De Vere Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search See all 121 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poorly run organisation. Lacks focus, just believe in employee's exploitation
Principal Hotel Company (Current Employee) –  Reading4 July 2019
My suggestion is not to work in this organisation. This company really teaches you real meaning of employee exploitation. Manager do not work, they just pretend to work. No support or direction to employees. Poor customer care, its quite evident from reviews.

HR is clueless.
Pros
Free lunch, free uniform
Cons
Long hours, no direction, no training. Its just money making company with poor staff support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you respect yourself
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire16 June 2019
I worked here for a month and it was the worst job i've ever had. Feel free to apply if you like being given zero instruction by managers but shouted at constantly, or if you like shifts where you only polish cutlery and glasses for 8 hours. The work environment was really not nice, nobody spoke english and I couldn't wait to leave.
Pros
leaving
Cons
suicidal thoughts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
confernce and banquetting staff (Former Employee) –  Slaley5 May 2019
Whilst working for the De Vere group at Slaley I took on the role of a team member and by June, team leader in the conferences and banqueting department, and trained briefly under the head chef. This role was extremely disciplined, and really enabled me to stretch my work ethic boundaries, and take pride in the little things, as well as turning me into a bit of a perfectionist. During my employment here, I worked an average 70 hour week, 12 – 16 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home care
Bauarbeiter (Former Employee) –  Greater London1 May 2019
very good company ans very nice staff .the owner is very nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work culture.
Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Slaley, Northumberland30 March 2019
Too much change within company management. Very little culture in the workforce. Full time staff are usual over worked with no great benefits package in return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Apprenticeship served (Former Employee) –  Crewe, Cheshire25 January 2019
I loved working with
De Vere to do my training, in customer service and catering. I would have recommended it to anyone it helped my figure out who i was and where I wanted to go in life. The training program stopped a couple of years after me qualifying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
De Vere
Wedding and Special Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London17 January 2019
I enjoyed the company and the training I received but I did not enjoy living in London. Every day was different but the operations team were not always the easiest to work with and would not listen or pay attention to detail
Pros
Food on the job was included, lots of oppurtunities to grow, helpful
Cons
Long hours, not always appreciated for the time you put in
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and healthy environment
PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER (Former Employee) –  London29 October 2018
The company is normally have same type of work,
I learned a lot from this company mostly all public relation exercises,
The management was helpful and workplace culture was also healthy.
Pros
sometimes bonus
Cons
sometime we have to work on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Denham27 October 2018
working at Devere i learned my customer services skills and hospitality skills
its a lot of hard work working sometimes long hours off 18 hours for minimum wage
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love being a chef
PRINCIPAL HOTEL COMPANY (Current Employee) –  Enfield11 September 2018
every day is challenging day for a chef and its really fun as well when every thing goes smoothly when me as a kitchen manager manage my department with well planning ahed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for a first job
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire11 September 2018
For a first job its an alright place.
However after a while you notice certain things that are wrong with this place.
Starting by no benefits for you to the assistant manager telling you in a rude way that if you don't hurry up you will be sent home.
Other than that the manager is okay, the kitchen members are really good and most of the collegues were alright.
Pros
good pay for first job
Cons
management, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hectic and not well organised
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes1 July 2018
The job was very hectic, no set hours, numerous times where cancellations would happen very late on, there was no "typical day at work" because things were always changing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work under difficult circumstances
Monitoring officer (Former Employee) –  Redbridge area19 June 2018
This company worked well for a long period of time, providing community care for older adults, learning disability and mental health and physical disability.
But in recent times, suffered financial issues which impacted on the workforce.
Many members of staff chose to leave the company and service users had to be transferred to alternative providers.

The job initially provided job satisfaction, working closely with people requiring care, their families and alongside the local council and other professional services.
Pros
Working within the community with service users and their families.
Cons
Lack of appreciation from the employer and late or non payment of salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Carer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southend13 June 2018
Very good work place and job highly recommended hours are long paid well you get free training and free uniform if you drive they pay travel staff are very friendly
Pros
Free training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but no control
F&B Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wotton14 May 2018
Culture ok, management could be better, working long hours, instability on busiest times, but the job offered me the opportunity to grow more in operational and organisational skills.
Pros
2 free meals
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more felxible
Server Assistant (Former Employee) –  London4 May 2018
Good place to work,colleagues are friendly though some could be a little hostile .Scope for growth could be better . good place to start with. Work timings are very feasible. Overall 4/5.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire13 April 2018
i learned to work fast and effectively with and without a team furthermore i was shown the true nature of the working world whilst working for De vere. i also learnt how fun it can be to interact with people from all different types of backgrounds.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better.
F&B assistant (Former Employee) –  Old Windsor26 March 2018
Learn to work efficiently, because hardly get new staff.
Hardest part of the job was to do few people job at the same time.
Satisfaction of my own hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Food and Beverage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheshire18 March 2018
Working for De Vere in cheshunt Hertfordshire was okay for a first job. I enjoyed working with different people within the environment and communicating with everyone else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst workplace
Conference and banqueting assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading30 January 2018
Management dont care about you,not enought staff, TheyPushed you and the management is poor.
The workplace is far away and long shifts.
There is not teamwork.
Pros
free meal
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at De Vere. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 121 reviews
532
435
328
217
19

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture