Dishoom Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible staff and treated dirt by managment
Runner (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh1 September 2019
Do not work here!! You get treated like dirt no self worth involved, hardly any one speaks English. Managment is terrible, no flexibility, no care for your working conditions.
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Runner (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh3 August 2019
It was a great experience, I met amazing people and learnt a lot.
t was always really busy, which helped a lot during long shifts since time flied.
Management was really supportive and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People Focused
People Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Shoreditch, Greater London24 June 2019
Nothing is too much plus an attention to the smaller details. A place where you feel cared for and that you will be looked after. A great culture and the food is delicious!
Pros
Great Events
Cons
Hard Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, orgganized, busy
Local Marketing (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh13 May 2019
Dishoom is a great place where they care really about the staff. I learn a lot but there is not really much growth. With so many people to work with is great to stay in one position and remain. but not so much to move on to a next step.
Pros
Twice Staff Food
Cons
Too many people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unhappy place to work
Host (Former Employee) –  London23 March 2019
Overworked/unhappy staff
Terrible work/life balance - most servers work ~60 hours a week
Managers bully staff they don't like
A lot of drug/alcohol dependency on shift.

Unless your aim is to make a lot of money fast, avoid at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Official response from Dishoom
29 March 2019

Hi there,

We are deeply sorry to hear this and really upset that this was your experience at Dishoom. We'd very much like to understand more about the situation so that we can try and fix whatever may have gone wrong - it’s really important to us that Dishoom is a great place to work and we’ll work really hard to make this right.

Please do get in touch at peopleteam@dishoom.com so that we can chat a little more about this.

Kind regards,
Jess

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
una de las mejores compañías para trabajar en hosteleria en UK
Runner (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh10 March 2019
Gran trato a los trabajadores, buenos sueldos y muchos beneficios incluso fiestas privadas.
Pros
perkbox
Cons
dificil cambiar de posición
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Very busy place but had fun (Former Employee) –  Shoreditch, Greater London23 October 2018
Very good had fun and my co worked are friendly. The day was busy, I learned how to put an the hard work work when things got really busy, hard part was no time for my self
Pros
Got free food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to work hard
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Shoreditch30 July 2018
A pretty intense and exhausting work environment. If you work here get ready to pull long and exhausting shifts. The training is intense too but the people who work there make it what it is.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long and hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place with frendly people
barman (Former Employee) –  Covent Garden8 May 2018
I use to work evening shift, i learned a lot of english and i improved my work skills because was my first job in London.
The thing that i liked more of that place was my collegues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company where you can learn a lot and in a nice atmosphera
BUSSER / FOOD RUNNER / EXPEDITOR / HOST (Former Employee) –  London4 May 2018
Nice company to work for, listen and follow the elder workers there because they are really kind and willing to teach and help you. One of the most important thing there is to be able to work under pressure and keep calm in busiest time.
Pros
Free meals on shift(delicious)
Cons
Quite busy in the evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prima esperienza
Kitchen porter / Assistant chef (Former Employee) –  Greater London19 September 2017
Prima esperienza nel campo di ristorazione con colleghi di varie culture essendo un ristorante indiano. Ambiente non troppo friendly ma ottimo per fare esperienza lavorativa ed imparare nuova lingua
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Cocktail Waitress (Former Employee) –  london20 June 2016
Amazing co-workers. Very busy and stressful place. Helps you learn how to handle stress and teach you how to promote with steps of good service.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
too busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Covent Garden11 May 2016
great place to work,great team and atmosphere.
Very bussy trough out the day. reasonable sallary. many companies benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment along a mixture of eclectic personalities
Senior Host (Current Employee) –  King's Cross10 May 2016
- Dealing with a significant number of customers.

- Being efficient and delivering a outstanding customer service like no other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
familiy place
Food Runner and host (Former Employee) –  King Cross27 January 2016
a normal typical day at work is busy, many stuff i have learnt from there, like setting up, social service,etc. even with the hard work we were work as family in a really good environment
Pros
manager take care a lot of their workers
Cons
dinner time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo magnífico
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  London, ENG7 December 2015
Mi trabajo en dishoom fue alucinante, trabajar en el extranjero me ha ayudado, a despejar la mente y mirar más allá de mi futuro. Aprendí sobre todo el convivir con en un equipo de trabajo, conocí muchos amigos de diferentes partes del mundo. Tuve complicaciones en el principio para adaptarme al trabajo y lo más que me gustó de este trabajo la constancia y las ganas que daba cuando llegaba al puesto de trabajo, iba con una superación de cada día hasta conseguir el premio de cada día.
Pros
Trabajo por horas
Cons
Cuentas Bancarias y seguro médico
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo entretenido
Camarero de sala (Former Employee) –  London, ENG6 November 2015
Un dia típico en mi trabajo era que al principio de la jornada nos reunían a todos los camareros y nos decían cual era la sección en la que nos tocaba trabajar ese día. Cuando sabías tu sección tenías que comprobar que todas las mesas tenían platos, vasos y cubiertos y que todo estaba limpio.

Mi trabajo era coger comandas a los clientes y llevarles sus pedidos a la mesa, cuando terminaban llevaba los platos a la cocina.

Mi turno terminaba cuando todos los clientes se habían marchado de mi sección, antes de terminar debía dejarlo todo limpio y comprobar que todas las mesas tenían platos, cubiertos y vasos para el siguiente día. Después comprobaba que las ventas totales que salían en el ordenador concordaban con el dinero en efectivo que tenía y los recibos de pagos con tarjeta.

Para finalizar llamaba a mi encargado para que comprobase que mi sección estaba limpia y que todo estaba en orden para el siguiente día.

Aprendí a trabajar en equipo, a saber como tratar a los clientes y a trabajar en un restaurante muy ocupado.

La dirección era buena, los jefes siempre estaban dispuestos a ayudarte y apoyarte en todo lo que fuera.

Tenía buena amistad con mis compañeros, el ambiente de trabajo era bueno y siempre nos ayudabámos los unos a los otros.

La parte más difícil del trabajo era aguantar aveces a ciertos clientes que no eran muy educados.

Lo que más me gusto del trabajo era que había buen ambiente con los compañeros y que los jefes te ayudaban en todo lo que podían.
Pros
Habían buenas propinas
Cons
Aguantar a ciertos clientes que no eran muy educados.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good experience
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Old street3 December 2014
was a good experience and i learn a lot of thing from them
the management is not organise there but the team in the bur is hard worker and a good family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more Dishoom reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dishoom. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 20 reviews
59
46
33
21
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Dishoom Reviews by Location