Dairy Crest Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HGV Driver
Foodservice Driver LGV Class (Former Employee) –  Sunbury25 May 2018
This position requires early starts loading your vehicle then going out on the road with pre ordered milk and dairy products and delivering to customers premises this Job was great and I really enjoyed it but unfortunately this is a very competitive market and the business is now to close.
Getting up on some of those cold wet mornings was the hardest part of this job but the bright sunny mornings made up for that.
meeting new people and dealing with customers was really great.
Unfortunately the management of this company was lacking any interest.
Pros
Early Starts and Early finishes
Cons
closing down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required night shifts
Milkman (Former Employee) –  Gravesend16 January 2018
This position at dairy crest was just a temporary for the winter period delivering milk to customers houses late at night, early hours of the morning loading and unloading the milk float.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivery driver
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Surrey21 November 2017
starting at 1:30am had to check the lorry to make sure all products where safe on the lorry then checked to make sure there was no late orders and while delivering to shops and schools and hospitals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved it
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton28 October 2017
i loved working there i didn't want to leave i got finished when i was poly i would go back to there tomorrow if i could the staff was friendly it keep you fit
Pros
the money was good
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Mansfield28 October 2017
I enjoyed the job it’s self. The pay wasn’t great but it’s ok if you are a new passes driver. Management was good. Looked after drivers. Always offered new training and looked after the trucks.
Pros
On site shop
Cons
Pay wasn’t great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Trainer/Assessor (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton, Warwickshire18 September 2017
very safe place to work and work life balance was good and there was a good diverse work force and challenging environement and there was a lot of personal development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average empolyer
Dairy Roundsman (Former Employee) –  Fenstanton24 June 2017
getting up early mornings 6 days a week but my round was quite small and you could finish early, Work on you own with very little interaction with others
Pros
PAy
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great local job.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire16 May 2017
I really enjoyed working at the dairy as it suited me time wise as it was only part time hours. Staff were friendly. The only reason for leaving was due to medical reasons at the time, I felt trusted as I was left alone to get on with my job without anyone over seeing me.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary
Cheese Maker (Former Employee) –  Davidstow, Cornwall2 April 2017
This place is easy to get a job.
Good salary however it is shift work. You will have to switch between working nights and days and work 12 hour shifts. You get great holiday and have quite a bit of time off though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but well compensated
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton20 March 2017
Day at work can be varied.
order picking using llops
marshalling and loading lorries for dispatch using bulk movers and counterbalance flt
receiving stock through goods in for storage.
Hardest part heavy work
Best part good pay and benefits
Pros
canteen, pay
Cons
rotating shift on 8 week cycle
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect work place
Milkman (Former Employee) –  Dagenham1 March 2017
day to day was more night to night, I worked on the school runs making sure the milk and dairy products where at the schools on time and had the amount asked for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and varied
Driver/Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset23 February 2017
early morning deliveries, to a varied array of customers across the south coast. Very customer focused and able to interact and sell to the public helped gain an insight to customer needs and expectations. The company was split into 2 main delivery scopes, franchise door milk deliveries and to mainstream corporate deliveries wholesales. The hardest part was delivery in the winter, as the south coast weather can be harsh. overall the job was very satisfactory and enjoyable. The staff and drivers all mixed well and socialised regularly. The upside of the job was delivering along the coast early in the morning as the sun rise was beginning. The views were amazing
Pros
The bonus scheme and commision were unbeatable
Cons
early starts in the winter and delivering in adverse weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
FOODSERVICE SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Field Based13 February 2017
Worked at several different levels working my way up the commercial ladder and was most rewarding when promotions/salary appraisals were given. Share scheme was also available and at times rewarding!
Pros
Share scheme
Cons
Bonus not always achieved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dairy crest
Picker/Runner (Former Employee) –  Chadwell Heath, UK6 February 2017
This was a while ago that i worked at dairy crest, so i am not sure if things have changed and currently the chadwell heath branch has been taken over by muller.
Shifts consisted of 12hrs
2-3 breaks (15mins - 30 mins)
Due to receiving the job from an agency a lot of the staff and myself were on 0hr contracts.
Pros
none
Cons
cancelled shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment in an industry which was going through Change
Farm Business Manager (Former Employee) –  East Midlands & Derbyshire1 February 2017
Reviewing Farmers milk reports and visiting them to point out areas where they could possibly get a better return for their milk and trying to recruit new farmers to supply milk to dairycrest
Pros
Good colleagues and if you like cheddar cheese it was very cheap
Cons
Things were changing in the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Senior Operative (Current Employee) –  Frome, Somerset1 February 2017
not always organised and they have a high turn over of management who all come with different ideas,There is no onsite trainer a the training is completed by the operatives that have completed their training. The factory has may different cultures and the hardest part of the job is language and English is not everyones first language.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons
Language
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but overall good place to work
General Operator (Former Employee) –  Foston, Derbyshire30 January 2017
Good company that supported employees in their quest for development. Worked with great team. Always striving to be the best across the dairy business.
Pros
Lots of chances for development
Cons
Long hours and working in shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respect and productive
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Frome, Somerset3 January 2017
I learn packing, be a cleaner,
work with a lots people, respect them, support them when they need, some day it was really stressful but after that it was ok
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really welcoming and friendly people.
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stonehouse6 October 2016
I spent the day in the laboratory taking samples of the milk and checking it for any growth. It was a really enjoyable work placement as the people were all very lovely and it was very interesting to learn about how science is often a part of food businesses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy place to work
Head Greenkeeper (Current Employee) –  Esher2 October 2016
I enjoy working hard and do anything to get to the job done right even if it takes alittle longer. I happy to work late or early to complete the work I do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Crest. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 76 reviews
519
428
319
27
13

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture