Compass Group Employee Reviews

Found 699 reviews matching the search See all 3,523 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not beneficial to work
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire20 November 2018
Working for just like Zero hours contact. Not beneficial to work.working 39 weeks over 52 weeks and not getting minimum wage in total . Can't see any benefit for future...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hospitality Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London18 November 2018
Huge potential to advance you career.
Became a manager at 19.
Developed relationship management skills and the tools to lead a team effectively and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just poor!
Bar Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Hampshire12 November 2018
Very poor managment with very bad leadership skills.
Forcing people to sign a 50 week year contract.
Never had any real training just hopless online training which is a joke.
Never had a development review.
No encourgament or praise from company direct.
Was put in supervisor role and had no training help in setting prices finding competent staff. Not had anyone highter ask me how im getting on.
Site manager was promoted to area manager. (bet hes been getting a pay rise) and not been replaced.
Staff just get moved about to fill the gaps from redundencies people leaving.
Would never reccomend anyone works for this company at this current time.
Pros
MOD clients are quite nice
Cons
one day off a week. No PDR or training in 5 years been with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Everywhere6 November 2018
It was very tiring yet it was a very good experience for me to do as I knew how to interact with a lot of customers around me and also having the ability to learn new stuff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eurest/compass group
CATERING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Leicester6 November 2018
enjoyed my time with Compass group, a varied time doing various jobs. The best working on a power station cooking for 2500 staff on site mostly 7 days a week 12hrs a day but was a very enjoyable time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chertsey24 October 2018
long hours, difficult to balance work / family,
public transport is very limited as trains stop only every 30 min, travelling by car with lots of traffic around Weybridge.

location Chertsey, new modern office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job work/life balance
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Epsom21 October 2018
Very good job work/life balance, However it can be tiring as you are on your feet for very long periods of time and will often be working late into the night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chef
Chef/Cook (Former Employee) –  Ternhill, Shropshire13 October 2018
same old as most of the big catering companies.
the paper work is more important than the customer.
all food is cooked with recipe cards.
the suppliers are the usual big ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass
Consultant Services Group, Food Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Food Services Manager10 October 2018
I've worked for Compass Group on a few occasions, and always enjoyed it. Different parts of the company require you to look at a variety of services, but in general, the company is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days but enjoyable when you are there
PLAITE WAITER (Former Employee) –  Edgbaston8 October 2018
Work days can be long and tough on your feet but can also be quite enjoyable and go quickly when kept busy and under good management. Also you get the choice of when you want to work which makes life easier.
Pros
free lunch, get the choice of when you want to work
Cons
work days are all day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  South East7 October 2018
Good Company to work for. Structured organisation supported by a national network that provides all the tools and requirements needed to complete the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing good
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Manvers5 October 2018
had a group of managers head chefs all aginst me because i had an opinion and they didnt like it there all terrible at there jobs no doubt it will be closed soon enough never put the customer first or staff treat all staff like rubbish unless your in the click and then the click talk about each other instead of saying it to there face , bullying , all they want is yes men sorry but im no robot , ...................... if your 2 faced backstabber talk a load of rubbish no morals terrible at your job then apply im sure they will snap u up .
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great hours
catering assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff4 October 2018
The pay wasn't great for under 18s. It's £4.75/hours. Also as its a 0 hours contract the most you'd work would be twice a month. Having said this, i did enjoy working here and it was great experience for future jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset24 September 2018
Organised team, good management, lovely restaunrant located on the seafront with romantic view ......................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management with No Support
MESS ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee) –  Longbridge, West Midlands18 September 2018
Terrible structure of management who are so driven to profit at all costs that they have actively instructed me to lie to staff that late working is unpaid and yet bill the client
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low pay with no recognision
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Catering Assistant serving public (Current Employee) –  Elgin17 September 2018
the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting the customers satisfactions.

i find the managment fair

i enjoy working with my other colleagues

i enjoy meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional service
general assistant (Current Employee) –  Reading16 September 2018
maintenance of cleaning lines, breakfast service, lunch and following all standards, consistently busy, working with a little team, ealy shifts Monday to Friday.
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
no such a lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Hospitality Staff (Current Employee) –  Edgbaston, West Midlands11 September 2018
Shifts here were fun and productive, my experience gained here has benefited my communication skills and my understanding of the service industry.
Management gave on the job training that allowed me to do my job successfully without feeling like I was a burden.
Pros
Free lunches, friendly staff
Cons
Long shifts that could run into overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things I do
Supporting my manager in developing myself (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen8 September 2018
-Most enjoyable part is the team
-Good environment at work
-Typical day is dealing with customers with staff problems, make sure they know what they do.
-dealing with complains
-dealing with opening and closing the store
-Cash handling
-DEaling with emails closing the week.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Leicester5 September 2018
This was a casual job working in hospitality during match days. You meet loads of different people and other students that just want a bit more extra cash. But overall good first job.
Pros
As and when
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,524 reviews
5891
4999
3786
2336
1512

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture