Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management and long hours
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 May 2018
Management don't listen or care about you, I currently work 12 hour shifts and if I want a day off, then I have to let them know 2 weeks before hand! Ridiculous!
Pros
Discounts at since retailers
Cons
Long hours, can't fit around family life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
parts of this experience was good, but....
Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London14 May 2018
waste of time if you are looking for a future in this industry.
management without any experience dictating the day to day operations.
overall, if you are a person willing to adhere to any crazy requests, you will do fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cafe service advisor (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire11 May 2018
Weekly rotas
Friendly work environment
Approachable management
Flexible shifts
2 days off together
Fun work environment
8 hour shifts
Ppe provided
Training provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good& happy work place produces a high level of stendard
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Habadashes Ask school chartwells10 May 2018
To be able to invest time in people to develope them so that’s makes the unit run better . I have worked in catering all my working life so I do have experance but i do listen to other people that might know a better way always learning . Working with in compass gives the chanc to Poole to develop their skills investing in people .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Aintree, Merseyside9 May 2018
best company to work for they look after you they really do I never had one problem with them the staff so friendly and nice. would love to work for them again some time in the future
Pros
nice staff
Cons
there is no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Swindon9 May 2018
I have met a lot of great people including management stuff while working there. Enjoyed it.
Also gained a lot of new skills including making coffee.
In addition gained experience in delivering great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  O2 Arena8 May 2018
I am working on daily basis keeping in touch with different level of customer offering them the best customer service possible. On the day i will set up rooms for incoming event taking in place in the evening
Pros
build up experience with customer
Cons
high pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work hours
Catering staff (Current Employee) –  Sheffield5 May 2018
I have learned to work a till and deal with customers as I have never done this before.
The working hours are flexible as you work whenever you are available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not get paid
Early Morning Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset30 April 2018
Worked as early morning cleaner at Morrisons,job was good but after working 6 weeks only issued one second hand polo shirt as uniform and still not been paid,tried contacting head office regarding pay and they wouldn't help and wasnt interested tried blaming manager that my hours hadn't been put through,expected me to work 2 months before any wages and then couldn't guarantee I'd get paid everything I was owed,
Pros
Leaving company
Cons
Early mornings and no pay or uniform
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
zero hours not good
F&B Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 April 2018
When working a zero hours there is always a fear that you wont always get work.
Being able to be around some of this countries biggest sporting events is an amazing experience.
Pros
amazing venues
Cons
zero hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Levy Restaurants28 April 2018
Flexible shift patterns
Work environment is nice and fun
You get to listen to and sometimes see amazing performers
Managers are nice
It has built my skills up a lot
The pay for the same role is more in other places
Pros
flexible shifts
Cons
Pay compared to other places with same role is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and results driven
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  UK24 April 2018
The most enjoyable part of the role was the diversity of business and people. The hardest part of the job was work life balance however remote working was encouraged
Pros
Diversity
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Hospitality Assistant (Former Employee) –  Haydock, Merseyside23 April 2018
a very busy working day sometimes from early morning till evening.
all staff friendly and fun with a lot of care taken in what you do.
good customer engagement role
Pros
free lunch
Cons
can be long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed and poor paid company to work for
Night Porter / Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Eastwood, Nottinghamshire23 April 2018
Training is minimal, and for front of house such as reception it is crucial that you know what you're doing!
Long, unsociable hours working nights, with little benefits salary-wise, and an extreme work-load, especially on weekends. Short staffing is a massive issue.
Management seem to not care about their employees and spend most of their time sat around doing little to nothing. As an employee it does not feel like you're looked after at all, and when problems do occur, it's pointless flagging them up with management.
Pros
One free meal
Cons
Multiple, as described above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Deputy General Manager for 14forty (Current Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire22 April 2018
14forty and FM section of Compass Group, a busy role with ever increasing footfall, 90 staff covering Reception, Catering and Housekeeping with all the diverse people managemnet required to provide a busy FM contract.
Pros
Good Team and Training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Kitchen staff and waitress (Former Employee) –  Exeter20 April 2018
Good place to work good management for the most part good job pay ok met some nice people working there had a laugh learnt a lot would possibly go back in the right circumstances
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun environment to work in
Purchase Ledger Assistant - Keith Prowse (Former Employee) –  Twickenham, Greater London11 April 2018
A typical day at work would always start off with breakfast and tea. I would then go through all emails and any urgent tasks that needed to be addressed to followed by invoice processing and any payments that needed to be made. I worked within the Sports Hospitality Sector so I got to learn a lot about the different sporting venues and events that were held there. Management were always on hand to help you and support you.
Pros
Flexi hours
Cons
No scope to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Temporrary Work
Catering Assistant in Cricklewood Bus Garage (Former Employee) –  London3 April 2018
- Ok, place to work on a temporary bases.
- A typical day at work was great.
- The hardest part of working for Compass Group would be getting more local work.
- I enjoyed working with the Employees in Cricklewood Bus Garage.
Pros
Free lunch, Team Mambers
Cons
Not alot of local work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, co-operative workplace
Hospitality Staff (Former Employee) –  Sheffield City Centre, South Yorkshire1 April 2018
During my time with Compass Group, I enjoyed my work as I was waiting on customers in hospitality boxes at Sheffield United football ground which was a fun experience and increased my confidence approaching to customers. Also, I worked in the kitchen plating up food and serving food to the customers. I was a good team worker and communicated well with other workers. Overall, it was a good experience.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
The pay and long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership and no appreciation
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Devon26 March 2018
Reduced team members from 52 week contract to 50 week contract meaning reduced monthly pay reduced holiday allowance whilst increasing management pay and bonuses. No pay review in the time I have been here
Short staffed rumours are they will reduce you s further in our department and others.
Pros
Made friends inside the team
Cons
Poor morale, poor leadership only interested in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport