanted to inflict more stress on me considering it is a lot busier in there and must go up and down stairs constantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work - much to learn
Human Resources & Talent Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Dorchester9 February 2019
advantages:

some good benefits,
If you are a new starter you learn a lot
good people


disadvantages:

salaries could use improvement at lower levels

long hours
Pros
free lunches, some good benefits
Cons
long hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Senior Night Host / Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  London1 February 2019
Great work experience in the high end world of hoteling. Due to the demanding guests and the special requests you need high flexibility and good problem solving skills to be able to survive in this environment. A workplace like this makes you ready for anything else.
Pros
Good salary, good canteen, Free nights within the hotel collection
Cons
Work life balance is highly dependent on the management and their skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and positive workplace!
Junior Host (Former Employee) –  Park9 January 2019
I worked there for quite a while and enjoyed every bit of it, apart from my at that time manager every thing was really good, free lunch, great people to work with, and beautiful place to be on a daily basis.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spa therapist
Spa Therapist (Current Employee) –  Sunningdale, Berkshire21 December 2018
I absolutely love it here. It is hard work and demanding, but the team are all supportive .

The rooms are light which make a change to usual working in dark rooms. Training is 5*, and very professional surroundings. Think etiquette. You have to carry yourself well and always appear smiley and bubbly. You will be back to back so looking after yourself outside of work is a must. I.e good sleep, working out for stamina, taking care of yourself.
Pros
Perks, lovely team and surroundings
Cons
Long days, but that's the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What we learned - Accommodation (room detail)
Accommodation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Berkshire12 March 2018
it was great to work and learn in a hotel that puts such a high standard to attention to detail I feel it has given me a great foundation to build upon.
Pros
Staff Morale
Cons
Being away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Housekeeping (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Ascot17 January 2018
As coworth park was my first job, it helped to realise what is it like to work. through this job i have learned to work with different types of co-workers and cope with them as different people have different personalities.
Pros
free lunch and benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top organization
Senior Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Ascot Berkshire2 January 2018
I had the privilege to work for the dorchester group at the Coworth Park
Everything about this company is nothing but class and proper management
learned more in three months than I did in three years
Pros
Learning
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something a bit different
Goal Judge (Former Employee) –  Coworth Park26 June 2017
A fun and challenging job, working alongside competitors during polo matches, making sure the goals are called correctly.

Imagine a dozen horses running at you at speed!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Therapist (Current Employee) –  Ascot12 April 2017
It is an incredible spa to work for, with amazing benefits and a great team to work with. Receiving amazing product training, and knowledge to help to produce 5* treatments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drawing room
waiter (Current Employee) –  Ascot10 November 2016
inset run very well bye the mangerment and the hotel but my collages other waiters are great to work with. they could do with having commies in drawing room not just waiters
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
F&B Supervisor and Departmental Trainer (Current Employee) –  Ascot15 February 2016
A very busy environment, there is nothing such as easy days.

I've been improving my english a lot. The offered me the opportunity to attend at the WSET level 2 course which I've passed with distinction. That being said I have learned a lot more about wines.

Good management, always caring about their employees.

Unfortunately not everyone is experienced.

Hardest part of the job is ''Breakfast shifts''. I am not a big fan of Breakfast service.

Most enjoyable part is that everyone is trying to combine having fun with doing their jobs properly.
Pros
Accommodation 5 minutes away from work.
Cons
They don't accept couples.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, professional, organized.
Restaurant Expeditor (Current Employee) –  London, ENG26 July 2015
Providing top quality service. One of the most fast paced environments I have ever worked in. Extremely well organized and professional. If you are willing to grow in hospitality business this is the best place for you to work at.
Pros
Plenty of opportunities.
Cons
Work / Life balance is very bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly beneficial experience
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  London, ENG14 July 2015
I undertook a two week work placement in the Human Resources offices at the Dorchester in London which greatly improved my confidence, my stamina and organisational skills. The team members were extremely welcoming and helpful and my responsibilities were quite varied which made for a very rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with opportunities to develop
Reception and Concierge Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, ENG6 April 2015
The Dorchester Collection is a great company, with hotels all over the world gave me aportunuties to learn a lot and travel, transfer from back to front of house was a big and right change for me. I have learnt a lot dealing with very important and powerful people
Pros
cross trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Country House that re-writes the rules
Events Manager (Current Employee) –  Ascot, ENG18 February 2014
Working for such a prestige company has made me seek excellence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Work experience (Former Employee) –  Park Lane, ENG9 December 2013
Amazing company, amazing benefits, amazing people. Everyone is lovely and the work is heavy but keeps you busy, time flies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Galiford try- Coworth Park Hotel
Night work labourer (Former Employee) –  Surrey18 April 2013
• Site maintenance and general labouring.
• Signing for and organisation of deliveries.
• Maintaining Health and Safety standards.
• Responsible for end of day cleanliness routines.
Pros
.
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
1st Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  45 Park Line29 March 2013
i learned a lot about herbs and vegetables, fruits.
The most enjoyable park of the job was receiving deliverys.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dorchester Collection. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 114 reviews
560
429
317
24
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Dorchester Collection Reviews by Location