COTTON TRADERS Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 48 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  England31 December 2018
Started off great, got a bit of training. Something happened 2 months in to the job and just got left 2 it no training going forward. Happy to dump on you, happy to give no support, no gratitude, they expect miracles to happen, no time to do anything. Don’t care if you have a family so avoid. Some days you won’t be able to take your lunch break or any break as no staff to help cover. Lone working for 2 or more hrs a day. High turn over of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Contract
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Oakham22 November 2018
Poor Contracts. The Company expects you to carry out numious of duties in a limited amount of time with not enough support staff and no training quickly shown what to do and expect you to get on with it.
Pros
None
Cons
Contracts and a Myth on Unifom clause in Contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The old cotton traders has gone.... New company take over, no one is sure what is right or wrong.....
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Dorset11 November 2018
The company store level is what you make it, head office try to help as much as they can, but no rules of what to do, area manager unclear of what is right and what is not. Loved this company until buy out. Lots of shops closing, the ethic of managing has gone some what. What works in Scotland, doesn't necessarily work in Devon, the freedom of merchandising has gone, it's the 'guide' and nothing else. Having worked in retail a long time, you adapt to your store, what works, what doesn't. But now they have a new company, it's the same for all..... Frustrating, no one listens anymore. But if figures are down, it's your fault! Clothing is still a little mature, as well as the standard rugby. Sweatshirts as polos...
If you're looking for a job, with a home life, this is the place..... If you are looking at a long term career, pay rise every year, climbing the ladder, then it isn't.. Manager, on same pay for 2 years, when you leave, they advertise the job for more money !! Says it all....
Pros
Loved the team
Cons
Frustrating, no pay rise, company doesn't know its own direction....
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but low hours and no progression
Call Centre Operator (Former Employee) –  Altrincham, Greater Manchester20 October 2018
Worked there 6 years so wasn't all bad but did not offer the staff full time contracts or permament. You can apply for extra hours but never garaunteed.
They were flexible if you wished to switch contact to mornings/afternoons/evenings.
Contracts were renewed on a 3 month basis so easy to get rid of staff.
Staff were friendly and breaks were generous.
Pay around the minimum wage mark.
There was a huge cap to progression, waiting for someone to leave before you'd be considered to move up but most people in management roles had no intention to leave.
A lot of changes happened and redundancies too.
Hope they're in a better place now.
Pros
Staff sales and discounts
Cons
No progression and no permanent full tine contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly company, supportive
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bordon28 July 2018
Best retail company I have worked for. Excellent 'one team' ethic, reasonable benefits. All head office staff are willing to help, excellent support from other stores.
Pros
Good company-wide atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgend10 June 2018
The management of this shop was poor, I was belittled just because of my age (being 16 when working here). I was spoken to awfully and embarrassed in front of customers.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Belittled and patronised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Additional Hours Holiday Pay
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London4 June 2018
Extra pay, since March, is now being received in wages for overtime. 8.3% on top of each hour worked, which CT claim is for extra holiday pay for additional hours. I only found this out by querying the over payment. Good to be getting extra money but no store managers know anything about it. Other CT employees know nothing about it. No employee communication has been sent or letters sent. Is this because legislation stated that this payment should have been paid from 2015? Employees can ask for a 2 year back payment! The payment is hidden within the base salary and not obvious to the employee reading their payslip. When new candidates are being interviewed for jobs would it not be helpful for Managers/Agencies to be in the know about this?
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So glad I have now left
Team trader (Former Employee) –  South East26 May 2018
Its not very good if you have a family ie: have children, especially young children or school age. Holidays are a pot luck thing. Ended up working more over the school holiday, which was awful. Missed out a lot on family time. Management don’t care, store manager had a favourite, which was not fair. The amount of work you have to do for minimum wage is awful. Get put on but don’t get anything for it, not even a thank you. I’ve worked in retail for around 20 years and have never worked for a retail company who do so much paper work and many unnecessary jobs, its ridiculous. The only good thing really was the girls I worked with
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team members
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Witney West25 May 2018
I have learnt a lot about working in Retail and the pro and cons of it. The paperwork side and figures was one of the pros that i learnt and enjoyed working with figures and sorting out the daily paperwork. Working with customers and helping them with there questions and sorting out what they would like is also very pleasing knowing that you have helped someone.
Pros
working as a team and helping people.
Cons
Having very rude and ignorant customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something not right with this company
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cirencester, Gloucestershire19 February 2018
Went for an interview after applying for a part time post, I was offered to apply for Team leader with my experience in management. With two excellent companies. Something was not right the manager never made eye contact and misinformed and misled me. Out of pocket after agreeing to travel 40 miles for the interview. No wonder they cannot keep their staff.
Pros
Nice location
Cons
Senior Management misleading
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  South East20 January 2018
The best thing about working at Cotton Traders is the store team you work with, I was fortunate to have a great manager and team, and they are the only reason I stayed with the company so long. The pay is bad and does not reflect what is asked of you by the company, and on top of that you have to pay towards your uniform which you have to buy every 3 months. They have double standards in terms of what they expect of you, but it does not go the other way. The head office management don't seem to know what they are doing from one day to the next and are constantly contradicting themselves, it can get very tedious.
Cons
Pay is rubbish
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Altrincham, Greater Manchester19 January 2018
Great place to work with a friendly and happy working environment, Long hours but the pay is more then suitable and justify the long days at work. Great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hideous place to work.
Team trader (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 January 2018
Unfair low contracted hours, although expected to cover all holidays and sickness,minimum wage, hideous clothing unless your 60+ had to choose something every couple of months and pay for it, got 75% off but at their hefty prices was still almost a tenner for each item.. if they want you to wear it it should be free.. management a farse unless you were in with them. Got treated in fairly. Never listen to any problems hence stores always needing staff.!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wiltshire2 January 2018
The shifts are very disorganized, they change every few days. 1 day off at a time, 2 days off over Christmas and no time off over New Years. Never enough staff so if someone is off sick have to do 10hr shifts with no warning. Pros Nice people to work with.
Pros
Lovely people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Addlestone6 December 2017
Small concession with 5 member team. Providing unique shopping experience and promotion of our casual clothing by shop and online offers. Multi-tasking customers, working in a team of 2-3 on daily basis towards targets, processing phone/store queries, ordering on-line, collection/returns, selling gift cards, processing of promotions. Application of Health and safety, working through deliveries, merchandising and housekeeping done by team only, no external help including stock takes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Yorkshire6 December 2017
It's okay. It's often quite busy in terms of organizing, tasking and deliveries. It is quite physically intensive compared to other retail jobs I have had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and secure
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth16 October 2017
Fast paced and fun filled. Very busy , always something to do from housekeeping to customer service and stock replenishment. Lovely envronment and reliable management, always ready to encourage the staff.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ferrybridge, West Yorkshire11 October 2017
In a typical day at Cotton Traders i would open the store, check the float and proceed to clean the store ready for the first arriving customers. Within this job role i have learned how to conduct myself in a professional environment, as well as learning appropriate skills for any work place. I was a Sales Assistant so was never in the management role however i would often be left alone in store or one of the higher ranking staff members within the store at a time. I was able to conduct staff and run a store for however long necessary.
Pros
Good place to start working
Cons
Not long enough hours - pay too low
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn’t enough customers
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, Berkshire4 October 2017
I worked 4-12 hours a week which weren’t enough, I was on £5.50 an hour and getting paid monthly which wasn’t enough for me. They didn’t want me in for extra hours and my time was from 12-4 or 11-3 on a Saturday or Sunday.
Pros
Breaks in between
Cons
Not enough customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer services
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent4 September 2017
Ok company. Worked my up from a small part time position of 8 hours to store manager quite quickly. Small friendly teams and good management style. Not overall busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at COTTON TRADERS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 48 reviews
57
410
314
27
110

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

COTTON TRADERS Reviews by Location