Devon and Cornwall Police Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable work experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon20 March 2019
Spent a week here on a work experience placement from school. This gave me valuable insight into the work of Devon and Cornwall police, it showed me the different roles available and the requirements of the selection process
Pros
Valuable work experience
Cons
Only one week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work amazing experience
Police Cadet (Current Employee) –  Exeter4 February 2019
Learn practical skills as well as how to talk to people. Amazing staff very understanding. Fun place to help the community in your local area. If you want to join do it
Pros
Penumbra
Cons
Shiv
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am looking for a position which allows me to make the best of my many skills, in which I can achieve greater responsibility and gain promotion. I h
RESOURCE MANAGEMENT TRAINING PLANNER (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon5 January 2019
A typical day can be frustrating and enjoyable depending on if I have to undo some of the work I have already spent time doing

I have not learned anything new as I have been in this role a long time and am now teaching others so they can learn.

I enjoy working with the team in the office and we all assist each other with work and problems.

The hardest part of the job is having to unbook and rebook people you have already booked onto courses with nothing done to stop this hapoening

The only enjoyable part of the job for me is when I have given advice and helped someone sort out a problem or when I have solved or prevented a problem
Pros
Good Pension
Cons
No promotion chances, Low salary, no oportunity to learn new skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management even worse HR
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Devon27 November 2018
If you really want to join as a police officer I would advise another force such as the Metropolitan police as far more professional and a lot more opportunity to diversify. Promotion for most was the only way to drag you out from the mire. The result often being inexperienced supervisors who were often poor thief takers but could talk the talk. HR were brutal and bullying. My personal example was that I had become extremely ill eventually requiring a major life threatening operation. I was asked if I could return to work on a part time 4 hours per day basis. Against my doctor's advice I returned as wanted to try and do my best. Very quickly HR were pressurising me to increase my hours and it had become clear that their ulterior motive was to invite me back so as to bring me into the disciplinary procedure. Worse still they sent me on a mindfulness course as thought my illness was in my mind. The guy doing the course said to me, I will take their money but you should not be here and that what I really needed was a solicitor. I guess luckily for me I did have previous knowledge of the ACAS code of conduct. HR did try and start the unsatisfactory attendance process rolling but I had now got wise and to save myself put in for medical retirement. Thanks to a great surgeon my life is back on track but back then I was in so much pain and together with the bullying I did think about bringing a rope into work and ending it. I still have friends in the service and it has got even worse so sure if you think if it's just about wearing a uniform you may want to think long and hard.  more... If you have anything about you I would seek a different career path.  less
Pros
Arresting people who made life for others a misery.
Cons
Large workloads short staffed no work life balance poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
L&D Operational Training Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Exeter16 October 2018
I really enjoyed working for this employer, it was Time to leave however. I have since looked at other jobs within the police service and will look at applying
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
care (Former Employee) –  exeter22 September 2018
great place to work with great staff, the only negative is mot much chance to progress in any department
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understaffed to the extent of dangerous
recently generic and law trainer (Current Employee) –  force headquarters, middlemoor, exeter27 March 2018
i feel unable to fill in this section due to confidentiality. i have enjoyed being able to make a difference to some people and working a long way from backup hones the skills to reason with people
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
vastly understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Police Cadet (Former Employee) –  Devon4 January 2018
My work experience with Devon and Cornwall police service was very interesting and informative on the work and lifestyle of a police officer. I was put in a class with a group of unfamiliar people and by the end of the week we worked like we knew each other for months. Overall it was a very good experience and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Pros
a good thing to have on your CV
Cons
had to wear strict uniform
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Challenge
Special Constable (Current Employee) –  Torbay, Devon21 September 2017
Although a voluntary role (hence the 2 stars for pay) I wouldn't change my job as a Special for the world. Would highly recommend for anyone fancying something different, to apply and give back!
Pros
Opportunities to gain valuable experience.
Cons
People tend to not like police officers at times!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Telephone researcher (Former Employee) –  Exeter16 May 2017
Brilliant pay rate, a friendly working environment too, I really enjoyed this job and was sad to leave the job as I got on really well with everyone who I worked with.
Pros
Great pay, good staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexible working and career development
Operational Policy and Working Practices Officer (Current Employee) –  Exeter, Devon6 March 2017
There is a disparity across the organisation: some people feel well looked after by management, others do not.
I have had a great experience in my four years here; management are supportive and encourage personal development.
Pros
Flexi, development, societies
Cons
Frustrating bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to add
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  East devon16 February 2017
Nothing to add I wouldn't recommend this organisation to anyone and would never work for them again. Poorly treated by management and welfare given to staff is unacceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, nice to work for.
Analyst Programmer (Current Employee) –  Exeter24 November 2016
The people there are supportive and helpful, and the end-users appreciative of the work done, which is always nice. Management is good, not too heavy.
Pros
Nice place, gym and swimming pool available
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Special Constable (Current Employee) –  Newton Abbot, ENG30 April 2015
So far i am really enjoying the work i do and each day has been different. It can be a very rewarding and engaging job and involves communicating with people from all areas of life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt my trade as a Police officer
POLICE SERGEANT (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, ENG12 January 2015
Enjoyed the first thirteen years of my career as a police officer here, gaining promotion to Sergeant. Worked with some excellent people and met my wife there.
Pros
Beautiful place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and demanding
Initial Training Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Middlemoore Exeter17 April 2014
I never have 2 days the same at work, its always very busy with lots of things to do. The hardest part of my job is running practical days when I have to rely on the attendance of other people, who being in the job they are doing often have to let me down last minuet. The best part of my job is the passing out ceremony for Student Police Officers at the end of their 18 week training.
Pros
great location, swimming pool, sauna, great colleagues
Cons
only temporay with no chance of it coming permenant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally very supportive
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Exeter, ENG11 January 2014
Devon and Cornwall police have been excellent employers. They are progressive in terms of career and future planning. My 30 years spent working for them was always interesting and they reward good and hard work.
co-workers are employed from all areas of life and for the most part are fun to work . Management can be mixed, but generally is good.
Most enjoyable part of the work is the interesting jobs, feeling you have assisted and helped members of the public and working with a good team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Devon and Cornwall Police reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Devon and Cornwall Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 19 reviews
56
48
33
20
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Devon and Cornwall Police Reviews by Location