Derby City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible
Street cleansing driver (Current Employee) –  Derby20 August 2018
Derby city council are a very understanding workplace as I have had a lot of childcare issues and they have accommodated my situation very satisfactory, management are very considerate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Challenging
Community Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire2 August 2018
working as a cpo was a job that gave me many skills I am now able to use in my day to day life, I have been able to interrate with several members if the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Business Administration Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire27 June 2018
good place to work, nice people, not great management, a lot of pressure put on lower level staff, however the team building excercises and work life balance was excellent,
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
false advertisment
Domestic Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire30 May 2018
told one thing given another, no respect for workers. i am not the first person they have told there is progression, a good wage and great benefits to find out you get none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Staff
Adoption Clerk / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Council House19 April 2018
Lovely staff but their aren't any rewards for hard work.
There is progression if you work hard
Do not pay for extra training
Flexi time is great
Feel secure
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire12 April 2018
During my work experience in 2008 I worked at the Citizens Advice Bureau and also at Derby City Council. During my work experience my duties included: -
Updating and maintaining a client database
Distribution of letters to clients
Maintaining file records
I also shadowed Council Officers during client appointments to gain experience of their work and dealings with clients.
It was fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good work environment
Data Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Derby8 February 2018
a good work environment, along with a great work place culture. Work life balance is a big plus and a very enjoyable experience. I've learned a lot during my employment with Derby City Council.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Ground Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire11 January 2018
Working with a team to provide great customer service for the clients requirements for gardening maintenance, also emptying bins and litter picking in communal areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent authority
Learning Mentor Consultant (Former Employee) –  Derby8 January 2018
Derby were very good to work for. No complaints at all
Wages, HR , support services good. I worked across all Derby Schools and always enjoyed going in to them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and interesting workplace.
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Derby14 December 2017
I went here for Work Experience and the staff were very helpful, and showed me a huge insight to an everyday life working there. I learnt about the public and the problems that many faced on a day to day basis - drugs, mental health, complaints, and the environmental health of places people were living in and whether or not it was safe.

I experienced many investigations that took place, and was throughout very professional.
Pros
I learnt many things to prepare me for the future.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat Liner
Civil Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Derby City Centre, Derbyshire8 December 2017
Unless your in middle/upper management level, you have no chance of progressing. Young people are bored and look to leave pretty quickly. Management are lackadaisical and struggle with man managing.
Pros
easy going
Cons
quickly become stale
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire8 December 2017
Derby City Council is a good place to work, staff and friendly and helpful and are keen that you develop.

There are plenty of internal job opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Derbyshire (Current Employee) –  Derbyshire22 November 2017
To many chiefs hard work for the people that actually do work typical council.working hard to serve the public I do my job very well hence the years service
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Health Care Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire10 October 2017
Reasonable place to work , though hours are limited to part time, not full time. Restructuring of the company leads to job uncertainty, otherwise i would certainly have stayed with them.
Pros
Flexi
Cons
not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Derby9 October 2017
I would not be hear if it was not for derby city council, so I thank them , I was only a young boy back then so much to learn, and meeting different people, my job was to paint property s for the Derby city council, and you get to meet different people,
Pros
Very good work place then
Cons
You had to work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance benefits
Manager (Current Employee) –  Derby City Centre, Derbyshire19 September 2017
Excellent work life balance benefits but a very stressful and frustrating working culture at times, mostly due to constrained resources, and unstable administration due to 3 in 4 yearly local elections.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and work life balance but no progression
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  Derbyshire14 September 2017
A typical day at work included registering clients, finding emergency accommodation etc. I learnt how to cope in a pressurised environment. Excellent management.
Pros
work life balance flexi time
Cons
short staffed and too much workload
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Valued
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Derby6 August 2017
Not valued enough to continue working at this place . My skills diluted and feel neglected. Need to move on ASAP. Too much politics and favoritism happening. Not a good environment.
Pros
Nice people to support
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and creative
Artist (Current Employee) –  derby area31 July 2017
Creative and inspiring work, to appreciate the strength of creative therapies. Requirement to understand in detail improvisation and non verbal communication. Background in dance and movement great advantage to work with confidence with artists.
Pros
refreshments
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good place to work
Children's Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire28 June 2017
There is no typical day at work. I have received excellent support from peers and manager. Very happy to be working there, I feel my job is fairly secure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Derby City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 80 reviews
532
428
313
24
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Derby City Council Reviews by Location