Debra Management reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 152 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kirkintilloch10 February 2016
It helped me develop my skills and qualities. The most enjoyable part about the job was working with the till and money management.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing and nice people to work with
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ramsgate17 August 2015
Sort items on the shelves around the store and speak to customers who need help.

I learned customer service skills and how to approach or respond to customers.

The management was fine and understandable with the times I couldn't work.

Didn't see the co-workers much as I was only in on a Friday. When I did see them they were easy to speak to.

No part of the job was hard.

Speaking to new customers.
Pros
only working on friday, nice team ethic
Cons
work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Shop Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Stevenston, SCT27 February 2015
I would go in Monday to Friday, start from 10am and finish at 4pm. I would always look and see what other people were doing. If there were enough people doing that job, I'd ask the manager if there were anything needed done that she'd maybe want done. Tasks varied from half an hour to an hour sometimes. You got half an hour for a lunch break, whether it was 12.30pm-1pm or 1pm-1.30pm. By 4pm I'd sign out then leave for home. I learned a lot. I certainly gained a lot of skills. I also learned that you will come across people that are not easy to get on with. Even though I knew that already, I didn't realise just how much of an atmosphere that it can create. Management were fine. I got on great with the manager of the shop and I got on well with the managers from other stores who came in to cover while the manager of the store I was in was on holiday. My co-workers, all of them were really nice, friendly, and easy to talk to, apart from two, who just happened to be Key Volunteers. When the manager would be away, the two Key Volunteers (one being a girl who I was warned about before I started, who thought she could just boss anybody the way she liked, the other being a boy who had an Assistant Manager job outside of the shop and acted as if he were the boss when he wasn't) would be in charge and their methods were shockingly terrible and not what should even be in a working environment. I actually had one terrible day of them being in charge I actually went to my advisor at the JobCentre to get advice on how to professionally deal with the issue. Thankfully nothing more happened,  more... but still, the atmosphere for the rest of the duration was a little weird, despite having an individual talk with the manager and even she agreed their methods weren't acceptable and she had to tell them to be more careful on how they were when she wasn't in the shop. I had my lunchtime privileges threatened to be taken away by the main Key Volunteer in charge and was also branded a "slacker" despite doing more tasks than others that day. For the remaining part of my time there, I ended up coming in every morning taking blank sheets of paper listing the tasks I was doing, the time I started them and the time I finished them. The hardest part of the job was sometimes not many customers were coming in, there's only so much sweeping, cleaning and shelf stacking that can be done. I found myself in situations where I'd be dusting or polishing just to look busy mainly because of lack of jobs to do, yet I'd be criticised as there wouldn't be enough left, and they didn't want to constantly buy cleaning products all the time, yet if these things weren't being done, they'd always mention that it needed done, so sometimes it was hard to tell if you should do these things or not, as they moaned if you did and they'd moan if you didn't. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you completed tasks and just being able to start something else. Feeling useful and helping people was enjoyable.  less
Pros
Being able to help people, made some friends, brilliant for gaining experience
Cons
Can drag on a little, the attitude of certain staff, sometimes hardly any work to do and you get made to feel sometimes you're not working hard enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Head Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Herne Bay and Ramsgate19 February 2014
during a typical days work, i would go in, have a drink and then go downstairs and work on the till as i use to run the floor on my own, whilst there was everyone else upstairs sorting. i use to deal with all the sales that were made including gift aided items. also on certain days i would go round the shop, doing take off ready for the deliveries on the monday. on a monday i would also deal with the deliveries and if there was someone else downstairs, i would go upstairs and help with the sorting and also do a bit of steaming with the clothes. what i learned during my time there was how to steam, howe to deal with customer's, working on the till, tagging, sorting, delaing with deliveries. the management there was brilliant, helpful if there was ever a problem and they knew how to have a laugh, the co-workers were also amazing, such a mixed group of people but got along with everyone there, whether it would be a volunteer or pinnacle or community service. the hardest part of the job was dealing with the deliveries as we never had the right amount of staff to deal with it, some weeks we would have 4 or 5 people working the delivery but on the other hand some weeks we would only have me and the manager working during the delivery. the most enjoyable part of the job was working with the people that i have done and also meeting the cusotmers, whether they would be regulars or not and talknig to them about they day for example
Pros
great lunch break and lovely people to work with
Cons
delivery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
affirm
Customer service assistant (Current Employee) –  Bootle17 November 2013
typical is steaming the clothes and putting them out. I have learnt to ask more questions and the management and co workers are brillerant to get on with. the enjoyable part of the job is talking to the customers and the hard part of the job is getting the clothes ironed proberly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life
Voluntary work Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds26 September 2013
A very good company to work for, always feel valued both as a person and as a volunteer, input is always encouraged. Management team is enthusiastic and willing to share knowledge and experience, you are made to feel a vital part of the team
Pros
valued
Cons
lack of targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a fantastic place to work and grow in confidence
volentier (Current Employee) –  Faversham, ENG28 August 2013
A typical day at work is turn up sign in and get on with what needs doing sorting or till work or stock rotation , i learned to work as part of a team when necessary and also on my own. Management are very approachable if their is a problem . Working in the faversham shop is like working for an extended family ,we all get on well together and welcome new volunteers with open arms.
Pros
never knowing whats going to be donated
Cons
sometimes can be heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyabe and wothwhile
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Airdrie21 February 2013
i started this as a work placement through the job centre and i enjoyed putting my time to good use and meeting new people on a daily basis so i decided to carry on volunteering as i got on well with the management this resulted in me being offered the job
Pros
taught me management skills
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace, easy going staff
sales assistant (Former Employee) –  herne bay5 January 2013
busy work environment. i cleaned work area, helped customers and looked after the stock. the management was friendly and helpful and gave me sufficient training for the job.
Pros
welcoming staff
Cons
crowded work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere
VOlunteer (Current Employee) –  Saltcoats3 October 2012
Good atmosphere and good staff, everyone is very friendly. Steaming and processing clothing is our daily tasks.

Management is excellent and they are approachable and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different experience
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  East Kilbride3 August 2012
The management were clear and interactive. My co-workers had the job worth while. Heavy lifting was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part was getting to know new people. I learned how to operate a till and lift furniture. A typical day included opening the shop, doing the store check, doing the banking, filling in the figures on the taking sheets, dealing with customers, arranging furniture diaplays in the store, training new members of staff on the till and tidying the store throughout the day.
Pros
paying paid for the full month a week in advance
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voulunteer
jobseeker (Former Employee) –  newcastle upon tyne15 May 2012
the shop had a very friendly atmosphere and the management treated the staff more like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Debra reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Debra. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 152 reviews
557
445
333
27
110

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture