Domino's Employee Reviews for Driver

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Deliver Driver (Former Employee) –  Palmers Green20 May 2018
When i started as a delivery driver, the managers didnt give me the correct uniform - trousers were 2 sizes too large for me, they didn't give me gloves (i had to buy my own ones) and the jacket was old, ripped up, and not waterproof.
They also pay the minimum which was 6.90 a hour, whereas on advertisements they claim to pay 7.75 an hour.
Managers make you do more than your job description tells you.
The store is filthy and managers expect you to clean it every day without extra pay.
Management is very relaxed and make it seem as if they don't really care about what you do.
Sometimes you have to ask more than once or twice for them to make you food which is inclusive.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Poor pay, poor management, filthy, unorganised, no correct uniform, half of the motorbikes dont work properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst but defo not the best
Driver (Former Employee) –  Crowborough, East Sussex23 April 2018
Quite a boring job, as a driver if no drops, the pizza box making, mangers sat on their bums all day, not approachable if u had issues, salary isn’t worth travelling,
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long shifts and working 6 days for next to nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather be on the dole
Driver (Former Employee) –  Deeside, Flintshire12 April 2018
Paid minimum wage for using my own vehicle not fully reimbursed for the costs of that. Expected to drive 14 milds for 85p. Management are a joke. Bullying culture. Better off on benefits.
Pros
Non
Cons
Having to use my wages to fund the company's delivery costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work at
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ballyclare27 March 2018
I loved the period working with Dominos. They were professional and I did my best to be the same. Nice working environment and good friendly people all together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute joke
Driver (Former Employee) –  Gorseinon18 March 2018
Typical day is wrecking your car due to the high milage you are putting on your OWN car and given a whole pound per delivery which is approximately 10 miles per trip (eg Killay, Pontardulais), blue eyed boys get all the local deliveries and the hours to produce anything near a living wage. If your car breaks down YOU PAY FOR IT out of your own money so your little wage gets smaller and smaller.
Management. Another absolute joke, they speak to you like dirt and if you don't like it or got a complaint you are told you know where the door is and leave. All they are interested in is PROFIT. PROFIT. PROFIT.
Too many chiefs and not enough Indians.
They not interested in you all they see in their staff is how much they can squeeze out of you and
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Driver and Instore Team Member (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset1 March 2018
The staff and management Dominos are amazing and make work worth it. It can be a rewarding job but can be busy and you are on your feet a lot. You can earn bonuses over Christmas.
Pros
50% off Pizza
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good Job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset16 February 2018
Job advert on Indeed stated payment in cash for mileage driven, not correct you get £1 per delivery or £2 per delivery depending on the distance and as most jobs were £1 despite having to travel 10 miles there and back, I did one shift and spent more on diesel than received back.

Was told I would do an average of 20 deliveries on a busy shift, again this is not correct, worked one busy shift and did only 8 deliveries as there was 11 drivers working and clearly not enough orders to cover all the drivers.
Pros
Training
Cons
Too many to list!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay but wouldn’t want to advance
Driver (Former Employee) –  West Sussex6 February 2018
Worked as a driver, nice enough people but as with any big company you’re nothing more that numbers on a screen to them so don’t expect a lot of respect from higher up hence the high staff turnover.
Long hours and expected to stay until late. Feel sorry for the managers as they don’t get a day off and have a lot of pressure put on them and get given zero respect from area manager etc. I worked days so saw a lot of what went on with regards to treatment of employees by people higher up than the managers who worked in store so have zero respect for dominos as a company now. Fun job to do if you’re a student and you get good money as a driver.
Pros
Good tips, friendly colleagues
Cons
Long hours, not respected
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquired knowledge
Driver (Former Employee) –  Oakham2 February 2018
As a professional I like to carry out my work always in the best possible way, and further developed my knowledge of the area around Oakham. I liked what I did, it seemed simple but it had its level of difficulty.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Driver (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham25 January 2018
Make you use tracking devices on road

They take tips if not hidden

Forced to handle orders over phone with no training you are expected to learn over time.

Drama in the store is worse than a school playground.

Managers with exception to a few the rest are power tripping trainees with nothing better to do.

You must expect not to finish on time sometimes 3-4 hours after your original time so don't make plans.

Weekend work is without question going to be your life so don't expect to get time off.

Job it's self is easy however the demand in the store causes stress and pressure on staff so expect arguments

Great friends in the store that is probably the only benefit.

Current driver at Stockton-on-Tees store.
Pros
Friends, plenty of hours, discount on food
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
insider and driver (Former Employee) –  London20 January 2018
I enjoyed working there and the job is too easy. I enjoyed speaking to customers and also making pizza.Work colleagues are friendly but managers could be annoying sometimes.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
bank holidays you don't get paid more
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in but like a lot of places it can improve.
driver (Former Employee) –  Scotland17 January 2018
delivering pizzas to customers, cash handling, making up pizza boxes, helping prepare foods example portion up wedges and put sauce in to containers. general cleaning of store.

i have learned how the pizza delivery business works but as i have catering experience their is very little to learn. The management initially were ok but over the course of time they have became more target driven with staff expected to do more and more. This has lead to low moral with staff.

Holiday policy is very confusing but all in all the people are really nice and the customers are pleasant (well the one i have met).

delivering pizzas is easy its the amount of cleaning that is physically demanding.

In terms of promotion, they have a leadership program but i do not know anyone internally who has become a manager with pay to go. they seem to be externally recruited.

Pay is £7.50 per hour with good rate for delivery and good tips on a good day. however, everyone is a zero hour contract which means you may have work one week but not the next. on the plus side Domino's marketing team are good with promotions which keeps the place busy.

nice wee local job but cant see a career in it.
Pros
Easy job, 50% of pizza with occasional free pizza if working late or extra hours
Cons
holiday pay and entitlement confusing and new management not very staff friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
Driver (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland16 January 2018
good place to be elastic hours good management good culture good for part time and full time job the most enjoyable part of job was driving of my own car
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boston, Lincolnshire5 January 2018
This job was enjoyable, the people there were great.
Awful that you have to use your own car for deliveries and you only get a measly 75pence per delivery, hardly covers the use of fuel let alone anything onyour personal vehicle, the store struggles to keep staff for this reason.
Pros
The staff and management
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Driver (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon23 December 2017
I worked at dominos for just under a year.

The driving side of the job is actually quite fun... You get paid to drive around and listen to music. The tips and drop money (£1 per delivery) are quite good. Generally for every £10 I spent on fuel, I'd walk away with about £25... So often would make £250+ profit per month on top of wages (this is tax free too). This is more than enough to cover wear and repairs.

Instore can be very fun... Lots of banter and a good team that actually cares about each other. The store is very busy however... During the rush the phones and carryout don't stop, and the number of orders coming in can be very high. You have no option other than to learn your stuff and learn it fast but everyone including non managers will help and support you.

The company is flexible with hours and can accommodate most requests in terms of hours, annual leave, duties and especially progression. You can really progress quite quickly.

The store manager is a decent guy, who actually mucks in and genuinely cares about his staff. He's good for a laugh but will put his foot down hard when its needed.

I left mainly due to issues regarding my mental health... But I would generally describe it as a positive place to work. It is good as a main job, good as a second job or good even just as a stop gap.

The next paragraph will sound negative... But you will see st the end of it why what I am saying, is a good thing:

There is one individual who cannot live without gossiping, stirring or simply lying. This individual actually falsifies alot of things. This
  more... individual generally tries to belittle and out-do you on everything, From number and severity of medical conditions, how academically superior they are, how their life experiences are better than yours. Also a hypocrate who complains to management about conversations that you have when they are innapropriate too. If there is no drama, this individual will either fabricate or create it, or seek some attention. This individual also deflects to everyone else when in the wrong (I.e yeah but so and so did this etc)

The reason this is a positive is The team here is so good that an individual like this can't really damage the team or colleague cohesion when they would be very destructive elsewhere. The team here has your back, they will look out for you, and they will see through a lot of things that cause problems elsewhere. There are some very good workers there who really know their stuff and are very good at their jobs.

If you're thinking of applying... I would honestly say go for it. Its good fun most of the time, the team is good and you can generally get what you want out of the job. The manager is good and you get to see some of the Hilarities that occur outside the pubs opposite the store at weekends.

Uniform isn't very flattering and you get bored of pizza.
  less
Pros
Lots
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Driver (Former Employee) –  Taunton23 November 2017
it was ok to work here, but can be demanding some times, the staff were good and fun to work with, the hardest thing about this is the delivering when its busy on the roads..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job - rubbish company to work for.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Southampton22 November 2017
Self explanatory job of delivering pizza.

No guarantee of hours worked or working times. Sometimes you can arrive for an 8 hour shift and be sent home after 2. Other times you could have to work till 1am on late notice.

Management don't look after you and at the franchise level do everything they can to get as much as they can out of you without any care for your well being or job satisfaction.

Multiple occasions forced to work for free due to 'payment rules'.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Horrible employers, Irregular and antisocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire18 November 2017
Kiss goodbye to your weekends. The majority of business is done at the weekend so that is when they want you in.

If you get a good bunch of staff then everything can run smoothly and it is a pleasure to work there. Just one lazy person can ruin it for everyone though.

If you want to work at Dominos; be prepared to put some effort in.
Pros
You get paid
Cons
No more social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire13 November 2017
The atmosphere in Dominos is very friendly and bubbly.
A typical day in Dominos is making sure the order is ready and double checking the order details in order to deliver.
We are one culture in Dominos and respect one another.
Pros
Free pizza if working long hours.
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire18 October 2017
Good for earning money for student's, accessible work with a decent amount of hours.
Zero hour contracts, no promises of amount of work so backup job generally necessary.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Domino's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14,534 reviews
54.3K
44.5K
33.6K
21.2K
1951

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture