Devonshire Arms Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi
Pot washer (Former Employee) –  Baslow8 November 2019
Treated with disrespect when you want to leave. They treat you ok when you do as you're told. But as soon as you question that they start to be funny with you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Grassington16 April 2019
overstretched company who placed too much emphasis on their gp marginsd compared to the standard of service being providided to the customer, threrefor having a detrimental affect on the buisiness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst workplace
Chef/Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, Lancashire13 October 2018
worst place ive ever worked they have no respect for there staff kitchen is very small and all for minimum wage I would recommend to not apply at this place for work
Pros
no pros
Cons
bad respect, low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Baslow, Derbyshire14 May 2017
Good people to work around good environment and nice clean restaurant nice hotel with plenty of space amazing food would recommend to anyone in that area/local
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place lovely location and great staff
Somellier/ cellarmaster (Former Employee) –  Skipton-in-Craven14 July 2016
Fantastic product fantastic staff unfortunately no one is recognised for their efforts multi award winning property
Pros
Lovely environment
Cons
Difficult to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day at work
trainee manager (Former Employee) –  Handley, ENG14 January 2016
The day always begun the most challenging before the restaurant opened, it gave us oppertunities to get all the demostic work compled, the fridges restocked and cleaned, stock checks completed, the dining area emptied, fully cleaned an re-set by the cleaner while the waitress' applied clean and pollished silver wear. Stock ordered; with the help off kitchen staff when completing their own stock checks. Menu's checked and re-printed according to the stock what was available in the kitchen and disgussion off offers available that day. Then the fun part began people pilled in, orders was placed, meals was going out. The busier it got the more fun it got, the stress levels was low because our boss made it clear to us no body is perfect and as long as we try the best to our ability that's all we can offer. The tackings was taken at the end off the shift and we was all acknowledged.
Pros
acknowledgement, free lunch, free drinks, meeting new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun outgonig job
bar Staff (trainee) (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, ENG5 January 2016
As bar staff i served customers, ensured stock levels in the bar were maintained and made sure the pub operated smoothly and efficiently and that customers were happy. In addition I arranged napkins and cutlery for dining tables, collected glasses and cleaned glasses and pots. the only downside thing was they couldn't provide me with anouth hours I needed to provide for my family
Pros
get to meet the comunity
Cons
no anough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Sutton-In-Ashfield, ENG11 August 2014
Good, friendly, plenty of training
hard work, but very varied
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive, but enjoyable Waste of time
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Shirebrook, ENG4 September 2013
When i worked as a member of the Staff at this work-placement, i felt unwelcomed and useless by the staff but welcomed and appreciated by the customers, this is due to the lack of involvement i had in my position and the local friendly customers.

Only being allowed to do a maximum of two roles - clear tables, fill table with cutlery and sauces, i was left alone and bored during 70% of my work-shifts. this made me feel useless as a member of staff, but this gave me the opportunity to interact with the local customers and get to know them and give them a welcomed pleasant experience.

This part of the Job kept me coming back, i enjoyed mingling with the customers and building my confidence, even if i wasn't really working.

If given more things to do at this Job (ironic due what i said about the other work-placement) i would have enjoyed my place there 200% more.
Pros
Brilliant friendly customers
Cons
Lack of things to do as a member of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and very friendly
Bar Manager (Former Employee) –  Southsea, Portsmouth20 August 2012
I worked most night shifts here and loved it. It was very friendly and i loved meeting new people, no day was the same which made it better and fun.

I worked with some wonderful poeple and we have a good time whilst being professional
Pros
sociable & fun
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Devonshire Arms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
53
43
32
22
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Devonshire Arms Reviews by Location