Domino's Employee Reviews for Driver

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good Job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset16 February 2018
Job advert on Indeed stated payment in cash for mileage driven, not correct you get £1 per delivery or £2 per delivery depending on the distance and as most jobs were £1 despite having to travel 10 miles there and back, I did one shift and spent more on diesel than received back.

Was told I would do an average of 20 deliveries on a busy shift, again this is not correct, worked one busy shift and did only 8 deliveries as there was 11 drivers working and clearly not enough orders to cover all the drivers.
Pros
Training
Cons
Too many to list!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquired knowledge
Driver (Former Employee) –  Oakham2 February 2018
As a professional I like to carry out my work always in the best possible way, and further developed my knowledge of the area around Oakham. I liked what I did, it seemed simple but it had its level of difficulty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Driver (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham25 January 2018
Make you use tracking devices on road

They take tips if not hidden

Forced to handle orders over phone with no training you are expected to learn over time.

Drama in the store is worse than a school playground.

Managers with exception to a few the rest are power tripping trainees with nothing better to do.

You must expect not to finish on time sometimes 3-4 hours after your original time so don't make plans.

Weekend work is without question going to be your life so don't expect to get time off.

Job it's self is easy however the demand in the store causes stress and pressure on staff so expect arguments

Great friends in the store that is probably the only benefit.

Current driver at Stockton-on-Tees store.
Pros
Friends, plenty of hours, discount on food
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
insider and driver (Former Employee) –  London20 January 2018
I enjoyed working there and the job is too easy. I enjoyed speaking to customers and also making pizza.Work colleagues are friendly but managers could be annoying sometimes.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
bank holidays you don't get paid more
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work in but like a lot of places it can improve.
driver (Former Employee) –  Scotland17 January 2018
delivering pizzas to customers, cash handling, making up pizza boxes, helping prepare foods example portion up wedges and put sauce in to containers. general cleaning of store.

i have learned how the pizza delivery business works but as i have catering experience their is very little to learn. The management initially were ok but over the course of time they have became more target driven with staff expected to do more and more. This has lead to low moral with staff.

Holiday policy is very confusing but all in all the people are really nice and the customers are pleasant (well the one i have met).

delivering pizzas is easy its the amount of cleaning that is physically demanding.

In terms of promotion, they have a leadership program but i do not know anyone internally who has become a manager with pay to go. they seem to be externally recruited.

Pay is £7.50 per hour with good rate for delivery and good tips on a good day. however, everyone is a zero hour contract which means you may have work one week but not the next. on the plus side Domino's marketing team are good with promotions which keeps the place busy.

nice wee local job but cant see a career in it.
Pros
Easy job, 50% of pizza with occasional free pizza if working late or extra hours
Cons
holiday pay and entitlement confusing and new management not very staff friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive
Driver (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland16 January 2018
good place to be elastic hours good management good culture good for part time and full time job the most enjoyable part of job was driving of my own car
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boston, Lincolnshire5 January 2018
This job was enjoyable, the people there were great.
Awful that you have to use your own car for deliveries and you only get a measly 75pence per delivery, hardly covers the use of fuel let alone anything onyour personal vehicle, the store struggles to keep staff for this reason.
Pros
The staff and management
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Driver (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon23 December 2017
I worked at dominos for just under a year.

The driving side of the job is actually quite fun... You get paid to drive around and listen to music. The tips and drop money (£1 per delivery) are quite good. Generally for every £10 I spent on fuel, I'd walk away with about £25... So often would make £250+ profit per month on top of wages (this is tax free too). This is more than enough to cover wear and repairs.

Instore can be very fun... Lots of banter and a good team that actually cares about each other. The store is very busy however... During the rush the phones and carryout don't stop, and the number of orders coming in can be very high. You have no option other than to learn your stuff and learn it fast but everyone including non managers will help and support you.

The company is flexible with hours and can accommodate most requests in terms of hours, annual leave, duties and especially progression. You can really progress quite quickly.

The store manager is a decent guy, who actually mucks in and genuinely cares about his staff. He's good for a laugh but will put his foot down hard when its needed.

I left mainly due to issues regarding my mental health... But I would generally describe it as a positive place to work. It is good as a main job, good as a second job or good even just as a stop gap.

The next paragraph will sound negative... But you will see st the end of it why what I am saying, is a good thing:

There is one individual who cannot live without gossiping, stirring or simply lying. This individual actually falsifies alot of things. This
  more... individual generally tries to belittle and out-do you on everything, From number and severity of medical conditions, how academically superior they are, how their life experiences are better than yours. Also a hypocrate who complains to management about conversations that you have when they are innapropriate too. If there is no drama, this individual will either fabricate or create it, or seek some attention. This individual also deflects to everyone else when in the wrong (I.e yeah but so and so did this etc)

The reason this is a positive is The team here is so good that an individual like this can't really damage the team or colleague cohesion when they would be very destructive elsewhere. The team here has your back, they will look out for you, and they will see through a lot of things that cause problems elsewhere. There are some very good workers there who really know their stuff and are very good at their jobs.

If you're thinking of applying... I would honestly say go for it. Its good fun most of the time, the team is good and you can generally get what you want out of the job. The manager is good and you get to see some of the Hilarities that occur outside the pubs opposite the store at weekends.

Uniform isn't very flattering and you get bored of pizza.
  less
Pros
Lots
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days
Driver (Former Employee) –  Taunton23 November 2017
it was ok to work here, but can be demanding some times, the staff were good and fun to work with, the hardest thing about this is the delivering when its busy on the roads..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job - rubbish company to work for.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Southampton22 November 2017
Self explanatory job of delivering pizza.

No guarantee of hours worked or working times. Sometimes you can arrive for an 8 hour shift and be sent home after 2. Other times you could have to work till 1am on late notice.

Management don't look after you and at the franchise level do everything they can to get as much as they can out of you without any care for your well being or job satisfaction.

Multiple occasions forced to work for free due to 'payment rules'.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Horrible employers, Irregular and antisocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire18 November 2017
Kiss goodbye to your weekends. The majority of business is done at the weekend so that is when they want you in.

If you get a good bunch of staff then everything can run smoothly and it is a pleasure to work there. Just one lazy person can ruin it for everyone though.

If you want to work at Dominos; be prepared to put some effort in.
Pros
You get paid
Cons
No more social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Kirkintilloch, East Dunbartonshire13 November 2017
The atmosphere in Dominos is very friendly and bubbly.
A typical day in Dominos is making sure the order is ready and double checking the order details in order to deliver.
We are one culture in Dominos and respect one another.
Pros
Free pizza if working long hours.
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for students
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire18 October 2017
Good for earning money for student's, accessible work with a decent amount of hours.
Zero hour contracts, no promises of amount of work so backup job generally necessary.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
driver/instore (Former Employee) –  Great Harwood, Lancashire11 October 2017
a very fast paced environment you always have to be on the ball very high pressured which i enjoy dearly. The only issue is there is no job security in this line of work.
Pros
family like staff
Cons
no fixed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Head Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 October 2017
Well the company is very vibarent and as a driver no two days were the same it has loads of advantages such as great money and a very friendly atmosphere and you get to meet and work with some amazing people.
Pros
Free pizza
Cons
Working late at time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough time for social life
Driver (Current Employee) –  durham29 September 2017
started working here about 2 months ago now, i have had 0 weekends off, dont get anytime to myself once i return from university, i get in and then have to work and finish at 10/11pm leaving me no social life, on the plus side the people i work with a canny and make it barable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is awful
Dominoes Driver (Current Employee) –  Deeping St James, Lincolnshire11 September 2017
how ever desperate for a job you are, do not work for DOMINOES DEEPING, manamegement talk to you like a piece of trash, and the rotor will say you are working 5-8 but you wont finish until some nights 11! 10/10 AVOID!
Pros
Free pizza + 50% discount
Cons
As a driver you put mileage on your car, get fat from free pizza
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy environment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Kent4 September 2017
Dominos is a Very Good place to wook good and polite people good boss I enjoyed working there and enjoyed being around my colleagues and also the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat staff terribly. Even experienced staff aren't valued.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire5 August 2017
A typical week consists of battling with management to get reasonable length shifts and that's on a daily basis. They give you a start time and a rough indication of your finish time - rush, late, close, but these mean very little and if they're spreadsheet says its not busy, they'll try and send you home after an hour!!

On the times when it is busy, usually because a staff member that has been messed around doesn't show, you're flavour of the month! They want you to stay 12 hours plus until 4am without any notice.

This job has caused so much stress trying to maintain hours to survive financially and just have even a little work life balance, it's unbelievable really and i'm one of the supposedly more valued staff!

Also they don't give breaks, they give you a small pizza at the end of your shift (10-12 hours without food cheers!), one toilet between 40 staff, leaky water machine with no cups for 9 months...I could go on!
Pros
Ok for a young person/ student wanting pocket money..just.
Cons
This job is the definition of job insecurity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and fun!
Driver (Former Employee) –  East London, Greater London26 July 2017
Its a nice job to work, meeting a lot of new poeople every day. The managers are cool and everything is just goes withouth any stress andddddd that it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Domino's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 13,393 reviews
54K
44.2K
33.3K
21.1K
1875

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture