DFDS Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Immingham dock21 July 2019
I found working at dfds enjoyable but it doesn't pay you to be a charge hand or foreman because of jealousy amongst workmates and it creates a lot of stress between and problems I spent 15 yrs there and got falsely accused of misconduct because I took the temporary formans position and the other warehouse staff some work to do they got upset ànd set up falseallegations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible office team
HGV Class 1 Driver Tramper (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire28 June 2019
Dont listen to drivers. Transport manager is horrible to talk to and talks down to you. When you want hours, you dont get. If you dont want nights out you get.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Never know when your home and how many hours youre in for
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't come here
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Grimsby, Lincolnshire16 March 2019
Excelent salary 8.5/h in 2019(agency drivers are working here starting from 13£/h) for a truck driver.worst management what i ever seen in my life.new trucks without fridges,you can have holidays only when manager want not when you need . I give them 1 star becouse is not possible to give them -10.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, verry low payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work for
Car driver (Current Employee) –  Immingham2 July 2018
No wonder they have such a high turnover of staff. They treat people like dirt!! Management don’t give a sh** you are just a number to them and easily replaceable. You have to fight for hours amongst others as they like to give hours to agency workers or people with second jobs instead. Sometimes have to go 5/6 hours without a break even if it’s stupid o'clock in the morning. Can’t wait to leave
Pros
Paid breaks (when you get them)
Cons
Bad hours and not enough of them
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodictive and fun workplace
Cook (Current Employee) –  Dover25 April 2018
Very good team. Positive and friendly staff. Work as a crew cook mostly. Also good in customer service. Also we had the rotation. One time as a crew cook, next time in self-service restaurante and drivers restaurant as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Felixtowe26 January 2018
they hq office is in immingham and coordinates all its operations in uk...depends on whom u deal with..some of people are helpfull and contrary to this some and hopeless if it comes to solving problems on the spot
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Steward (Current Employee) –  Dover13 September 2017
A good place to work, easy to learn new skills and fun place to work with different people from EU.
The hard of the job is working on weekends and bank holidays.
Enjoyed making many friends.
Pros
good environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough
Graduate Trainee (Former Employee) –  Immingham, Lincolnshire3 September 2017
Not very nice environment. Many people feel like they're being drained for a low pay. They also feel that they cannot count on their managers. The blame game is rampant too.
The colleagues are generally nice though
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Admin (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire14 May 2017
Challeging work environment.
Good communication.
Multinational company requirements.
European contacts.
Good team work.
Friendly relationship between departments and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay (minimum wage),. 0 hour contract, bullying atmosphere, blame culture
Car driver (Former Employee) –  Immingham29 September 2016
I hope the title speaks volumes! As a car discharge driver you are treated as the scum of the earth. Minimum wage, no guaranted hours, working overnights and weekends all the time. Agency staff were on more money than Dfds employees! There is no fridge or anywhere to put your pack up. Oh, if you do happen to leave it someplace it will likely be stolen by other employees. Gang mentality on the work site. Too many chiefs and all that! Managers look other way when they are needed the most. Just so glad not to work there anymore!!
Pros
paid break, when you get em.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good
Steward (Former Employee) –  Dover5 April 2016
get on board and get told where I'm working
I learnt how to work in a bar, how to manage a shop and customer service
management was good odd one not so good but all in all good
met some great people and loved working with them
the hardest part of the job is learning to work in bad weather
being able to have a laugh
Pros
free food
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Shipping Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Immingham14 February 2016
yea, it's ok. It depends on which department you work, if you work in the COS (customer operational services) department, expect to work long hours with no break.
Pros
Clean working environment, vending machines, 4 on 4 off.
Cons
Long hours, poor management in some areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun workplace at all
class one driver (Former Employee) –  Whittlesey13 April 2015
Company with bad management and planning. Also low earnings and long hours. They tried force you to take break instead POA.
Pros
clean lorries
Cons
planning routes, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my daily routine
Able Seaman (Current Employee) –  Dover, ENG24 November 2014
my typical day is a 12hr shift loading and backloading freight to and from france and dover we lash cargo down with chains do maintenance and mooring operations the crew are a good bunch and the conditions good the job is good I work 2 weeks on 2 weeks off but ive been on ferries over 15 yrs now and looking to do something different .
Pros
good food on board good living conditions
Cons
missing chritmases birthdays etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fun
Catering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ferries24 June 2014
Hard work under pressure unsociable hours away from home and amazing team..
Very rewarding from training and experience..
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting work place
Car driver (Former Employee) –  Immingham, ENG6 June 2014
discharging and back loading high class cars on and off boats, using maps to deliver the cars to the right location, using rdt machines to tally what fleet goes on and off the boats. working as both a team and on your own. T he hardest part of the job was the long work hours and awful work times , working with the tide. The most enjoyable part of the job was experiencing the drive of new cars and high class cars.
Pros
driving the cars
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company. Fast paced environment in Finance Service Centre.
CREDIT MANAGER (SEAWAYS) (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR14 May 2014
The Finance Service Centre was a fast paced environment.
Target driven with KPI results published across the Group at the end of each month.
I managed the overall outstanding debts for the Seaways Business.
This included both Freight and Passenger credit accounts which covered the Irish Sea, The Channel and The North Sea.

During my time in the company I learned to work closely with the Sales Team. They co-operated very well with the Credit Control Department. This helped enable collection of the more difficult debts.
We all input a Team effort and this was reflected in our monthly results.

I extremely enjoyed working for DFDS and my position held within the company. Unfortunately, they decided to transfer all the work from Belfast to Poland on 29th November 2013 and our office was closed down.
Pros
Company pension, private medical insurance and free car parking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Stewardess (Former Employee) –  copanhagen5 February 2014
good company, good salary. staff are good. co workers and helpful. very good atmosphere to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not economical any more
hgv class one driver (Current Employee) –  immingham3 May 2013
since a change of mangement since xmas no night out work I am tramper need the nights out because of the distance to work and pay is low £6.70 a hour and overtime after 10 hours,
Pros
none
Cons
low pay no sick pay might as well be on a higher pay with no sick pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Port Operative
Port Operative (Former Employee) –  Immingham25 July 2012
Good company to work for exelent co workers. Port side loading/unloading of cargo from ships. Continental shift pattern of 4 days on and 4 days off in 12 hour shifts.
Pros
profesional company
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report

See more DFDS reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DFDS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 36 reviews
510
49
37
22
18

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.5Culture