Cornwall Council Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search See all 57 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for them
Youth support worker (Former Employee) –  Locality 24 February 2019
I spent 8 years with the council, 2 of them were voluntary. I was always looked after and had a great pension scheme. I was given great opportunities to learn new skills and develop my existing ones.
Pros
great pay and pension scheme
Cons
answerable to the government
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked.
Customers Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Camborne, Cornwall4 February 2019
Worst place I have ever worked.

Staff constantly say that they are understaffed, but we are just underperforming as the amount of work you are expected to do at the council is laughable, but the majority of staff I work with still go off on sick, claiming that they are stressed due to their work load! Nowhere has sickness like this or such a low performance expected. You constantly have managers tell you how it will change, but obviously when you work somewhere that has no repercussions for taking as much sickness or doing no work, it does not change.

I have so many managers but no one is disciplined for lack of work and your work is rarely even checked! They just check peoples leave and go into meetings, but it is impossible to be sacked from the council and fear of people complaining if they are disciplined means it never happens, so I don't know why I have so many managers as I struggle to know what they do, apart from also take six months off sick with stress once a year! Recently some managers who were off sick more than anyone went off with nice redundancies, they must have been laughing all the way to the bank.

No one actually cares about delivering a cost effective service for the tax payer (although we get plenty of meetings and emails with those buzzwords thrown around), they just constantly talk about morale of staff and try to bend over backwards for staff that complain, no matter how unreasonable the complaint is. I sit near a union rep who they are all scared of, she takes plenty of sickness and sneakily encourages everyone to complain about anything.
  more... Managers are more interested in keeping her happy than giving a good service to the customer.

If you want a job where you can do no work and never be sacked, take six months sick every year with no repercussions, then you need to apply.

How easy is this job? I have been sat in make busy for 20 minutes typing this and no one has even noticed, even though there are 15 calls waiting to be answered. No doubt one of my colleagues will go sick this week with anxiety of stress due to having to take calls, which is obviously a stressful thing to do in a contact center.
  less
Pros
Six months sick each year
Cons
Will zap you of your work ethic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall21 September 2018
Busy, ambitious, complicated. Too much change in too little time, with understaffed project teams. Too much expected of too few. Too little communication and too few confided in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Camborne, Cornwall27 July 2018
A great place to work which really nurtures individuals making them feel like part of the wider team. Opportunities to progress and a fantastic benefits program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
effective leadership leading to effective and excellent practice
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Camborne, Cornwall25 June 2018
always looked forward to heading to work, great support and ethos. Social work education and commitment to achieving excellence was of a high standard.
Pros
beautiful location and great support
Cons
there wasnt any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Camborne, Cornwall26 April 2018
Nice staff, good working environment, lots of help and support, enjoyed my time there. The most enjoyable part of the job was the Friday afternoon quiz, brought the team together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and Lots on offer
Development Lead (Former Employee) –  EAST Cornwall15 March 2018
Relevant and free training to be accessed whilst in employment.
Behind other counties with regards to Early Intervention services so lacking support for universal families.
Good use of management across the county to lead and push forward new projects.
Imbedded culture of working in Cornwall is that often people do not move around often due to isolation and being so rural.
I have an excellent staff team that I currently work with who all show commitment to caring for the best outcomes for children and families.
Pros
Good pension/ benefits
Cons
RE structure every 2 years, losing focus on early intervention
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good support
Trading Standards (Former Employee) –  Truro13 March 2018
Develop new skills with in local government, good training program, workplace environment good and have mobile working program in place. Health and wellbeing support program in place for employees.
Pros
mobile working & family support
Cons
pay structure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall13 March 2018
I have enjoy working at Cornwall Council and have met many good people. The benefits are good and there are many offices around the county. Cornwall Council is a large employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and changing workplace
Lead Auditor (Current Employee) –  Truro7 February 2018
The Council is subject to challenges with the reduction in funding but there are still opportunities providing you are forward looking and flexible.
I would say that there is not a typical day in work and with the pace of change in the Council you need to be prepared to change with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring employer
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Penzance, Cornwall5 February 2018
opportunity to support the community through local authority. principled and moral employer. challenging and rewarding work. friendly and supportive team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work, but lack of progression in terms of salary
Case coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cornwall18 January 2018
Not great opportunities to exceed the entry salary. Do not get told how to get there or what to do.
Difficult to speak to managers

The team are amazing very supportive and good fun to work with, secure job and great family benefits.
Pros
Cafe food is lovely
Cons
Lack of progression in salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day it's OK, but needs to rethink its strategy towards staff
Project Manager/Analyst (Current Employee) –  Truro15 January 2018
Day to day, Cornwall Council is a great place to work. There is a good approach to the work/life balance with flexible working around core hours, home working etc all allowed (although this varies depending on the requirements of teams and the approach of individual line managers).

The atmosphere is quite laid-back and not too corporate and there is support for employees that need it around health issues etc.

However - and I realise the Council is very strapped for cash so this is a difficult issue - as an organisation they will struggle to attract and retain the best employees if they don't start paying decent salaries. Their pay offers, compared against similar roles in Health or the charitable sector are laughable and their recruitment strategy seems based entirely on the idea that 'it's Cornwall, and you won't get a better offer anytime soon'

Never mind half-hearted intranet campaigns about supporting mental health. If you want to show your employees that you value and support them, pay them a decent salary and invest in retaining them.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer despite difficult times
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Truro20 December 2017
Despite challenging economic times leading to job insecurities, the council remains a nice place to work.

Benefits such as flexi time and being able to buy additional leave are a positive, the wages are relatively low though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Surveyor, and Highway Safety Inspector (Former Employee) –  Cornwall6 December 2017
i spent 16 years in highways, from surveying to highway safety, geoenvironmental engineering to public rights of way enforcement. I spent time in the labs analyzing asbestos.
Pros
good pension
Cons
promotion was dead man shoes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous team to work with.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cornwall22 November 2017
A Teaching Assistants work can be very rewarding and certainly varied. You will never stop learning, whether it be from the children themselves, courses or colleagues as there will always be something new to learn from Safeguarding to Polices and Procedures, bullying to the latest way we must speak to the children!
Pros
Working with a good team
Cons
There will be very bad days muddled up with the good ones!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Business and Administration Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Truro20 November 2017
Cornwall Council is a great employer that looks after it's employees. It offers training and development training along with a lot of employee benefits; you have flexi time which helps you to work around your home life which is great for people who like start early and equally great for people who like to start late, its especially good for those with children as you can work around your family.
Pros
Employee discounts online and in store
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. Austell, Cornwall14 November 2017
Full time employment working with children.Job satisfaction from helping children.Good rate of pay .School holidays paid.Many tasks and activities .Pension scheme available
Pros
Varied tasks
Cons
5 day week full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on where you work
Trading Standards Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall11 September 2017
A typical day in the office is very busy but interesting - no two days are ever really the same. You are constantly learning which is good.
Management are happy for you to run with ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and fulfilling employment
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall2 September 2017
Organisation with opportunities and training. Good benefits including flexi time, family friendly policies etc. Good rates of holiday and other schemes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cornwall Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 57 reviews
516
420
314
22
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

Cornwall Council Reviews by Location