Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 205 reviews matching the search See all 10,055 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
wearhouse operative (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire6 September 2019
Management make up the rules as they see fit,to suit their own ends.No matter what happens and who is wrong, Management will never take the fall for being wrong.Too busy sucking up to senior management visits.Not a surprise to find that the CEO has not even made the top 5 Great CEO s to work for(sorry he hasn't even made the top 40).
Advice to Management
Try listening to your staff,Lead by example and not by what I say and do.Comlpy with company handbook all the time and Not just when it suits you. Invest properly in your staff and treat them as stated in the handbook and Not just when it suits you. Stop being so far up your own backsides and try being real Managers. If senior management gave a thought about their staff,then open your eyes. You certainly wouldn't visit warehouses incognito,what you actually see might just surprise you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unless friends with higher up you will not go further
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Farnborough3 September 2019
the company started off great with great pay but started lowering my hours and stopped listening to me and lying about conversations we had even when written down
Pros
salary
Cons
unreliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, Dull, cannot move on the career path
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire28 August 2019
There is no room to move up the career path, this is just a job. If you do not fit into the "in" crowd you will be overlooked for promotion, Leeds Costco has a rule of no family members can be employed, yet there is an entire family from aunties, unlces, grandmas etc all working in the same Costco.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place decent wage
sheffield - Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield27 August 2019
long interveiw process drugs test, back ground check etc , unfortunately I was only temporary so could not see the jobs full potential .. wage was good over time on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  lutterworth27 August 2019
was a good compony to work for , great team you work with . staff great when u needed them . they made you feel like you wanted to stay and do over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Stressful work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westhill18 August 2019
Working at COSTCO's cafe ranges from surprisingly laid back to incredibility stressful, but it makes sense for the amount of pay. However, slow days are few and far between since the store is very busy throughout the day. At lunchtime on weekends and practically the entire day around Christmas, lines will stretch all the way to the entrance. Due to this, while on till you must be as fast and efficient as possible, sometimes taking multiple orders at once. The cafe is usually understaffed for the amount of people who are waiting to order and many jobs have to bet done at once i.e. counting stock, checking temperatures, refilling and cleaning machines, cleaning tables/floor, not to mention needing to prepare new food for the next day or when stock inevitably runs out for the day. And finally at the end of the day taking all the rubbish and waste, which there is always a lot of. The general environment in the cafe is what you'd expect, it's always very hot and humid thanks to the steamers and ovens or to cold thanks to the amount of freezers you must jump in and out of. Also the coats and hair nets generally feel awful to wear especially if you have a disposable one. Also for whatever reason, Costco will attract less than desirable customers who will find any reason to complain about the quality of the food there despite them still eating there every week. The best thing I can say about Costco is the people who work their and the management, they can be strict with company policies, but they're very down to earth about the struggles of the cafe environment. Shifts usually last  more... 8 hours and what time you start will vary, be prepared to come in at 5am some days. Working at Costco provides you with benefits and a pension plan but I wasn't planning to work there long enough to take advantage of those.  less
Pros
Good Pay, Great Social Environment, Work Benefits, Decent hours
Cons
Incredible work Load at times, Understaffed, Kitchen environment is less than desirable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team to work with
Ecommerce Buying Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford14 August 2019
Fun team but slow progress in roles and not adaptable with work/life balance with kids. They only do full days not half days so had to take whole day off to watch 1 hr performance at my daughters school
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable, good salary and benefits, relaxed atmosphere.
Analyst Programmer (Current Employee) –  Watford11 August 2019
Good salary, great benefits, nice atmosphere to work in, never a day that I don't want to go to work! Being a small team means that each person must take on a certain amount of resposibility for their own work, and with that comes pride of ones own work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to work around lives of employees but below satisfactory management practices
Retail Assistant/Door staff (Former Employee) –  Thurrock18 June 2019
I was studying at college and university whilst working for this employer and they were flexible with the hours I was able to do and I could work which was good. However management practices were something to be desired as problems in areas (such as the staff numbers in kitchen areas on busy days) and these problems with lack of staff would cause havoc for other departments as they would have to help in these struggling areas rather which would cause a knock-on affect for the whole store.
Pros
Promotions within the store were able
Cons
Shift change could occur and management would not relay this all the time to staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Ideals, Not As Good In Execution
Member Services (Current Employee) –  Avonmouth7 June 2019
The vast majority of working for Costco is amazing, the money is great, the benefits are also great, the ideals of the company are amazing. The CEOs and big guys at the top of the chain are lovely, the issue comes in with individual managers and supervisors who don't do their jobs correctly/leave the lower staff members to do most of the work. They stand around on their phones for personal use and tend to only give negative feedback. Another large issue is that the company doesn't understand that their staff are humans who can and do get sick, they're not good with any kinds of mental health issues etc. even if you have a doctors note, or a disability that they know will affect your work, they ignore it. Recently a long time staff member was pressured into early retirement because he had been very sick lately which is something I don't agree with. I wouldn't say it's a job for everyone but it's a good job overall.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
bad with sickness, not much respect from certain managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Wembley, Greater London6 June 2019
During a typical day working at Costco, I interact with customers on a regular basis ensuring they are satisfied with the service they are provided. I have learnt to work with effective time management and staying organised. For example, this is through ensuring all tasks are done on time and constantly checking all tasks are up to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you need to be more faster to finish the job
STOCKER (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes5 May 2019
Costco is very good company every one dreams to work there but the problem is they don't give full time only part time .if like they give full time I will not work anywhere again .
Pros
no we buy lanche
Cons
you can use any boot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor unmotivated environment
Membership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hayes28 April 2019
No trust within the company, fraught with politics from the bottom up.

You clock in like they don't trust you, deal with entitled customers and do not have the backing of management.

Pay is also very low!
Pros
Flex hours
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
shop floor assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry27 April 2019
Brilliant job and exceptional pay, Fun workplace and of course a prestigious company. Hours were reasonable and the perks of the job were excellent. Would highly recommend and have recommended Costco as a place to work to friends and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Hammersmith13 April 2019
The breaks were very good. enjoyed working there I met really nice people and the customers could be difficult but the manager was sweet so she dealt with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London11 April 2019
working at Costco was very good company to work for but i moved to wales for my personal reasons otherwise i still would be working for them , excellent comapny to work for realy look after there staff as well as memmers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli assiant
Deli Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London10 April 2019
washing hands before getting into the deli. taking out of date of the shelf. making food by using the speck sheet. making food of party sandwick wrap and platter. Checking temp in the deli making sure it is clean at all times
Pros
deli assiant
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire9 April 2019
Used to thoroughly enjoy working for Costco, but since dropping to part time I feel forgotten about. Very limiting opportunities due to company politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at costco
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chingford4 April 2019
Costco Wholesale is one of the biggest wholesales in the UK. They have other stores in different parts of the world as well. Costco is normally very busy on weekends to where there is no way to get around in the shop. The management here is not so great but they try their best to keep the company running. Most of my colleagues are really nice and easy going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, very uncoordinated management
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire3 April 2019
it certainly wasn't a bad place to work. but the managers were very unprofessional and would typically spend their time gossiping about the social life of employees and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 10,055 reviews
54.8K
43.1K
31.4K
2365
1308

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture