Debenhams Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long
temporary Christmas Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands7 October 2018
given a lot of long hours good pay
if new given to much responsibility
staff can be rude
too many tasks assigned to one individual
dont like when you have sick days even if extremely ill
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Mangement
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes4 October 2018
No career opportunities and no care for staff. Management was terrible unprofessional and rude. Depressing place to work in and no great benefits at all,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building, productive,
Food Services Adviser (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire18 September 2018
Part-time, as a Food Services Supervisor and Barista at Debenhams Café in Winchester enabled me to gain valuable experience working under pressure and dealing with customers’ requirements quickly and efficiently whilst giving the best customer service possible. My responsibilities included taking customer orders, operating the till, preparing meals and beverages, serving these to customers at their tables and dealing with customer enquiries or complaints. As the most senior member of the team I would maintain smooth operation of the café and kitchen by actively supporting my colleagues and ensuring company policy was followed correctly.

Left without a manager for several months and as such my team and I had to assume managerial roles with no extra salary or recognition.
Pros
good discount on Debenhams store and Cafe.
Cons
you are at the mercy of entitled customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scotland13 September 2018
Very friendly staff but every department is short staffed, meaning more pressure on everyone. A lot of pressure to get accounts and completing tasks on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London27 August 2018
Debenhams is great as a first job however it has no real room for development and they work you to the bone.
If your sick you are forced to come in and work in potwash even through it goes against health and safety.
The staff become like family after time and they are what makes the minimum pay bearable
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Poor pay for under 25
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work culture
Restaurant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cardiff24 August 2018
Debenhams is great as a first job however it has no real room for development and they work you to the bone.
If your sick you are forced to come in and work in potwash even through it goes against health and safety.
The staff become like family after time and they are what makes the minimum pay bearable
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
work you to the bone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Debenhams
Debenhams Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hounslow22 August 2018
The Day at work is always beautiful. I have learnt many skills from there such as: communication skills, organisation skills, time-management and many more.
Cons
salary is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Sales Adviser (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Walsall11 August 2018
I have worked for Debenhams Walsall store for many years now, and have seen many staff come and go. Management are very one way vision. if it doesn't suit them its not happening. All they want from you is account and they wont stop pestering you till you get one.


Staff are friendly

no good benefits really


rotas and done without being asked if you can work the day (over time)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute nightmare
Food Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Dundee, Dundee City8 August 2018
Rediculas uniform, staff worked raw, extremely rude customers most of the time.

Good staff sometimes

Poor managent all look out for themselves.
Rubbish hours, poor pay,
Pros
Atleast you are employed 😂
Cons
Everything else!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace
Sales Adviser (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes31 July 2018
It was tiring but the staff were always friendly. The one thing i would change is the guidance provided by superiors. The staff benefits were very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Sales Advisor (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Southport, Merseyside22 July 2018
i worked here as a student and the pay was just above minimum and the hours were long and quite. the people who worked there were friendly and nice but the shop was overstaffed at some points and understaffed at others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear12 July 2018
A nice place to work, people are friendly and professional. The hours are not too bad. Holidays are good, pay could be better. I would recommend this employer.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Xmas working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire9 July 2018
Debenhams itself was a very good opportunity in a wonderful place where i could definitely see the benefits. However the branch i worked at employed people who did not offer support or a friendly work environment but instead created one which i did not enjoy working in.
Pros
Pay, reasonable hours
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start..
Senior Assistant Buyer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London4 July 2018
Great place to get started in buying admin but career progression is difficult, almost non-existent, salary increases are minimal, hours are long and challenging but the teams are great and the people are fantastic to work with.
Pros
30% staff discount
Cons
career progression slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
Christmas Temp (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds3 July 2018
Great Staff, respectful and caring, good work hours and good pay for a 16, only christmas temp but still good for what it was, would work again if i could
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne21 June 2018
I only did 2 weeks for work experience but i did enjoy my short time there I learned many skills which I will use I'm the future and overall had a very good time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work in
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  London13 June 2018
a lot of responsibility on you with your job title
i learnt about peoples individual needs
met new people everyday
salary was good and my team was friendly
Pros
nice uniform and good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff culture, retail stress taking its toll
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth5 June 2018
The stresses of retail within the current economic climate has had an impact on the working environment.
Working within the teams is fun and there is a sociable aspect of working in a large store and a lot of fun can be had with customer facing roles at times as well as socializing during breaks and outside of work. Most management do a fantastic job and you get support most of the time from sales managers.
Cuts to budgets has really reflected head count and so staff motivation and happiness does seem low.

Wages for more responsible roles is next to nothing and the wage gap is getting smaller.
Pros
Staff discount on items and access to other employee benefits
Cons
No extra pay for bank holidays or festive period
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Food senior sales adviser (Current Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk5 June 2018
its a really fun and friendly place to work. however i worked in the cafe and it can to be very very hard work. its gets very busy. also some very long hours.
Pros
nothing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job role
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Westfield30 May 2018
Working at Debenhams was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience for me because the duties and responsibilities were very straightforward and training was always provided. Something that I particularly liked was that the management was very flexible with working hours and always tried to accommodate my needs around my work.
Pros
Great employee benefits
Cons
not much progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Debenhams. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,814 reviews
5461
4579
3490
2161
1123

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture