Cumbria County Council Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable
Senior Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria8 November 2018
A reasoanble organisation, but subject to constannt change and reorganiasation as a result of ongoing government spending cuts. Staff numbers are dropping, but worklkloads are ever increasing.

The workplace culture is a bit cliquey. Staff are friendly. Flexible working is encouraged. The main finance office is open plan, and operates a "hot desk" policy whereby few staff have a nominated desk. All staff have laptops.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Continous restructuring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cumbria28 September 2018
Given short term contracts mainly so knew where and when i was going. Had various training in safeguarding and health and safety.
Good experience with management was contacted often and shared useful information.
The hardest part initially was day to day different places for supply but this changed after a short while for short term contracts where i felt more at home.
Gaining experience from working with various age ranges and school and sharing my experiences with varied children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied job
Management Support Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kendal, Cumbria4 September 2018
Each day was different, generally, you would need to check emails and answer accordingly, check answer phone messages, deal with anything pending, attend meetings, often in Penrith and Carlisle.
Management were very difficult to speak to personally everything was done virtually. Wasn't a great work place culture different teams kept themselves to themselves.

The job no longer exists as far as i am aware hence the reason redundancy.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
work load not very forgiving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer in the Carlisle library
Volenteer (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria23 July 2018
On arrival you sign in and i sat at a desk. It was a very calm and nice environment to be in.Often you would help children find books and get their parents to sign them up for the reading challenge that goes on each year. The people were very pleasant and always smiling and happy to help. The most enjoyable part of the job was just how relaxed and stress free the job was and meeting lots of different people.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
It can be quite boring on quiet days
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with very good colleagues.
Resident Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria5 July 2018
At this place I was supervising a land reclamation scheme involving a lot of earthworks. This was good experience and I became very good at keeping accurate records. I also learned how to measure the works and certifying valuations.
Pros
Very flexible hours.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues nice generally
Various Roles (Former Employee) –  Various6 April 2018
Within CCC in various roles and some were complacent and some were more proactive. Those that were proactive were attempting to improve CCC for the Cumbrian people.
Pros
Flexi time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Ulverston13 December 2017
A rewarding career. Challenging at times. No day is ever the same. meet lots of new people on a day to day basis. Good pension scheme and sickness pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but rewarding
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Whitehaven, Cumbria3 September 2017
I work with children on a day to day basis. We have to be aware of their individual needs and we strive to achieve a happy and secure environment for every child living here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Barrow in Furness4 July 2017
The opportunity to work with children and watch them grow and learn is invaluable. Everyday is different and the challenges faced always have to be given 100% commitment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
local goverment
county councillor (Current Employee) –  cumbria3 July 2017
being a elected member offers you the chance to learn a lot about all the councils services .it also offers you the chance to influence local government thinking through scrutiny committees or task and finish groups
Pros
help out local commnittes
Cons
you need to get elected first
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ideal
Service Desk Engineer (Former Employee) –  Carlisle18 June 2017
would not recommned, does not look after staff. many redundancies and favoritisim in the workplace.

No career progession. Terrible work life balance. No support or recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remote working
Extended Services Cluster Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ambleside, Cumbria15 May 2017
Working remotely I was allowed to get on with the job with autonomy

Some of the corporate training was irrelavant for the job I was carrying out.

Being able to work from home was good
Pros
Home working
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to make a difference
Primary School Teacher (Current Employee) –  Whitehaven, Cumbria27 April 2017
I am used to working in a very stressful and demanding job, which can also be extremely rewarding on a day to day basis. I am able to lead and liaise with others, deploy support staff effectively and I have excellent organisational skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Resource Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Cumbria26 April 2017
Very busy days, lots of organisational skills required.
Learned many aspects of education in the Early Years
Really enjoyed working with many educational establishments individually and on group visis and training days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & rewarding job
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, UK6 February 2017
To give an individualised 1-1 service to adults with learning disabilities and support them with activities in which they choose to participate in. I have learned that everyone is an individual and to be patient. the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing service users reaching their potential at their own speed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Highways Operative (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria17 January 2017
Started as an apprentice and carried on qualified but not much further progression and decided to leave to work in the private sector
Pros
Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks the life out of you!
Senior Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Workington10 January 2017
In my particular experience the management was appalling - lots of benefits if you're prepared to 'do a lot of sucking up' and very little actual work - you just need to 'look busy' at appropriate times. Also a good place to work if you like to take lots of sick leave. If you're hardworking and just like to get on with the job I would definitely avoid the library service in the West.
Cons
Lots of favouritism and mind bullying. No support when in genuine need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report

Comment – 25 July 2017

Not the first - lots of people suffered the same and left because of the management.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic place to work
Kitchen Assistant & General Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria8 January 2017
I have worked for Cumbria county council for almost 10 years now & have enjoyed all aspects of areas in both jobs .
I am grateful to of been giving the opportunity to work here after being out of work for a period of time to look after my children .
The staff & head teachers are extremely helpful & friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Domestic (Former Employee) –  Longtown10 December 2016
Walking long periods constantly.Busy workload. Solo work. Friendly residents and staff. Good work certificates.Staff parking.Short lunch break(no other breaks in a 7 hour shift)
Pros
Working solo
Cons
Not many breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic team
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle9 November 2016
A very friendly solid team. Excellent place to work with support, flexible hours and you are rewarded for all your hard work! Interesting and varied work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cumbria County Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 41 reviews
514
413
39
21
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture