Compass Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work, except the staff
Catering assisstant (Former Employee) –  Bishopbriggs11 May 2018
At first it was good. Then I could see the didn't care about there customers or there needs. There very money orientated which yes money does count, but they took it to extremes. A few people including myself were near breakdowns.
Pros
None
Cons
Evertything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Cleaning Operative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 February 2018
I have enjoyed working with the Compass group. I was working at the edgbaston cricket stadium for the ICC test match. I have worked with handheld tools to complete tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Basildon, Essex9 January 2018
A typical day at work would be to make our customers king a happy customer means happy working team. I learn something new every day . The management are very good very helpful very friendly i like working for compass but now looking for something new .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Alright
CSA (Current Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear7 January 2018
Honestly, its a job, no real world benefits at all, depending on whos there can make or break your shift, were always running out of supplies and customers are rude, and so are the higher ups, to them youre just a number, if that.
Cons
you dont get paid for your mandatory breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Porter/Retail Staff (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside25 October 2017
Working for compass is a learning experience due to the fact that there is supportive staff working alongside you and help if you are unsure about any task that have been set
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One dimentional
Trainee Chef (Former Employee) –  warrington31 August 2017
tasked with providing breakfast and lunch for a company. alone and rarely in contact with management was not an ideal platform for a career. not an option for myself
Pros
free meals
Cons
limited interaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salford4 August 2017
really enjoyed my time here I worked in a high school in the kicten and enjoyed evey day I was there, the job was really easy and made time for talking to the kids etc. I would definitely recommend this comoany to work w=for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What Fostering is expected to be
Foster Carer (Current Employee) –  Loughborough29 July 2017
It's a very difficult job and they do their best to try and support you but when you have a difficult child living in your home there is only so much support that can be offered. They offer a wide variety of training to better aid you within your job. Your fellow Foster carers can be and invaluable source of support, more so that th company you work for as they do not have any sort of idea of how hard the job actually is.
Pros
You help children
Cons
It is constantly challenging and it is in your home, there is no respite from it on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job for students
Ad-hoc Waiter (Former Employee) –  Twickenham, Greater London15 July 2017
Ad hoc work therefore very flexible. I worked as a waiter during Rugby Match days; very vibrant and diverse range of employees. A very fun job in the summertime, management ensure the job is done and communicate effectively to the kitchen and waiting staff.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Plate Waiter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 July 2017
work was fun and well managed it was easy to get on with other members of staff i thought it was good that i got a meal with them and the breaks they gave us was good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work for
Comie chef (Former Employee) –  anywhere9 July 2017
the company gives you a good salary and and grate people to work for. i would work for them again if i really needed to as they are just good. looking for closer jobs is a taks
Pros
grate experiance
Cons
not lot of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire16 June 2017
Training was good. Good work environment but poor members of staff. I was made to feel unwelcome as well as victimised. when I expressed my concerns on various things I was made to feel unimportant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun & productive
Stock Count/Stock Check Waiter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 June 2017
Nice long hours
Staff very helpful
Managers
the hardest part off the job was standing on you feet for 6 hours but we do get a free lunch so it makes up for it
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon24 May 2017
i enjoyed working for compass easy hours got showed what cleaning products to use. the hours wasn't hard. the online training was easy to understand, only got given 1 T shirt,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Godalming, Surrey8 May 2017
Compass are a good company to work for. They treat you with respect and are willing to help you progress. Always paid on time, always asked if want to do overtime but no pressure to say yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice kitcbhen
Catering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds3 May 2017
Day to day running of school kitchen.learned lots of new computer skills.some management supportive.difficult place to work as too many individuals to try keep happy.too much pressure from upper management but great girls to work with.
Pros
School hols off
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
posh but nice
Hospitality Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourn, Cambridgeshire27 April 2017
Very nice loyal place to work. I worked in the client kitchen upstairs and was in charge of 16 conference rooms. The clients were polite and well mannered and even though it can get very busy at times no one put nay pressure on you because you were mostly on your own.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours, very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Kitchen Assistant and Chef (Former Employee) –  Denham11 April 2017
Working for compass can be fun if you are passionate about food and catering. It can provide you with some good job oppurtunies. They provide you with the training you need to succeed in your role.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Stressful if things go wrong
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Kitchen Assistant at Tesco (Former Employee) –  Durham25 January 2017
a typical day at work consisted of cooking ,serving ,and cleaning all the cooking utensils , I learned how to cook and fill vending machines .it was always very busy so you were always on the go but really enjoyed it and meeting new people
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was different
Cook (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire18 January 2017
My standard working day involved cooking,cleaning,preparing,serving customers.
I learned health and hygiene,health and safety, different cooking skills for average sized groups (20-30).
My manager was very helpful and understanding.
The people i worked with was a good laugh and all helped each other out the main thing was team work.
I didn't come across anything hard unless things ie cooker or machinery broke down.
The bit i enjoyed the most was cooking and serving the customers.
Pros
Free tea, coffee
Cons
Company change over
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 847 reviews
5282
4272
3196
249
148

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture