Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide ranging and helpful
Cashier/Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelsea6 February 2018
Working for compass group was a good experience as it gave me vasts amount of skills in various environments. Working different types of roles meant that I would be able transfer the skills I gained to many other jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Defra2 February 2018
Great place to be. Really good learning experience. Really good for young chef to learn the trade and grow in the company. You get to meet and learn from a lot of good people.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company.
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  London1 February 2018
nice company, but sometimes dont have a clue what they doing. Lots of times managers was changing so it was difficult to get used to new every time...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Kitchen Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Heathfield30 January 2018
Cooking school meals can be heavy work but to see the children smile makes it worth while.
team work essential.
If you have a well organised head Cook you will have a efficient kitchen.
Enjoyable environment and fun people to work with.
Pros
nice working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Demanding but Great People
Partnership Director (Current Employee) –  London29 January 2018
Balance between company and client needs is very difficult. Senior Management are too autocratic.
Culture is profit at the expense of people and clients
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
Autocracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting company
Customer Experience Manager (Former Employee) –  Rubery, Worcestershire27 January 2018
A good starting company to gain a lot of experience as they really throw you in the deep end.

Very varied and challenging environment.

Flexible mobile working role
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to Contracted Servces
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Essex26 January 2018
First Job within the commercial sector, not ready or equipped following 24 years in the military.

Best skills was being able to listen to the customer needs and deliver; but challenged to delivery company benefits and expectations.

Should have taken time out to assess the needs personally and for the business.

Regret how this opportunity ended.
Pros
Opportunity to Learn Very Quickly!!
Cons
Not ready at the time!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
General Assistance (Former Employee) –  London24 January 2018
everyday working here was hard your on the go 24 hours and when the company doesn't provide the right equipment it makes it harder to work and it happened quite a lot with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Govan19 January 2018
I enjoyed working for compass, serving the customers was the most enjoyable part of the day. Face to face interactions with customers and helping others gave me a great feeling. There wasnt a hard part of the job, new targets and challenges were set to meet sales targets. To meet the sales targets we had to upsell to the customer these could be challenging but not hard.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire19 January 2018
Very challenging and satisfactory during my time working at the company, able to grow in my required job designation. Adapt to customers need in ensuring they get utmost satisfaction during their visit. Ensure issues relating to the business is treated with in the correct work procedure in enhancing smooth operational needs for all concerned.
Pros
yes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Compass Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nuneaton18 January 2018
Supply a Service for Military and non Military staff, Coffee & Co, outlet of Costa, i also supply a food and bar service. Cleaning and Cash up at the end of my Shift. My night-shift is mostly soldiery.
Pros
Give the Military a great Service.
Cons
Not Many Customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Hard Work
Catering Assistant, Hospitality and Distribution (Former Employee) –  Carlisle10 January 2018
While I love the physical hard work and the great people, it often left me exhausted. 5 long years, thoroughly enjoyed and I will always remember the skills I have learnt and people I have worked with.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hardworking and fun workplace
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosport, Hampshire10 January 2018
A typical day included prepping food, serving food and drinks, clearing tables and washing up, and handling money at a till all which maintaining good customer service. The most enjoyable part of the job was the good team members around me who always made the job fun; and also regular customers who would show keen interest in the team.
I learnt lots of aspects of the job including how to deal with certain issues faced with customers.
Hardest part of the job was trying to keep up with demand on food and drinks while keeping the cleaning standards high when it was very busy. Also the short notice when called in on days off because of zero hour contract.
Pros
Flexiblitiy, good team
Cons
Zero hour contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London8 January 2018
a fun and productive place to work always something to do or always thriving under pressure team are so great never a dull day only problem is they only offer 16 hour contracts
Pros
free lunch
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Retail Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne4 January 2018
Worked for compass group for a good few years, full uniform and name badge. Good company can't fault it. Only left due to having children.
Free lunch and drink after a 4hour shift,
Pros
Free lunch after 4hours shift
Cons
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Consultant Services Group (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire3 January 2018
A typical day at the races, meant I had to be on the ball, approachable and interact with the customers. I learnt how to approach and deal with customers correctly.
Management was sufficient and organised.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass
Cattering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh2 January 2018
Great staff to work with, great hours near the christmas holiday and holidays and bank holidays and weekends off (if there is no overtime available. Local school.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Normal School Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things change
Cook (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow31 December 2017
good to work for excellent pay but long hours
could get boring as worked with same items every day and no say about menus as controlled from head office.i
Pros
pay
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Costumer service associate (Current Employee) –  Uxbridge, London23 December 2017
A typical day at work would start from going to the shop, doing the necessary preparations for the day of different ingredients. What i would say i learned the best is the interaction with the customers and how to please them through the service, which is at the same time the most enjoyable pat of the job, noting that you achieve your satisfaction by satisfying the customer with the service
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fraudulent management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire20 December 2017
You work hours that are not paid, they try to manipulate you into do extra shifts for the benefit of the company managers, but they never reward employees, you always work hard and do not see appreciation for that.

Specially of you are a foreigner.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report